We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woods Hole Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woods Hole Inn to your Saves list
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Ferry Tickets!
Ranked #2 of 2 Woods Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I visited the Woods Hole Inn as part of our honeymoon, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our room was great (we stayed in the detached, pet-friendly room), and the staff was even better. We had to do a "late check-in", but our room was stocked with complimentary goodies for our arrival. You can also call ahead if you want a nice bottle of Prosecco awaiting your arrival. The staff was accommodating to all of our needs and were easily accessible. The rooms were in great shape and were very clean. The breakfast was great as well. Another great aspect of the inn was the complimentary bikes to use on the bike trails. This leads me to the best aspect of the Inn: the location! The inn is in walking distance to the Steamship Authority (for the ferrys to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket), Pie in the Sky Bakery, and a number of restaurants and bars. The Shining Sea Bikeway also begins within walking distance, which makes the aforementioned free bikes that much better. Through the bikeway, you can easily travel to downtown Falmouth, where a number of shops and restaurants are located. All in all, my wife and I strongly recommend the Woods Hole Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Evan -

We enjoyed being a small part of your fun honeymoon! Thanks so much for this great review, and we hope you will consider coming back to celebrate your anniversary with us.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    81
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
86
311
42
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winthrop, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visted the Woods Hole Inn while looking for wedding venues and hotels for our wedding on the Cape and absolutely LOVED it! The old details of the original inn mixed with the beautiful renovations and modern amenities made it the perfect place to host our family and friends for our wedding weekend. It turned out to be the perfect home base for the festivities. My fiance and I stayed at the Inn along with my family and the bridal party. We enjoyed a fun welcome lunch at the Landfall friday afternoon and then John was so helpful in getting everyone checked in and settled. Many couples enjoyed time on the decks, a few of the guys did a couple of hours of work before the festivities began and were able to enjoy the backdrop of the seaside village.We had a wedding afterparty at the Captain Kidd just down the street and it worked out perfectly to walk home at the end of the night. Breakfast both mornings was fantastic! Everything was so fresh and yummy! It was so nice to visit with our guests as people made there way to the breakfast room. Sunday morning was unseasonably warm and we hung out on the back patio for hours with our guests and enjoyed the weather and a second cup of coffee before everyone had to leave town. The staff were all lovely and so helpful. I would highly recommend it! Our only reget is that my new in-laws live in Falmouth and so we won't ever have a good reason to stay again!

Room Tip: As the Bride and Groom the girls at the desk recommended the Penzance room as it is a large room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Lauren -

It was a pleasure being a part of your beautiful wedding, and I do hope you will stop in and say hello whenever you are in town staying with your new in-laws. I am so glad the location worked well for you -- we certainly loved meeting your wedding party. Congratulations to you both, and we wish you well in your first year of married life!

my best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Awesome spot right in the hustle and bustle of Woods Hole. Walk to ferry. Access to bikepath. Clean. Great breakfast. Comfortable. Very nice. Really a very impressive and well done renovation that makes older building feel like it is brand new with all the character of the old.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Making sure the new did not overwhelm the old was one of our primary goals in the "vintage restored" renovation of the last several years, so I am especially pleased that you noticed and commented on that element! Thank you so much for this thoughtful review. I do hope we see you again soon in Woods Hole.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Inn was quaint, clean and the views were wonderful. We enjoyed hearing the ferry announce its comings and goings. The breakfast food was very nice. - Lots of fresh fruit, very yummy quiche and a very homey atmosphere in the breakfast room.
Inn guests were pleasant and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room #4 which had a great view of the ferry dock and the freight ferry dock going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your helpful comments -- we appreciate it! Room four is indeed a nice option if you enjoy people watching and the constant coming and going of the Martha's Vineyard ferry.

We hope to see you again soon!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

All staff were very welcoming and helpful from the moment I arrived until check out four days later. This was by far my best experience at WH ever and i go to this town at least once a year.The breakfast room was a great lounge and full of light, views and the daily NY times!. Breakfast was a different delight each day and always a well balanced meal. loved the linen table clothes on the tables-a mix of NE charm with a rustic seafaring town.

Room Tip: room nine has its own entrance and is pet friendly, thus i felt as if i had my own apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks Vivian -

There are many business people and scientists who come back here year after year and we are working hard to make sure your needs are met with robust free wifi, a hearty breakfast and private entrances if that appeals. We appreciate your comments, and hope to see you back next year!

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Woods Hole Inn was comfortable, quaint, friendly and clean. I would recommend this Inn to all. We will go back to visit in the future. We enjoyed the short walk to the shops, restaurants, and historic aquarium. Your children will love all there is to see in the area.
The Inn has a few outside patios for relaxing and watching the ferry come in from the Islands of Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. The window in the breakfast room is nice for watching the magnificent sunsets over the harbor.
If you are interested in Marine Biology, this is the place to explore and meet some of the world's top Scientists. This is the home of the MBL, NOAA and WHOI.
Visit the Nobska Lighthouse for a panoramic view of the ocean, beach, boats and islands.
There is something here for all ages and interests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for pointing out all the fun marine science to explore here -- we really are in the epicenter of biological discovery and research in our little village here with Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, NOAA, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole Research Center and more. I am glad you enjoyed it.

We appreciate this thoughtful review, and hope to see you again soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had never been to stay in Woodshole before. Went down on a groupon. Had an awesome time. Woodshole is quaint and we did some shopping and dining (some yummy places). But, the people at the Inn were so nice. Everyone was friendly and helpful. They made it a five star stay. They thought of everything one would need. We would all return and hope to plan something in the fall.

Room Tip: Go for the king or get the 2 room suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCGosnold, General Manager at Woods Hole Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice review! We love it when groups of friends come here and enjoy the place together, and we hope to see you again soon.

best,

Beth Colt
Woods Hole Inn
28 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
(508) 495-0248
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woods Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Hole Inn

Address: 28 Water Street, P O Box 4, Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA 02543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth > Woods Hole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woods Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Hole Inn is located across the street from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. With newly remodeled rooms and suites, award-winning modern decor and a killer breakfast, the Woods Hole Inn is a great place to start your Cape Cod vacation. From her perch over the harbor, the historic Inn offers water views, a broad porch lined with Kennedy rockers and a committment to eco-tourism. Stay GREEN by the deep BLUE sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Woods Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woods Hole Hotel Woods Hole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woods Hole Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.