We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Save Saved
You added 1896 House - Barnside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1896 House - Barnside Inn
910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Springfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

While visiting this Inn, we were delighted to find that it exceeded our expectations. We were met with a bottle of wine in our room and a room that was very nicely appointed. There was plenty of room to be comfortable and most of all, it was immaculate. What impressed me the most is that there was no detail that was not thought of. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a few nice days away from home.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
99
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Upon arriving at the Inn we were greeted by the housekeeper who made sure that every possible want or need was at our fingertips. No detail was left undone and the room was reminiscent of an enchanting French country bedroom. The attached 1890 restaurant was absolutely delicious and we decided to eat there both nights of our stay. In the morning breakfast was served in a small room complete with a personal chef who made the most wonderful crepes and omelette. I would definitely return and won't hesitate to share this warm and caring inn with my friends and family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the barnside suites room 206. It was beautiful and spacious. We had a delicious dinner at the 6 house pub. The service was great. Woke up each morning to a sit down candlelight breakfast. We have great memories and would love to go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

While visiting this Inn, we were delighted to find that it exceeded our expectations. We were met with a bottle of wine in our room and a room that was very nicely appointed. There was plenty of room to be comfortable and most of all, it was immaculate. What impressed me the most is that there was no detail that was not thought of. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a few nice days away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time. We were greeted so warmly when we arrived in the main office, it felt like home right away. The room was very cozy, plenty of room. Able to relax with a bath and wrap in a robe with slippers provided in the suite. They even put a candle and bath salts in the bathroom. There was nothing skipped, every amenity was thought about. Even make up remover pads, cotton balls and q-tips. The fireplace was a nice addition. The suite had a refrigerator and a bottle of wine with 2 glasses greeted us as we arrived. Breakfast prepared by Dolores was a special treat each morning. We could smell it cooking through the walls!! Our dinner was amazing in the Pub, which certainly doesn't sell only traditional pub food (not unless Lobster is usually on the menu!) I was a real treat and a place I would love to go back to in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 201 with a kitchenette. Don't know anything about the other rooms but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This past Sun & Mon my husband & I stayed at the Barnside suites, we were in 206. This was my gift to my husband for his 84th birthday. It was perfect in every way, the attention that the owners put in our suite was phenomenal from luxurious robes & slippers, to a candle with matches in the bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. Relaxing CD’s, gas fireplace. They even thought to put reading lights on the 4-poster bed for those of us that like to read in bed. The candle lit breakfast both mornings was 5 star, with more food selections than one could eat, and the chef’s choice each morning was delicious. The pub dinning room is beautifully decorated, comfortable and the food was out of this world.
We can’t wait for another reason to go back.

Room Tip: suite 206 is at the end near the brook with lots of windows letting the sun shine in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpursville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a special getaway to celebrate my birthday. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Nice for hanging out in front of the fireplace when you need a break. Dinner at the '6 Pub was good and plentiful. Try the Mussels Brussels and the artichoke salad. Location great-minutes from Williamstown and the Clark museum, 25 minutes from Bennington Vermont. We asked to see a room in Brookside and noticed a musty smell (off season?) I would opt for Barnside. The rooms far outshine the other option we saw.

Very welcoming. Did I mention breakfast? Unbelievable!

Room Tip: Fitness center clicked by mistake. Ooops. Choose any room in Barnside. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review! I just wanted to say that our Brookside rooms all have real wood paneling, and often people mistake the smell for mustiness. It really is just a wood smell that some people love. "Brookside" is far from the brook and has no mold or mildew . It really is the MOST popular of our 3 properties, although not the most elegant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1896 House - Barnside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Address: 910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your 1896 House - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 House - Barnside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.