We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable rooms, walkable to everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn to your Saves list
Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   527 Woods Hole Road, PO Box 743, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Affordable rooms, walkable to everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Classic motel from the 60's. Great location for walking to ferry, Nobska beach, Woods Hole. Great customer service, mailed me my extra key set that I left behind. Will stay again. Proximity to everything you could want is paramount and you can walk to everything, that's a big deal in WH where parking is almost non-existent during the work day.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be musty because of the summer climate. Not sure if they are all that way, so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masstraveler_8, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
We certainly appreciate this positive review and the many other reviews that note our cleanliness. We don’t often notice musty odors but there’s no question that the humidity of our ocean side location can pose challenges in July. We wash walls, ceilings, and carpets on a regular basis and air the rooms out everyday. What we don’t do is assault guests with strong smelling cleaning products and we are always looking at ways to provide the freshest atmosphere possible. Please, if you do stay with us and have any concerns about your room let the front desk know immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very close to the ferry and clean, tidy, well run place. As others have said it is an older style motel but it is so well kept and with such accommodating staff that it feels very welcoming. Only suggestion would be to get rid of the old carpets as in the humidity they feel damp and sticky. This was our second visit and we will come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before going over to Martha's Vineyard for the day and couldn't really ask for more. After buying the ferry tickets at reception, it was an easy 10 minute stroll straight on to the boat.

The room itself was large and clean, there was a pool which looked pretty good but we didn't have the time to try it ourselves and the lady on reception (didn't catch her name!) was chatty, friendly and welcoming. They were even kind enough to let us leave the car with them for the day after we had checked out. Would certainly recommend

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emmylou302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Nice family owned motel right in Woods Hole. The rooms are equipped w/ fridge, cable, etc, and are squeaky clean. The motel is certainly not new but the owners do a great job keeping it clean. It is only 1/3 of a mile to the MV Ferry and the various attractions of Woods Hole. The village of Woods Hole is small w/ a limit on things to do (Lots of restaurants, though) , but is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: The "Family Rooms" are worth the extra $20 dollars as they are at the far end of the motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjggrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This sweet motel is two blocks from Woods Hole, so walking is a pleasure. The motel rooms are immaculate, and the beds are very comfortable. Management is friendly and accommodating. We had a lovely night's experience here and highly recommend this wonderful, family-owned motel.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, as they fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

From the outside, it's a retro motel with rooms flanking a pool. Each room is comfortable and clean. The hosts are friendly and welcomed us before the season had actually begun. Less than 1/2 mile to the harbor, an easy walk takes you to good restaurants and the ferry. I'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveller01605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have stayed here about four times when we have had an early morning ferry to catch the next day. It is clean, dependable, generally quiet and most of all convenient. When we arrive it's after an 11 hour car trip, we check in, walk to town for our first lobster dinner of the trip, go back to the room, collapse and sleep til the alarm goes off. The ferry could not be closer, if you have luggage with wheels you could probably walk it easily (but we are alwasy taking a car on the ferry so don't know for sure). Once when we stayed, it was a weekend and a party of "destinantion wedding" freinds/relatives made things a bit noisy, but it did not disturb our sleep. Also of note: old fashioned "motel" style places can smell "musty" from all the wet shoes, beach towels etc but this place seems cleaner/dryer than many similar. Beware there is no breakfast at the inn, but the town is a short walk away with a selection of bakeries and/or coffee shops. Very reasonably priced for the excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masstraveler_8, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We appreciate your comments and your repeat business. We wish your ratings were higher, others have been, but this is an honest review. We are an older motel but we work very hard to provide first rate service and cleanliness. Please let us know if you notice any specific problems when you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woods Hole
3.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#14 of 22 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
5.0 mi away
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
0.1 mi away
Sands Of Time Motor Inn & Harbor House
3.7 mi away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#10 of 22 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn

Address: 527 Woods Hole Road, PO Box 743, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleepy Hollow is a classic motor inn providing affordable accommodations in historic Woods Hole Village. Innkeeper/owner Sandee Parmelee spent years working at first class B&Bs before acquiring the Sleepy Hollow. Her experience is reflected in the effort that goes into providing clean, well-maintained rooms. The ferry to Martha's Vineyard, beaches, aquarium, museums, restaurants, and other attractions are within easy walking distance. We're also a great starting point for trips to other Cape Cod destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing