We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Crystal Cove

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Crystal Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Crystal Cove
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   600 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

In spite of the location, this is great value for the money. Our room had a full kitchen in it and was just remoldeled. Quite beautiful. The common kitchen was also remodled and very lovely. The swimming pool out front was just the right size, clean and has a view of Boston (and the airport) across the harbor. You actually have to stop talking when a plane is overhead because you just can not hear the other person. The staff was friendly and helpful especiall the front desk person. If you have to go to Winthrop, I would highly recommend this hotel. But, be prepaired to be woken up at 6 am to the constant sounds of airplanes taking off over head.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    50
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
77
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is an ideal place to stay if you are looking for somewhere relaxing that's close to Boston. It's near to the airport, but still very quiet. There's no elevator, but there are several ground floor rooms if needed.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for the harbor view, as it's magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

stay for 3 nights very nice room very clean. great location walking distance to restaurants.take the train or ferry to boston . Very friendly staff. Special tanks to Ronda for upgrading our room with a kitchenette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Inn is a hidden Gem with wonderful views and fantastic totally redecorated rooms.Rhonda who works the reception check-in desk was the most friendly, helpful person we have ever dealt with in all of our travels. The day we checked in Friday, Aug. 16th we were even shown a newly redone suite in another building that is being gutted and renovated by one of the construction men onsite. I can not say enough about the beauty and the love and care that is going into the renovations. Our room was just redone totally #204! BEAUTIFUL!! It had a twin bed (that our 15 yr. old son slept on) and a double bed that my husband and I slept in. The bathroom was plenty big enough and all new. This room also had a FULL kitchen! Yes, I said a full kitchen, wonderful stove, large refrigerator, a table and chairs, granite counter along with brand new coffee pot, toaster, plates, utensils, etc. They even had canisters filled with coffee (very good tasting), sugar and flour! This room did not have a little deck but it did not matter because the brand new decks around the building had plenty of table and chairs for sitting and eating. From the deck the view was so gorgeous overlooking the Boston Bay Harbor and the city skyline! If you want hustle and bustle you can take the bus, which stops right out side of the Inn, to the T to go into the city. The price is right, the people are so friendly (EVERYONE including the women who cleaned our room.....loved them!), and the views are wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalcove600, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Crystal Cove, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Bobyoung68,

Thank you for the magnificent review and pictures of Room #204 and the spectacular view from our new lighted decks!

All of our staff, including the construction crew truly puts their heart and soul into everything they do to make your stay the best it can be. The new building you were shown should be done within the next month or so and offers two full apartments that sleep six. When completed, it will take your breath away.

If you are interested in future rates on these units, please contact me directly. I would be more than happy to speak with you. It would be our pleasure to have you and your family return to our Inn!

Warmest Regards,
Lauretta
Marketing Manager
The Inn at Crystal Cove
1-617-846-9217
ccove@tiac.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a nice place! Located on a quiet neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony outside overlooking picturesque, Boston Bay Harbor and the city skyline. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Newly renovated for the most part...well kept and attractive, what more could you want?
Conveniently located..we visited, Boston, Gloucester, and Rockport and had a great time.

Room Tip: For a little extra space and convenience, consider booking the apartment suites. Be sure to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked in here for 3 nights and when we arrived spoke to Rhonda on reception who booked us in and was fantastically helpful.

We had an excellent room, immaculately cleaned (every day)!! We were told about the local ferry to Boston (8am) $8 each way it is a fantastic way to get there... DO NOT MISS THIS.

As others have said parking is very tight - you could easily get dinged, I would say that this was the only defect for the whole place!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My brother and I stayed here for three nights. It was substantially less to stay here than in Boston. The people working here went over and above to make our stay enjoyable. In fact, one even let me use her cell phone to call my husband in Canada twice! The room was very clean and was nicely decorated. The view from our balcony was incredible! We were able to leave stuff in the fridge, so we had a cold drink waiting for us when we got back each night too. The ferry was down when we visited, but we were able to drive 10 minutes to the T station (subway) and take the subway into Boston. Parking at the T station was $5/day and we paid $18 for a week's pass for unlimited use of the T. Parking at the hotel is free, but extremely tight. It was such a great place to stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Crystal Cove

Address: 600 Shirley Street, Winthrop, MA 02152
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Crystal Cove 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the seaside community of Winthrop, minutes from Logan International Airport and a short distance from Downtown Boston, The Inn at Crystal Cove boasts comfortable accommodations and a stunning view of Boston Harbor and city skyline. We provide complete living facilities, including fully-equipped kitchens, lounges, pool, free parking, coin-operated laundry, cable television, free local calling and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Inn at Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Crystal Cove Hotel Winthrop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Crystal Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.