We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully peaceful, welcoming and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels to your Saves list
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clay, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully peaceful, welcoming and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I came to celebrate our 1st year anniversary with a 3-day get-away at the 1896 House. We stayed "brookside" in a deluxe king room and it was wonderful. Our bed was comfy, the climate controls in the room were easily adjustable.

Every staff member we encountered was extremely nice, they even gave us an Anniversary Card along with a little box of chocolates! Food in the '6 pub was unbelievable to say the least - if you go do yourself a favor and get the silken lobster bisque! After dinner the first evening we took a bottle of wine out on the back area of the restaurant and sat around the fire pit gorgeously lit with little lights.

Unfortunately it rained throughout our whole stay but we were very happy overall!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    88
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
126
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are traveling to or through Williamstown, MA be sure to book a stay at the wonderful 1896 House . The rooms will remind you of a country Inn with lots of comfort and very clean. The 1896 House has its own bar and restaurant serving the best lobster mac and cheese in the northeast. The staff is attentive and polite in this quaint setting that has a community feel. Don't skip the all inclusive breakfast. Although, they have limited offerings, the weekend we were there, they had eggs, waffles, fruit, toast, bagels juice and fresh coffee. The grounds have a running brooke that travels through the property which was nice for lounging and conversation. Don't miss out on this treat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the upstairs suite at the pondside motel. It was a really pretty spot, and our rooms were comfortable and spacious, with a nice view of the pond, the ducks and a visiting heron. This would be a perfect spot for a family in non-rainy weather (it rained throughout our stay, sadly). The breakfast that came with our room was excellent. The hotel pub across the street was good, also, I would recommend the steak and seafood combo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Before the owner starts defending her property, I'd like you to know that we did not pay for our room, our friend did.
How bad was it? Pondside is disgusting! I'm not a city girl, nor am I too big for my britches~just an honest, hardworking suburbanite visiting the area for the weekend. The two double beds were killers;knees ached,back and neck from the pillows. The worse part was the smell. It got down to 45 degrees and we had to keep the windows open a bit to get some fresh air or we'd cough all night. We actually changed our clothes in the car as to not get the odor on them.

I called at 9:32pm to see if there was another room and the answering machine said the call would be answered in the morning~and don't call the owner unless it's an emergency!
We got out of there as fast as we could in the morning and came back as late as we could~to avoid the odor.

Musty is NOT in the walls (as the owner previously mentioned)it's in the bedding, carpeting and drapes. In one word..disgusting!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that these guests were uncomfortable, and dismayed that they made only one attempt to contact us.
People call at all hours for reservations from different time zones. Because we are a small property, we do not have 24-hour front desk service, and we need to get some rest. Our office hours end at 9:30 PM, and our answering machine says that if it is an emergency we can be reached in our home, and we provide the number. Our home is connected to the office, and we would also hear a doorbell. Certainly, we would have considered this an emergency if one of our guests were that uncomfortable!
We have no idea when they stayed or for how long. It sounds as though it was more than one night however, if they left early in the AM and came back late at night. There was plenty of time to call the office or to come to the office with a complaint so that we could find a resolution.
Just like there are super tasters, there are people with a highly developed sense of smell. These cannot tolerate what other people do not find offensive. Pondside is 20 feet from a Pond, and a “lake house” scent in some seasons comes with the territory.
Were the beds too hard, too soft? We could have addressed their personal preferences had we known. Thousands of people sleep well on our beds yearly with no complaint.
To call a place “disgusting” however is unfair and disheartening. We are a respectable property that enjoys a tremendous repeat guest list, and a high occupancy for our area. We are VERY attentive to our guests’ needs. We never got a chance to make it right for these guests, but they are comfortable with trying to ruin our reputation by trashing us in front of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited Williamstown with friends for 2 days for my birthday. We spent 2 nights at the Brookside Motel and it really was brook side. The sound of the rushing brook was lovely, with chairs nearby to read or just listen. The room with the king size bed was roomy and comfortable. We had dinner at the '6 Pub the first night and we were so pleased we returned the second night. The pub was cozy and the food was delicious! We would recommend this motel to friends travelling to this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary at the 1896 House and everything was absolutely fantastic. We spent 2 nights in one of the barnside suites with a gas fireplace, great furnishings and we just loved the tub. I would highly recommend it to everyone. The breakfasts were great too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent a recent weekend at this motel for a local graduation. We reserved 3 rooms in the Brookside motel. Loved the location hidden from the road. We sat at the tables outside and were able to visit with family members between festivities. We had dinner at the '6 Pub right next door and could walk to and from dinner. The rooms were rustic but clean and well-equipped. The inn keepers were friendly and accommodating. It was quiet at night and a full breakfast was served at the Pub each morning for motel guests only.

Room Tip: Rooms at Brookside are more private and same hidden from view. Also next to office and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Address: 910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.