We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get any better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Save Saved
You added 1896 House - Barnside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
1896 House - Barnside Inn
910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Couldn't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This past Sun & Mon my husband & I stayed at the Barnside suites, we were in 206. This was my gift to my husband for his 84th birthday. It was perfect in every way, the attention that the owners put in our suite was phenomenal from luxurious robes & slippers, to a candle with matches in the bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. Relaxing CD’s, gas fireplace. They even thought to put reading lights on the 4-poster bed for those of us that like to read in bed. The candle lit breakfast both mornings was 5 star, with more food selections than one could eat, and the chef’s choice each morning was delicious. The pub dinning room is beautifully decorated, comfortable and the food was out of this world.
We can’t wait for another reason to go back.

Room Tip: suite 206 is at the end near the brook with lots of windows letting the sun shine in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
99
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpursville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a special getaway to celebrate my birthday. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Nice for hanging out in front of the fireplace when you need a break. Dinner at the '6 Pub was good and plentiful. Try the Mussels Brussels and the artichoke salad. Location great-minutes from Williamstown and the Clark museum, 25 minutes from Bennington Vermont. We asked to see a room in Brookside and noticed a musty smell (off season?) I would opt for Barnside. The rooms far outshine the other option we saw.

Very welcoming. Did I mention breakfast? Unbelievable!

Room Tip: Fitness center clicked by mistake. Ooops. Choose any room in Barnside. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review! I just wanted to say that our Brookside rooms all have real wood paneling, and often people mistake the smell for mustiness. It really is just a wood smell that some people love. "Brookside" is far from the brook and has no mold or mildew . It really is the MOST popular of our 3 properties, although not the most elegant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Room was elegant and welcoming ! We had the Love Nest package ! It was fabulous ! Enjoyed the jacuzzi tub by candlelight ! Overall a great night away for the two of us ! Definitely will return ! Thank you !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My nusband and I wanted to get away for a couple of days to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place. The room (suite 205) in the Barnside was so beautiful and dare I say, romantic. The suite was very clean and inviting. The gas fireplace in the room added warmth to an already cozy room. We had candlelight breakfasts everyday and the women who cooked and served us was warm and friendly and a great cook. We had two dinners at the 6' House Pub and the meals were first rate.There were many personal touches throughout and everyone we dealt with went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.We plan to recomend this wonderful place to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the 1986 House Inn's Barnside suites and our time there was fabulous! The room was a perfect combination of roomy and cozy and the fireplace, dimmer switches on all lights, and two-person Jacuzzi tub made for a wonderful romantic weekend. It was very clean and well-kept and really felt like no expense was spared -- they even provided romantic music, a candle, bath salts, and robes and slippers for us! The included candlelight breakfasts were right next door and very nice and our dinner at the '6 House Pub was delicious (and a TON of food!). We stayed in 201, which appears to be the only suite with a kitchenette, and we loved having it! It was fully stocked with cooking- and silverware and allowed us to take back and reheat some of our food from the '6 House Pub (very useful given how much food we got!). Additionally, the 1896 house was conveniently located for many hiking trails (we loved soaking in the tub afterwards)and visits into the local Berkshire towns (including two art museums in Williamstown itself). I HIGHLY recommend staying here -- it's a perfect place for a romantic trip!

Room Tip: Suite 201 has a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I arranged four suites for family members coming down to celebrate a big birthday for my father. Each room was amazing. We were in suites 201, 202, 205 and 206. I personally was in 201 which seemed to be the most expansive with a small kitchen area although 205 and 206 have higher ceilings. I felt it was luxurious and so comfortable. Loved the bed, gas fireplace, comfortable seating and jacuzzi. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Breakfast was pleasant and they surprised us with a small desert for my dad (with a candle) on our last day...so thoughtful!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I had the most wonderful stay at the Barnside Inn. It was a gift from our very dear friends for our anniversary and we can't say enough about how great it was. Very friendly atmosphere! Our room was beautiful, clean, inviting and it more than we could ask for. Our dinner at the restaurant was perfect. The service of our complimentary breakfast was wonderful. All we can say is keep doing what your doing, we highly recommend it. We would love to make this a yearly tradition.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1896 House - Barnside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 House - Barnside Hotel
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn
Address: 910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your 1896 House - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 House - Barnside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.