We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Down Memory Lane for Us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williams College

Williams College
880 Main St., Williamstown, MA
413/597-3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Williamstown
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Trip Down Memory Lane for Us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I met sorting silverware at our work study jobs in the Williams College freshman cafeteria 41 years ago, so this is a completely biased review. Our last visit (our first in 12 twelve years) was at the end of the fall foliage season, but the area is truly beautiful in any season. We enjoyed walking around and seeing the changes on campus and in the town, but there are things to do and see that would make Williamstown a good stop for anyone touring the Berkshires. However, if you intend to stay overnight, it is worth checking the college event calendar on the Williams College website so you can avoid times when everything will be crowded. We did not check and our visit coincided with Family Weekend which meant that hotel/B&B rooms were in short supply.
Even if you don't have an emotional attachment to the college, it is the quintessential New England small liberal arts college campus and exudes that vibe. One should visit the Clark Art Institute and the Williams College Museum of Art which has expanded its collection and exhibit space since we took Art History 101-102. It is also a great area for walking and hiking. The hike up Pine Cobble is doable if you are moderately fit and you can drive to the trail head.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We made a campus tour of this college, and were impressed. It seemed like the only private liberal arts college that we have been to which has academic quality as well as smaller class size. Many other colleges similar in description seemed like depositories for the monied but unintellectual classes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best and The Brightest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Williams College is a beautiful campus surrounded by beautiful countryside with lots of fun things to do. If you're luck enough to be a student at the tip-notch school, good for you. For the rest of us, a visit is also great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful campus for what I understand to be the most expensive school in the nation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We walked the campus and enjoyed it. The buildings were closed for the holiday. Wonderful campus for what I understand to be the most expensive school in the nation. The shops downtown are so nice as well.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Attractive College”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Have always known that Williams is a top rated college. The buildings are located on a campus which is spread around in a beautiful New England village in the Berkshires. A nice alternative to the hustle and bustle of large universities.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williams College also viewed

 
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to Williams College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williams College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.