We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequare; don't hesitate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northside Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Northside Motel to your Saves list
Northside Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   45 North Street (Rte 7), Williamstown, MA 01267 (Formerly Northside Motel at Williams College)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequare; don't hesitate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Williamstown is a delightful little town that I know well, but one of its problems is that most of its accomadations are $120+ during the summer. Most of these are also not really worth that much -- 'remodeled' and 'redecorated' motels, average B+Bs and inns, and vastly overpriced 'luxury' hotels (*cough* Williams Inn *cough*). Undoubtedly, these are probably fine if money is not one of your operating constraints.

The Northside Motel (now Magnuson Hotel Northside) is an unusual place, primarily because it doesn't charge vastly more than its worth. I've stayed there twice, and both times found it comfortable (if somewhat spare). Think of the motels that were popular in this country pre-interstate highway, and you pretty much have vision down perfectly. If you won't be hanging around the room, and will be hiking or hitting the cultural attractions I recommend it whole-heartedly.

Wi-fi: worked. Shower: Hot. Bed: good enough. What more do you want?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    15
    13
    7
See reviews for
15
16
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albany NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Have stayed here several times over the past few years - prior to it’s recent (Jan 2010) re-branding as part of the Magnusun group (for wider promotional / web exposure purposes - it is still independently owned); It has always, and continues, to provide fully acceptable, basic motel accommodations at a very reasonable price – considering the prime location (directly across the street from Williams college / Williamstown Theatre Festival, a short hop to both the Williams College Museum and Clark Art Institute, and a brief walk to ‘downtown’ / Spring St.). On my recent stay (late May 2010), I noticed many improvements since last year, including a fully redone lobby, new seating area for the continental breakfast; an exercise room, a guest internet station in the lobby, new key-card door locks, updated plumbing in the bathroom, and what I believe are new beds (very comfortable). Nothing fancy, just simple accommodations - fine for a night or two’s stay, not for a family resort vacation. For fancy, go about a mile straight down Main St. (Rt 2) and be prepared to pay three-and-a-half times the price (and not be within a comfortable walking distance form town center and the college, if that's important to you).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We visited for an event at Williams College. The location is excellent for events at the College, the motel is clean, beds are ok and almost everythign works. It is all circa 1980--- furniture, bathrooms, rugs, etc. all seem from that era. There's a modest, and sorta funky/homey breakfast, and good wi-fi in the eating area. Wi-fi in he back rooms isn't strong and in our experience didn't work well in the rain.

The folks at the front desk were nice and the lodgings are certainly good value for the money. Don't stay here is you need something like a Hilton Garden or even a Hampton Inn. It's much more modest, and a throw-back to the days of real "motels."

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

My dates stayed at this motel when I was an undergraduate at Williams in the 1960s. It has undergone a complete facelift since then and does now have Internet access. The owners are new and have worked hard to correct defects of prior owners. Anyone complaining about the tired beds must have been in the old rooms. The views from many rooms of the mountains and campus are excellent. If you want to pay the exorbitant Williams Inn rates next door, be my guest. The new owners are friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This is hands down the worst hotel the 3 of us have ever stayed in (and I travel a lot). The smell overtook us when we first walked in. It looked like they locked the door back in the early 80's and the smell and look stayed the same. There were hairs on my pillow and in the bed, the beds/pillows were very uncomfortable and the carpet needed replacement/cleaning. I was afraid to take my socks off. Very dated and the bathroom was awful. Internet also didn't work. The only good thing was the price of $75. I would stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas MA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I really don't understand what the complaints are about this motel. My family & I wanted to spend a weekend in the Berkshires. All the motels that we looked at were very expensive & since we were only going to spent the night, we didn't want to spend $150 or more. This motel is very reasonable & clean. It has been updated & definitely not "dated". I couldn't get the WiFi to work but that's okay & the continental breakfast wasn't anything to write home for, but the rates were reasonable, the room was clean & roomy, & there was a nice breeze blowing through the windows when we arrived. Would defintely stay here again!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My disappointment was great considering that I was coming to put my daughter into college at Williams and fully expected that Northside Motel was on par with this excellent private liberal arts college. How wrong I was. The place promised free internet, which never materialized, and the room was old, tired, and the bed awful. I realize that this place is a family run business, but there was no one in sight when you needed to complain. The "free continental breakfast" was inedible: coffee like dishwater, and bagels hard and dry. Basically it was such a huge disappointment that there was nothing I could do but swallow it. I would have sent a letter to the Bureau of Better Business in Williamstown, but haven't had the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northside Motel

Address: 45 North Street (Rte 7), Williamstown, MA 01267 (Formerly Northside Motel at Williams College)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Northside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Northside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northside Hotel Williamstown
Northside Motel Williamstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.