We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, a good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL to your Saves list
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
555 MAIN ST, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, a good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I second the good reviews. We found this motel by coincidence, and we were very pleased with it. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean linens, good bathroom supplies, good attention to details. It was also very clean. Also, all the rooms are in the rear, so no noise from the street traffic (which there is not a lot of anyhow).
The grounds were very well kept.
In the morning if you go to the reception area you can get some cake, fruit, coffee and juice and take it to your room for breakfast. Not enough if you're a big eater, but it was more than enough for us.
The owner (I only spoke to the lady) was nice and professional, she gave us some good tips for cross country skiing in the area.
I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    54
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
58
79
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We have stayed at the Maple Terrace nearly 200 nights over the past 7 years. The rooms are immacalate, with new comfortable beds, modern furniture , modern televisions, wireless internet, and dvd players. The owners are friendly,helpful and take their positions as inn keepers seriously. They know the area and always have a good recomendation for dinner or activity. In the summer the pool and gardens are beautiful and in the winter Jimminy Peak is only 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Williamstown is a beautiful college town with some good (but not great) skiing close by.
The motel has well proportioned, clean rooms but their 'small continental breakfast' is just that - orange juice, coffee or tea and a slice of cake (yes! cake). We went to this hotel because we thought having breakfast meant getting an early start on the slopes but no chance. We ended up eating Dunkin' Donuts' breakfasts!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in one of their apartments. What a find! For the price of a regular hotel room we got two rooms plus a fully equipped kitchen so we could bring some home-cooking to a homesick college student! The inn-keepers were very pleasant, the room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

It's funny, yet sad, the previous review was so scurrilous. I have stayed many times at the Maple Terrace over the years, since way before Anne and Kjell (pronounced Shell) bought the place. Kjell and I talked about their great reviews onTrip Advisor just a week ago when I checked in. I mentioned that I was going to add yet another one when I got back home now that I had begun to offer my views to TA. It's obvious he didn't read what the recent mad traveler wrote. The Maple Terrace is consistently a great place to stay, with wonderful, friendly Swedish owners. The grounds are always beautiful and well-kept. The price is a better value than other nearby nice places. I am not saying any place ever pleases people 100%, but this place has pleased me and my family 100% over the last two decades. Please discount a review so obviously counter to what the rest of us describe.

  • Liked — Great motel. I also like the owners
  • Disliked — I have never had a complaint the dozens of times I've stayed here.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed at this motel while visiting Williams College. We had a couple of very strange experiences (we only stayed one night!) with the man who runs this place and although he did end up apologizing and not charging us for our room I will still never return to this place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the way we were treated by the owner
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

I stayed here just one night, but it was just as reviews had described. The rooms are set back from the main road, and there is no traffic noise at all. My room was clean, neat, and well-equipped, with refrigerator, VCR, DVD player, and usual bathroom amenities. The staff of the inn are helpful and courteous. The location is very close to Williams College, which is a main attraction in the town. Price was way less than I expected to pay almost anywhere these days, and I got way more than I would have expected even at a higher price. This is a very comfortable place if you are looking for just a room. There is an outdoor pool, but it is not available in bad weather, of course. Overall, a great value and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL

Address: 555 MAIN ST, Williamstown, MA 01267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and warm Swedish hospitality in tranquil surroundings. Situated on three verdant acres next to a horse farm, Maple Terrace offers peaceful country living in the heart of Williamstown. Its privileged location is just a short walk from Williams College, the famed Clark Art Institute, Williamstown Theatre Festival and many other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Terrace Motel Hotel Williamstown
Maple Terrace Hotel
Hotel Maple Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.