We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Cape Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House

Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House to your Saves list
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   549 Woods Hole Road, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Typical Cape Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed hear several times for NAS/NCHRP panels. Typical cape property...a bit rustic, rooms are damp, internet service is poor. With that said, this in woods hole harbor and it has location location location. Eveni with its limitations, I keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We really liked this quaint,old fashioned motel.although dated outside, the rooms are up to date, large and very comfortable..the location is great for catching a ferry to Martha's Vineyard.walking distance to ferries and downtown Woods Hole restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The rooms in the motel are front to back so everyone has an ocean view. Within walking distance to the restaurants and the ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. Nice decks to view the ocean. We have been here several times and never disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The best hotel for me in the Falmouth/Woods Hole area of Cape Cod is Sands of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House.

First on my list of reasons is location. It sits right around the corner from the delightful village of Woods Hole. If you turn right at the driveway a five-minute walk brings you to "Pie in the Sky" a laid-back outdoor spot featuring umbrella-shaded tables and a counter for solo travelers like me where you can get delicious coffee and snag one of their to-die-for brioches or other breakast treats. The eponymous pies are there, too, and great to take out. Right across the street is one of my favorite shops, "Under the Sun," which offers an array of special gifts, including nautically-themed jewelly and the prettiest sun catchers I've ever seen. Home to the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole is where Robert Ballard launched his successful voyage to find the Titanic. Shop-owners provide lovely flower boxes and thougtfully place doggie water bowls on the sidewalks for the canine companions of locals and tourists. Top resturant choices include Landfall, with its buoys hanging from the rafters along with an array of nautical trappings -- and close views of the ferries, and Captain Kidd, where you can dine on a boardwak/deck overloooking Eel Pond. There is a good variety of attractions including the iconic drawbridge, the aquarium and other places you can learn about from the guidebooks back at the hotel's office.

Back to the hotel, let me say that the rooms in the Motor Inn are a great choice in summer as they provide private balconies with pretty chairs and a table overlooking colorful, well maintained gardens. You can look look straight across Little Harbor to Frank Lloyd Wright's "Airplane House," another attraction where tours are conducted. You can also watch the Steamship Authority's ferries plying their way between Woods Hole and Martha's Vineyard. Do make time for a delightful ferry ride and a visit to the Vineyard.

I've stayed both times on the second floor of the Motor Inn for the great views. The rooms have been updated to include tastefully upholstered armchairs, good reading lights, very comfortable beds and effective air-conditoners. Everything is immaculate and fresh, including the plush carpeting. Bathrooms are fairly small, but also updated, with thick towels that are changed regularly, nice toiletries and built-in hair-dryers. Your bed-side alarm clock will play a selection of sounds such as waves breaking on the shore.

As for storage, there is an armoire across from the single King bed or two Queens. The top level contains a satellite TV, under which are four drawers. If you're lucky enough to be staying longer than I could this year, another cabinet contains more drawers as well as an open closet, and ironing board with iron. The drinks tray that sits atop the cabinet contains wrapped plastic glasses and an ice-bucket (ice is always availabe from a large chest just downstairs between the first-level rooms). One thing I'd like to see is a notepad and pen on the nightstand for jotting down phone numbers or directions. A mini-fridge with space to keep your cold drinks would be nice, too, but this is the Cape, with a homey feel -- not the Four Seasons, and the rates during the high summer season are reasonable. Behind the Motor Inn and the handsome Harbor House is a pleasant and clean swimming pool. If I visited in winter, I think I'd choose the Harbor House, especially for its cosy fireplaces.

Management is always friendly and accommodating, and adds to the homey feel. To visit Falmouth you turn left out of the driveway, then make a quick right turn onto a glittering shore road that takes you past Nobska Beach and its historic lighthouse right to Falmouth Harbor -- a ten minute ride. If the day is warm and sunny, the hotel's management will give you a parking pass for your car so you can hang out on the beautiful beach with the locals. Falmouth Harbor is full of luxury yachts: Dining at The Flying Bridge is a treat: this year my family and I enjoyed an alfresco lunch under an umbrella-shaded table with eye-popping views of the harbor. A great local institution is the "Clam Shck" for belly clams -- not just the strips. Hamburgers and hot-dogs are available to those who don't want shellfish as are fries and onion rings. There's a great deck above the Shack with splendid views of the sea and passing ships.

If you're a cyclist or a family with bikes, make sure to bring them along so that you can enjoy the extended shore-hugging bike path. Another place you must see while in Falmouth is the typical New England village green. It connects more directly to the Sands of Time via the Woods Hole Road.

Room Tip: As already mentioned I'd vote for the second floor Motor Inn rooms in summer, and the spacious w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here only because our ferry back from MV to got to Woodshole super late. Too late to drive home, so we stayed here for the night..slept like 4 hours and got up early and hit the road. We stayed in the motor inn portion and that part is so dated its a bit scary. It is clean, but you feel like you are stepping back in time to like the 1960s...but not in a good way. For just catching some zzz's before driving it was fine. Woodshole is really cute.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

If the only thing available is the motel part of this place, then stay away (unless they have updated, which I doubt.) The old house up on the hill is charming and I loved it- and can't wait to return! The upper rooms are nicer - better view - especially the top floor room (a bit smaller, but better views). They were spotless (we moved to the top floor for the better view) and very, very nice. This is a classic Cape Cod house, so if you are looking for urban amenities - go somewhere else. The internet was good, and I loved the window seat with the little table tucked in it. I did work from there with a stunning view.....

There is no "breakfast" - so this is misclassified in this way - although they do have coffee and little donuts in the lobby. Don't bother - just walk a block or two into town and eat there.

No problem with parking. The pool was closed for winter so I cannot comment on that. Avoid the ground floor room in the Harbor House unless you are really just going there to crash at night. It is dark with tiny windows (below grade type). I really like this place - and frankly, with the slim pickings for lodging in the area, I choose this one.

Room Tip: Go for "grandma's room" on the top floor. Avoid the room on the ground floor unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

my wife and i spend a couple of days every year in woods hole,this year we tried the sands of time.our stay was very pleasant the staff was very hospitable,the rooms were very clean and with a great view if you request one with an ocean view.over all excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House

Address: 549 Woods Hole Road, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House Hotel Woods Hole
Sands Of Time Motor Inn And Harbor House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.