We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO CRIBS IN THE ESTABLISHMENT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop

Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   312 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“NO CRIBS IN THE ESTABLISHMENT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I consider ourselves pretty lucky to have found this place after much research. We planned our trip only a couple of weeks in advance to see the Liverpool game at Fenway Park by which time the prices of hotels in Boston had gone through the roof and out of our budget. We were traveling with two young children with endless appetites so getting a place with a kitchen seemed the best way to go.

Location-wise, Winthrop is a lovely place. There is a beach about 250 metes from the hotel; and a great playground much closer. It is fairly straightforward to get into Boston but you will have to pay the Sumner Tunnel toll which comes to USD3.50.

The hotel room itself is satisfactorily clean and we have no complaints about the kitchen. However, the room is very sparsely furnished and lacks any semblance of coziness. The sofa bed is not something any human can sleep on comfortably. Being an old building, you can hear footsteps, people closing doors etc. The most unfortunate thing about our stay was the fact that the establishment does not provide cribs and my 7 month old ended up sleeping in a makeshift crib in one of our larger suitcases.

Some of the front desk staff seemed not too friendly, but I suppose that could be a New England thing.

There were plus and minuses to our stay. I do not regret choosing this place because value-wise, it is a very good deal. And of course, Winthrop is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    20
    16
    14
See reviews for
24
39
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a great stay at this facility. The staff is extremely attentive and accommodating, anticipating ahead of us what we might need or require. Our room was spacious and pristine. This is an older building, as are most in this area, but it had no musty or unpleasant odors whatsoever. We had a complete kitchenette in our room. Because this is an extended stay, we did not have room service every day, except that the trash was taken out by staff. We were told if we wanted fresh linens every day, they would accommodate us, at no additional charge, but we did not see the need. Very nice common kitchen area on the main floor with vending machines and fresh coffee round the clock. We have family living in Winthrop in a small apartment so opted to stay here and will do so every time we visit. Highly recommend this Extended Stay.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor so our window was a skylight and glad for it because there was absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was stuck overnight in Boston due to a hurricane (Aug of '11). With Logan shut down and my car rental returned I was looking for a nearby hotel. Since I was not planning to stay overnight and there wasn't much open, I was not looking for a 5 star hotel. I stumbled on this hotel in an airport directory and figured I'd give it a try. While they aren't a chain hotel, I immediately sensed a certain local charm. The hotel shuttle driver has been in Boston for decades and shared some of the local Winthrop history. The hotel is nestled in one of the back-bay neighborhoods, and was converted from either a school or local community center - the kind of place where the stairway creaks. The staff was friendly and helpful in finding a place to eat in walking distance (turned out to be a really good Italian place). The room was clean and simple - and for $109 a night in Boston, 15 minutes from Logan - that's hard to beat. If you're traveling through Boston and are on a budget, you'd be hard pressed to find a better value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

we should have known this was going to be a terrible experience before we got there. We called 2 weeks in advance and the front desk couldnt give us an exact rate which it should have been a group rate. We checked in and walked in to a disgusting room Hair all over the floor and in the sink in the bathroom, there was a clump of dirt and hair in the kitchen stuffed near the fridge. We called and got a room change and hoped for the best. The tv wouldnt even show regular channels it all kept saying this channel is available in a few moments and would never show anything but that message. After all this we went to bed and the next day we took a shower and the drain wasnt draining we had to stop taking showers and we called front desk and the owner showed up who didnt want to do anything and said he didnt want us to extend and then threatned to call the cops if we didnt leave but we were leaving anyways! DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I love Winthrop. It's a small town that's great for walking. This hotel is a block from the Atlantic beach in one direction and the harbor with an amazing view of the Boston skyline on the other. Revere Beach is a short drive away- a wide and beautiful beach. We drive and can get into Boston in 15 minutes or the t-stop in 5 minutes. The rooms have nice kitchen facilities with an apartment-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. We stay in a two room suite that has a door to separate the sleeping and living space with two good-sized closets. The price and location are what keep us coming back. On the down side, there are few places nearby to eat, the cleanliness is less than ideal in part because housekeeping is not provided unless you pay extra and there is only one small mirror in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for several days in 2011 while on vacation. Great value (<$100 night!) in the Boston area with easy transit access to downtown Boston, Logan airport, proximity to beaches and running locations. Nice to stay in a big city in a older suburban 'real area' where people live rather than downtown. Local people very friendly and several good restaurants and services nearby. Pleasant place to stay and will be back next time in the area. In looking at other reviews, perhaps we were lucky are our room was quiet, clean and offered an above-average stay for the price points.

Room Tip: Very helpful desk clerks who know the area. Be nice to them! They'll help with local travel tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel could do with a good clean of the furniture in the room. Also the water doesn't drain from the shower and fills the tub. The shuttle service is a joke. The town is very boring and closes up at 10 pm. It is too far from Boston. The so called WIFI doesn't work most of the time. The TV's are so old it is a wonder they work. Don't expect to get a good night's sleep because you can hear every bit of noise as all the floors are wooden. The only good thing was the price, but I think the price fits the hotel. I can't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop

Address: 312 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop Hotel Winthrop
Winthrop Suburban Extended Stay
Extended Stay Winthrop
Winthrop Extended Stay
Suburban Extended Stay Logan Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.