We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended - Our worst experience in New England” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Williamstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Williamstown to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Williamstown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   213 Main Street, Williamstown, MA 01267 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not recommended - Our worst experience in New England”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our room was dark, dank and dingy. The corridor outside smelt terribly of damp. There was a chair in the room but so dirty (and broken) that we didn't go near it. The staff were unfriendly and it was all they could do to reply to a 'good morning' as we passed the reception desk to breakfast. Breakfast itself was not appealing, again, the dining area was miserable. Very bad value for money - apart from the city hotels this was the most expensive we stayed in out of 5 on our trip.. Appalling. The only good thing I can say is that the room itself and the bathroom were clean. We hated going back there, and would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone else. Next time we visit the US we know to avoid Howard Johnson hotels. I am amazed at the positive reviews on this motel. We seem to have stayed in a totally different place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    36
    33
    29
See reviews for
53
54
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

the hotel was clean, upon our arrival in our room it smelled nice and lemony. Everything is clean and tidy. The furniture is very basic not fancy by any stretch of the imagination. The bureau needs to be stripped and refinished our replaced. It is discolored and one of the handles (hardware) is hanging off the dresser. The tub looks discolored and kind of dingy. I don't think I'll be taking a bath although I'd planned to.

If you are looking for an affordable place to hang your head, this is the place! If you are looking for bells and whistles, keep looking.

Room Tip: I haven't gone to sleep yet but the bed feels comfortable so I'm hoping for the best. We at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights over the Columbus day weekend. The price was very reasonable for a holiday weekend. The room had 2 queen sized beds, plenty of room and a decent sized bathroom. The room also had a microwave & fridge which was very handy for storing some snacks & drinks. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet at night. Continental breakfast was included in the price which consisted of pastries, cereal, toast, waffles & fruit. It was enough to get the day started with. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is a little in need of updating in it's décor of the rooms. There was some paint peeling from the ceiling in the room we stayed in but everything was very clean. The location was great, close to Mount Greylock, Williams College Museum of Art and other Berkshire attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We selected this motel from the coupon book because of its good price. The receptionist was efficient and very helpful - he recommended restaurants and other attractions in the area. The bedroom was large and very clean and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge but had a broken shower holder. This was a great place very reasonably priced for this area.We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Williamstown

Address: 213 Main Street, Williamstown, MA 01267 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Williamstown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel in Williamstown, Massachusetts is surrounded by the scenic Berkshires Mountains and offers clean and comfortable accommodations with best services and amenities. This hotel near Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts is completely renovated and offers spacious rooms & suites with several amenities such as free high speed Wi-Fi internet, free continental breakfast, free access to business center, wheelchair accessible rooms, free handicap parking, cable TV with HBO and a beautiful outdoor pool with a scenic mountain view; best of Williamstown, MA Hotels. This Williamstown, MA Motel is conveniently located near Williams College, Chapin Library, Williamstown Theatre Festival and Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute. At Howard Johnson Free continental breakfast is served daily and it comes with great healthy breakfast choices ranging from coffee and fruit juices, to cereals and a variety of freshly baked goods. There are more than 30 restaurants serving fine dining are located within 2 miles from this hotel Garden picnic area and long, quiet walking trail is located at the back of the main building. Also, we offer computer with internet access in the lobby area for guest use. Check-in time is 3 pm, check-out time is 11 am and pets are not allowed at this hotel. Howard Johnson is so perfectly located that Williams College is only one mile away and it is a perfect get away if you are going to Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Williamstown Hotel Williamstown
Williamstown Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Williamstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.