We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop to your Saves list
Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop
312 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a great stay at this facility. The staff is extremely attentive and accommodating, anticipating ahead of us what we might need or require. Our room was spacious and pristine. This is an older building, as are most in this area, but it had no musty or unpleasant odors whatsoever. We had a complete kitchenette in our room. Because this is an extended stay, we did not have room service every day, except that the trash was taken out by staff. We were told if we wanted fresh linens every day, they would accommodate us, at no additional charge, but we did not see the need. Very nice common kitchen area on the main floor with vending machines and fresh coffee round the clock. We have family living in Winthrop in a small apartment so opted to stay here and will do so every time we visit. Highly recommend this Extended Stay.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor so our window was a skylight and glad for it because there was absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    29
    17
    15
See reviews for
26
45
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was stuck overnight in Boston due to a hurricane (Aug of '11). With Logan shut down and my car rental returned I was looking for a nearby hotel. Since I was not planning to stay overnight and there wasn't much open, I was not looking for a 5 star hotel. I stumbled on this hotel in an airport directory and figured I'd give it a try. While they aren't a chain hotel, I immediately sensed a certain local charm. The hotel shuttle driver has been in Boston for decades and shared some of the local Winthrop history. The hotel is nestled in one of the back-bay neighborhoods, and was converted from either a school or local community center - the kind of place where the stairway creaks. The staff was friendly and helpful in finding a place to eat in walking distance (turned out to be a really good Italian place). The room was clean and simple - and for $109 a night in Boston, 15 minutes from Logan - that's hard to beat. If you're traveling through Boston and are on a budget, you'd be hard pressed to find a better value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

we should have known this was going to be a terrible experience before we got there. We called 2 weeks in advance and the front desk couldnt give us an exact rate which it should have been a group rate. We checked in and walked in to a disgusting room Hair all over the floor and in the sink in the bathroom, there was a clump of dirt and hair in the kitchen stuffed near the fridge. We called and got a room change and hoped for the best. The tv wouldnt even show regular channels it all kept saying this channel is available in a few moments and would never show anything but that message. After all this we went to bed and the next day we took a shower and the drain wasnt draining we had to stop taking showers and we called front desk and the owner showed up who didnt want to do anything and said he didnt want us to extend and then threatned to call the cops if we didnt leave but we were leaving anyways! DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I love Winthrop. It's a small town that's great for walking. This hotel is a block from the Atlantic beach in one direction and the harbor with an amazing view of the Boston skyline on the other. Revere Beach is a short drive away- a wide and beautiful beach. We drive and can get into Boston in 15 minutes or the t-stop in 5 minutes. The rooms have nice kitchen facilities with an apartment-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. We stay in a two room suite that has a door to separate the sleeping and living space with two good-sized closets. The price and location are what keep us coming back. On the down side, there are few places nearby to eat, the cleanliness is less than ideal in part because housekeeping is not provided unless you pay extra and there is only one small mirror in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for several days in 2011 while on vacation. Great value (<$100 night!) in the Boston area with easy transit access to downtown Boston, Logan airport, proximity to beaches and running locations. Nice to stay in a big city in a older suburban 'real area' where people live rather than downtown. Local people very friendly and several good restaurants and services nearby. Pleasant place to stay and will be back next time in the area. In looking at other reviews, perhaps we were lucky are our room was quiet, clean and offered an above-average stay for the price points.

Room Tip: Very helpful desk clerks who know the area. Be nice to them! They'll help with local travel tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel could do with a good clean of the furniture in the room. Also the water doesn't drain from the shower and fills the tub. The shuttle service is a joke. The town is very boring and closes up at 10 pm. It is too far from Boston. The so called WIFI doesn't work most of the time. The TV's are so old it is a wonder they work. Don't expect to get a good night's sleep because you can hear every bit of noise as all the floors are wooden. The only good thing was the price, but I think the price fits the hotel. I can't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

First visit to this hotel last November 2011. Impressed with value for money then and the room facilities and general cleanliness. Shuttle facility was a must and operated suitably for the airport and the nearest Metro statation - great for sightseeing in Boston. Continental breakfast provided. V good overall impression.

Used hotel again in early July 2012. Cost almost double from Nov prices, but I was informed this down to the time of year, but I still thought it steep. No breakfast available now and shuttle now on a restricted service - on the hour from 0500 till late morning, therafter by previous booking. If no booking made driver may be given the rest of the day off we learned. No shuttle now to the Metro, have to use the bus. No continental breakfast available now.

Rooms still v good for amenities and cleanliness Receptionist Candace was very helpful in
printing boarding passes, but went the extra mile in help and advice when the tickets refused to print properly - a bit stressful in the evening when the flight was sheduled for 06.30 next morning. Candace searched the web for the airlines number and we were able to get assurances from their customer services. Stress levels reduced again, thanks to Candace - what a treasure.

Peter C

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop

Address: 312 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop Hotel Winthrop
Winthrop Suburban Extended Stay
Extended Stay Winthrop
Winthrop Extended Stay
Suburban Extended Stay Logan Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Winthrop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.