We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop

Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   312 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Winthrop
Fredonia, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I should have listened to other reviewers and stayed away! The bathroom did have mold - no coffee for the coffee maker - the bed was shabby - the room appeared clean BUT beware if you have to move the nightstand........there was a ton of dirt and dust there and on lamp shades. The neighborhood was just OK but not enough parking for guests so we had to park on the street. The walls are paper thin....could hear everything from other rooms AND all that was going on in the lobby since our room was on the first floor near the staircase. I swear I heard someone come in to lobby at 2 a.m. with a dog and their was dog running around. For the same price get a room with more amenities and comfort. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    20
    15
    14
See reviews for
24
39
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Travelling to New England with my mom and husband. Ages l57,64 and 80, early 60's and late 70's. We stayed here one night as our flight came in about 5 pm and we did not want to try and get to our vacation rental at night. Also price was about 1/3 of anything in Boston, yet you are only a short distance away and they have the free airport shuttle.

The reason I five this 4 stars is that the service was wonderful. Especially the 2 shuttle drivers to and from the airport (we rented a car the next day). Very friendly, very efficient, lots of laughter and good information about the are. Just nice, friendly, great ladies. Front desk got us a cab that night in about 2 seconds. This is a suburban area so we were quite surprised by that. You can walk to the ocean and a great view of the bay in just a couple blocks and same for local eateries, but we got a cab because my mom has a bad back.

The room was fine, my mom said the sofa bed was incredibly comfortable, but there are a couple odd things about the layout. 1. the bathroom is in the master bedroom so anyone sleeping in the living room on the sofa bed has to go thru the master bedroom. 2nd there is no windows in the master, so they put hole high up in the wall. Only problem is if you go to sleep before the person watching TV in the living room does, you have light and hear every noise from the TV. According to the pictures there are 2 types of rooms, so I would ask for teh one with the complete kitchen and maybe you won't have this problem. But beds were comfortable, everything was newly remodeled and very, very clean.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the full kitchen. And ask about the hole in the wall between the living room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First, bring your own coffee! There was no coffee in the rooms with the coffee makers as there has been at other Suburban Extended Stays...or in the lobby.
My friend was cold and there was no heat turned on, so was given extra blankets.
The website had more hours for airport shuttle than what was at the desk (4am-11am). We didn't need to be at airport until after checkout (noon), but the latest was given was 10:30am shuttle, so this was inconveint for us.
We stayed here before our Caravan Fall Tour, but stayed at the Rodeway Inn near airport on our return, they ran their shuttles most of the day and it was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My friend and I went to an event in Boston this past weekend. We had made plans with others that completely fell through. Determined to have a great time regardless, we set off at 4pm in search of a hotel. We combed through a few locations that, over the phone, agreed to hold a room for us, but completely went back on it once we got there - saying that they were full, and had just booked their last room. Then, by chance, we found the Suburban and spoke to Candace. We were completely lost trying to get there, and she talked us through the directions to get to the hotel, held a room for us by taking our information over the phone, and then helped us once we got to the hotel. Mind you, at this point... I was stressing out beyond belief. She got us checked in, and then even helped us by booking a cheap cab ride both to and from the event, and asked me where my friend was once we got back, (he was still just outside), but she was so kind, considerate, and caring, and wanted to make sure we were both safe. It truly made our night, so if you're looking for a reasonable place to stay near Boston with GREAT service and a caring concierge, then you're truly in luck, The rooms were spacious and comfortable, clean, and well accommodating, even if it was only for one night, though I would have gladly stayed longer!

Room Tip: Should you happen to meet her; just ask Candace what she would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Being a seasoned traveler I am come to realize that people can help overcome the imperfections of expectations of accommodations. The suburban is not perfect but the people working there make up for the little things. It's like going to visit family your glad to be there and it wold be rude to expect perfection. I'm a repeat guest for many reasons. Wintrop is a sweet little sea side town with evidence of deep roots still intact. Don't be scared away by the few empty storefronts near bye. I have not experienced anything thing that has made me feel unsafe. The convience to public transportation to Boston is a great. A short walk to a beautiful beach and great resturants. Two Italian resturant near bye is as good as eating in the north end without the price. The hi-tide diner is a a true find. Should be featured on the food network. Awesome food and five minute walk from the hotel.

Yes the furniture could use some cleaning and mattress are not that comfortable but overall it is very clean. Great place to go with friends to enjoy the city without the high cost of downtown.
The staff could not be friendlier and most have grown up in the neighborhood. I have payed about the same price to stay in nicer places but was not treated as well. If you want an experience of being in a sweet old seaside neighborhood outside boston this is your place. True travelers will recognize this place for the true gem it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Being a solo traveler, senior traveler I look for safe, interesting lodging with affordable access to airport..this is perfect. Winthrop is small town surrounded by water which by boat or metro is near to airport...definitely not by auto. Get a Charlie card, take blue line to Winthrop where you catch a bus that makes a loop from station around the island...fare .25 for seniors and if you have luggage or it is dark bus will drop you at the door ! Walk one long block and you come to the ocean...one side of the road has wide sidewalk running all along the beach, the other has huge, beautiful houses. Nice cafe nearby to have good affordable breakfast with the locals, two nice italian restaurants for early dinner (tit you want wine they will direct you to local liquor store to purchase your own bottle). Rooms are roomy, staff is nice and even if you do not require a kitchen the price is less than most downtown Boston hotels. Going into Boston is a simple bus/metro trip. Airport shuttle available but select hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I consider ourselves pretty lucky to have found this place after much research. We planned our trip only a couple of weeks in advance to see the Liverpool game at Fenway Park by which time the prices of hotels in Boston had gone through the roof and out of our budget. We were traveling with two young children with endless appetites so getting a place with a kitchen seemed the best way to go.

Location-wise, Winthrop is a lovely place. There is a beach about 250 metes from the hotel; and a great playground much closer. It is fairly straightforward to get into Boston but you will have to pay the Sumner Tunnel toll which comes to USD3.50.

The hotel room itself is satisfactorily clean and we have no complaints about the kitchen. However, the room is very sparsely furnished and lacks any semblance of coziness. The sofa bed is not something any human can sleep on comfortably. Being an old building, you can hear footsteps, people closing doors etc. The most unfortunate thing about our stay was the fact that the establishment does not provide cribs and my 7 month old ended up sleeping in a makeshift crib in one of our larger suitcases.

Some of the front desk staff seemed not too friendly, but I suppose that could be a New England thing.

There were plus and minuses to our stay. I do not regret choosing this place because value-wise, it is a very good deal. And of course, Winthrop is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop

Address: 312 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop Hotel Winthrop
Winthrop Suburban Extended Stay
Extended Stay Winthrop
Winthrop Extended Stay
Suburban Extended Stay Logan Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.