We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Comfortable and Cute!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn

Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woods Hole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn
Save Saved
You added Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn to your Saves list
527 Woods Hole Road, PO Box 743, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Westfield, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient, Comfortable and Cute!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We planned a one-day bicycle trip over to Martha's Vineyard - and wanted to get an early start. The Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn was perfect! It's nothing fancy - our room was small with a cute bath tub - very clean - and we didn't hear any road noise. The staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating - and the owner gave us some great hints for biking around MV. The ferry and Woods Hole village is easy walking distance. We were able to leave our car at the inn for the day - and picked it up on our way out of town. We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're close to the road - it will be very quiet - except when traffic starts coming in to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne Falls, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great pool. Cute rooms. Clean. Nice towels. Nice people at front desk. Friendly housekeepers. Another time when we stayed, the room had the cutest bathtub ever. I wonder if I've used 200 words yet like I'm supposed to. Nope, I guess not. Ok. Not fancy, but really nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great choice for anyone who is wanting to visit Wood's Hole or Martha's Vineyard via the ferry. We stayed here 2 nights and were very comfortable. The room was clean and the owners and staff were very friendly. We stayed in a queen bed room near the back part of the motel. We could hear a little road noise but it wasn't a problem. The room was small and the shower stall was a tight fit. Overall, this is a good choice in Wood's Hole if you are going to spend your time exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Owners are wunderful and will help you with every question or problem you have. The motel is a little outdated, but everything is very clean and they have a nice pool. You can walk to woods hole or to the ferry to martha's vineyard, and as parking space is little in town this is a plus too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our stay at the Cape and before a visit to Martha's Vineyard mid July 2013.

The accommodation is a little small and basic but clean. (Rooms are exactly as featured on the webpage). The bathroom, first glance was old, but that's just the design, it was all scrupulously clean and towels were fresh and fluffy.

As it's a motel parking is convenient and free. Internet is also free.

It's a short, pleasant walk to Wood's Hole to catch the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. Much easier than taking the car and finding parking.

Whilst no breakfast is provided at the motel there is a wonderful little bakery in the town.

For a short stay it's fine. Any longer we would have felt the room a little cramped.

However it was quite beautiful and peaceful to open the door early and sit outside with my coffee and enjoy the birds and nature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We missed our ferry on Sunday night and needed a room to stay for 6 hours before departing to Martha's Vineyard. Our phone reservation was handled quickly and the room was available as promised, despite arriving around 12:15AM when all staff had departed. For a total of $174 ($159+tax) the double room was adequate though very much a flash-back from 1972. If one plans on spending waking hours nearby, there must be other hotel options better worth exploring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Sleepy Hollow Motel, Woods Hole

If you are staying in the area for Martha’s Vineyard, this is a great place to stay. Parking in Woods Hole itself is a bit of a nightmare and Sleepy Hollow is literally 10 mins. walk away. The motel is quite old and to be honest in places looks it, but it is clean and office staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You can buy your ferry tickets from the office – same price – which saves queuing at the Ticket Office in the Terminal. Although I am a very light sleeper, we slept very well there even though there have been reviewers in the past talking of traffic noise. It is on the road leading to the ferry and the village but the traffic is quite slow and the Motel is set back. There is not much in Woods Hole – a couple of shops, about 4 restaurants and that’s it. There is a very nice looking Hotel right in the village but the ferry terminal is right behind and the ferry let’s everyone know when it arrives and departs! I can recommend Phusion Grille, Captain Kidd and The Fishmongers Café for evening food. For Martha’s Vineyard, you can get the ferry to one harbor and come back from the other. Use the hop on/off bus to get around but make sure you ask the driver where the next bus departs from for your next destination and the time. The drivers are extremely helpful. If I was in the area, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn

Address: 527 Woods Hole Road, PO Box 743, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleepy Hollow is a classic motor inn providing affordable accommodations in historic Woods Hole Village. Innkeeper/owner Sandee Parmelee spent years working at first class B&Bs before acquiring the Sleepy Hollow. Her experience is reflected in the effort that goes into providing clean, well-maintained rooms. The ferry to Martha's Vineyard, beaches, aquarium, museums, restaurants, and other attractions are within easy walking distance. We're also a great starting point for trips to other Cape Cod destinations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Hollow Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.