We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant family experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels to your Saves list
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Simsbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant family experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was a little bit nervous, given the "motel" look of the 1896 house, but don't be fooled - it's a great place. My husband and I stayed there with our 13 y.o. and 10 y.o. last night, on a last minute trip to the Berkshires. We stayed in Brookside, and it was exceedingly clean, charming, well maintained, all with a friendly staff. Sure, the room was basic, with two full beds, but the linens and bath were totally updated, and my kids adored the grounds. There is a lot to explore for kids between the brook, the pond, the gazebo, and the pool. The atmosphere was just so pleasant that it made you want to find time to hang out on the grounds and read or relax. I will return!

Room Tip: The rooms in Brookside are more like what you'd expect to find on Cape Cod, with the pine walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    88
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
126
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having just returned from a trip to Williamstown, it included our sixth visit to 1896 House. We stayed for a long weekend at the 1896 House Inn & Country Lodgings and as always were not the least bit disappointed with the charm and care extended by Denise and Sue, the proprieters of this most enjoyable retreat. One has a choice of rooms, some more elaborate than others, and if you so choose, you can have your own private suite, with all the amenities and a "front porch." The restaurant, the pub and the grounds all add to the comfort of one's stay, and the quality of food, the generous drinks and the overall atmosphere make the entire experience a joyful one. We encourage you to try it out, you will love it all, Even the complimentary breakfast is abundant and delightful.
MS & NH New York City

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights about 3 weeks ago and had a really wonderful time. We stayed at the Brookside property which I would highly recommend. While I'm sure that the Pondside is nice, it's a bit closer to the road so I think the Brookside property is probably a little quieter. We got a quick peek at the Barnside rooms and they appear to be very nice, although a bit more expensive.

We had a room with 2 double beds since all of the king rooms were sold out. Everything was in a great shape and the room was pretty spacious. I'd say our only "complaint" is that the beds were a bit hard and the pillows were quite flat. But... at night, the room was SO quiet! We loved it! And after midnight, the outer lights on the property are turned off so it's incredibly dark too. What a way to relax and get a great night's sleep!

The breakfast is very adequate, consisting of scrambled & hard boiled eggs, cereal, breads, fruit, coffee and juice. It's definitely enough to get you started.

For family reasons, I know we will be visiting Williamstown again and I can say for sure that we will try to stay here. It's affordable, comfortable, relaxing and charming!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My friends and I stayed in 2 connecting rooms for 2 nights in the Brookside section and all enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious, although just a little on the dark side, the beds were comfy, and the bathroom clean and well-appointed.
After a trip to Williamstown and Mnt Greylock, we enjoyed a relaxing time sitting watching the birds at the feeding stations in the trees, which, although so close to the main road, was really quiet!
Breakfast was served in a room in the 1896 inn, and was very good, even though we were the only guests eating when we arrived for our first breakfast.
The food on offer at the Inn was very good - we ate there both nights, and all enjoyed our meals. The drinks were a little over-priced for my liking though........
A final mention for the lovely Airedale Terriers who wandered around the car-park without a care in the world!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The 1896 House Brookside Motel property- is not to be confused with the more expensive and lavish Barnside rooms adjacent, nor the Pondside Motel across the street. (All owned by the same owner.) It is a very few miles from Williamstown,

Brookside has very pleasant and comfortable rooms, that are quite clean, although somewhat dark. A brook runs through the property and it is delightful to sit in the chairs next to the brook and relax. A very nice breakfast is served. The grounds are quite pretty, and service is excellent. Good enough to have kept us coming back year after year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you! It's great to hear that you return every year! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The room smells like mold. The carpeting is old and so is the wallpaper. Tiles were missing in the bathroom. . The smell permeated our luggage! And expensive, too--nearly $200 for one night. We stayed "Pondside" and had to navigate a great amount of bird poo in the back...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie O, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay at the 1896 House Pondside in August 2012. As of September 2014, the 1896 House Country Motels and Barnside Luxury Inn are under new ownership. We are constantly updating the property and using guest feedback to produce a more satisfying guest experience. As for the room rate, summer rates are higher than off-season rates due to the high demand for rooms during the tourist season. Guests frequent the 1896 house for the Williamstown Theater Festival, the Clark Museum, Mass Moca, the Williams College Museum of Art, Tanglewood, and many other attractions in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Pleasant, clean and very friendly staff. Rustic, but with flat screen HDTV. Easy to find, right on Route 7, and a very good pub on premises. Quiet and relaxing. Near Williamstown Theater and a good golf course. A little further away from other sites, Lemnox and Tanglewood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Address: 910 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.