We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels to your Saves list
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at The 1896 House. Our room was clean comfortable & warm. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We also ate at the pub & found the food & service excellant. We would recommend the 1896 to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    87
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
69
123
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This inn was wonderful. The towels, sheets,etc. were so clean they even had a slight bleach smell to them. We had the sweetheart room with a jacuzzi for two. Extremely relaxing. Free breakfast was also included in the stay. An excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Rooms were clean. Wifi was free and worked well. Decor was dated in style, but clearly redone recently. Bathroom small but retiled and redone recently. All and all room was good but pricey.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

For under $100.00 you won't find a cleaner room in a nice setting. Breakfast good. We traveled for 2 weeks to see the changing colors, and were very, very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Owners are charming but motel stuck in time warp circa 1967. Kids afraid to put bare feet onto floor. Lots of rooms all over America still have CRT televisions but it was like staying in your great aunt's apartment off the garage. Lack of alternative places allows them go survive. Buffet breakfast a la Hampton Inn but done with friendliness.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay in September 2010. As of September 2014, the 1896 Country Motels and Barnside Luxury Suites are under new ownership. We have been listening attentively to guest feedback and making updates to our property accordingly. We just recently brought back our full breakfast buffet, which includes eggs, bacon, waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins, bagels, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed one night at the Pondside, which is a group of motel rooms on the south side of Route 7 a few miles south of Williamstown. Very nice large room with 2 comfortable Queen beds and adequate bath. The breakfast buffet featured basic hot and cold items, and certainly filled us up. I think this is one of the best motel choices in Williamstown - this is our third stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tisbury
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

If you are looking for a 5 star experience this will not be it, but it was clean, roomy, comfortable, and near the restaurant and bar. Many television stations from which to choose. Breakfast was generous. For our purposes, it was just right.
If I would change anything, I would change the color of the walls because I love light.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Address: 910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.