We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Ginger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Ginger
225 Main St, Staples Plaza Rt 38, Wilmington, MA 01887-230
978 988-3999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Golden Ginger is not your average Chinese restaurant. It might be tucked into a strip-mall, but don't let that fool you. The decor is lovely, the service is great. Try the Bento. You won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and the combo plates are a great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It may seem like a typical Chinese or Szechuan food, but it is not. They have a little bit of everything, including sushi. For people who like to have a couple of different tastes without breaking the bank ordering a couple full size dishes, they have combo plates that are two and three entrees, but just smaller portion of each. Great for couples. They're food is always fresh and never greasy. They're sushi is prepared perfectly, not that I am a huge fan of sushi, but will occasionally have some.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've eaten my share of Chinese food (worked down near Boston's Chinatown for over 20 years) and this place is a wonderful find, especially in little suburban Wilmington! The decor is very nice and understated, the staff attentive and polite, and best of all, it has GREAT FOOD! I can't attest to the sushi, as we've never tried that, but as for their other offerings, they're top-notch. The food has always been very fresh. Sauces are never heavy or gooey. Seasonings are never overly salty. And dishes are always beautifully presented. Golden Ginger can certainly hold their own against some of the best around! Try it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, Amazing sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was really looking forward to an up to date restaurant! the food was amazing, the service was great, the drinks were even better. the only thing I don't really care for is that you have to order food if you want to get more than one drink, so if you had a rough day at work and are looking for a place to unwindle I'd seek elsewhere unless you're looking for dinner as well! Only probably I think is that I wish they were open a little later than 9-10pm

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fancy chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Set back in the new Staples Plaza, Golden Ginger is still new to the town of Wilmington. Has a modern, sleek look and a sushi bar, which I hear is good- as I don't eat sushi. But I really love their food! my fav is spicy crispy shrimp or chicken!!!

We often make reservations for a crowd and love their Mai Tai's!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Golden Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.