We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80th Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The '6 House Pub

The '6 House Pub
910 Cold Spring Rd., Williamstown, MA 01267
+1 413-458-1896
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Williamstown
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“80th Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

The whole family traveled to Williamstown, MA for an 80th birthday celebration for our Mother/Grandmother. We had a lovely meal at the '6 House Pub - the food was delicious and the private dining room accommodated all 25 of our guests perfectly! The waitstaff was attentive and were especially helpful with the cake that was brought in from an outside bakery. The food came out of the kitchen promptly - even with a party of 25, no one sat waiting for their dinner to arrive! Everything from burgers to seafood was cooked perfectly!

We all spent the night at the adjacent 1896 House (pondside) and returned to the '6 House Pub for breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was described as "continental" but was so much more - bacon, eggs, waffles...even hot, freshly made muffins were being passed around by the very attentive waitress. The waitress running the breakfast was extremely helpful, and even went so far as to take photos of our party guests. She was a delight!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    66
    28
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lanesboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wondereful Under New On-Site Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Under the new ownership, the 6 House Pub in Williamstown, Massachusetts has become one of the finest dining establishments in the Berkshire County, Eastern New York State area. We are locals and have dined at this restaurant many, many times over many years and just prior to being sold to the current owners and on-site managers, it had deteriorated to a poor to marginal restaurant at best.

Under the current new owners, it has been brought back to one of the very best restaurants and dining experiences in the entire area. The food is outstanding and service by all of the "team members" is nothing short of superb. It is clear that the new owners have worked very hard to build a team working environment with all of the employees who work exceedingly well together to make everyone feel very comfortable, important and receiving top notch service in every respect.

The new owners also have their two grown sons working there and they are very much part of the "team" effort, but both are still attending high school and college respectively, two of the nicest young men you will ever meet and have great personalities that adds to the welcoming attitude that prevails throughout.

We would be totally remiss if we did not mention the outstanding quality, personalities, friendliness and dedication to outstanding service that we have seen in all of the employees.

If you are in Berkshire County Massachusetts for any reason whether it be visiting Williams College, events at Mass MOCA, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts or any of the other arts and entertainment venues, skiing or for any other reason, you will be missing out on a great dining experience if you do not dine at the 6 House Pub located at 910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, Mass.

Pm this evening's visit, we sat at the bar and had the great pleasure and experience of being taken care of by Lindsay. What a dynamite personality and the epitome of efficiency and great service in every respect.

We have traveled extensively all through the country for many years and the "new" 6 House Pub is certainly one of our best dining experiences every and anywhere.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food, rustic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We had, among the three of us, the house burger, a steak sandwich, and eggplant parmesan. Everything was uniformly delicious and top quality, right down to the sweet potato fries...although I didn't like the strong cinnamon flavor of the cole slaw, others probably would find it inventive. A friend proclaimed her pre-dinner Margarita excellent.
On the minus side: I ordered a house wine, and the entire table agreed it was undrinkable and just awful. A replacement, not the same variety, was perfectly acceptable, though.
The service was okay, although when my friend needed a straw for her drink the request was ignored. A second server was finally flagged down and provided one.
The restaurant has an old New England farmhouse vibe which is very pleasant, but for some reason they either hadn't turned on the heat or couldn't make up for the cold air that had come through an exterior door that had been left open. It was the first time I can remember eating dinner at a restaurant in my winter parka. We could have used some of that cozy atmosphere that (from other reviews) I gather is the norm for the place.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hockey Feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Our youth hockey team visited the Berkshires for a season ending hockey tournament, and our hockey family, 22 of us, had dinner together at this fine establishment. It's a real tavern with a comfortable, rustic atmosphere. We were seated in a separate room, which was perfect for us, the staff and other patrons. We were greeted table side by the owner, who spent 10 minutes chatting with us and making us feel right at home. The food was fresh and very tasty. Our server was great, especially her patience with our 13 year-old kids who can be obnoxious at times. Overall, it was a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy, warm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

"American" cuisine, I guess, well-prepared and -served in a very cozy atmosphere. Patio tables seating in summer.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The '6 House Pub also viewed

Williamstown, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to The '6 House Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The '6 House Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.