We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Charm and Warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Bend Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Bend Farm
Save
You added River Bend Farm to your Saves list
643 Simonds Rd., Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Colonial Charm and Warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Visited October 2014. We were delighted by the authentic and historic home, artifacts and antiques. The innkeepers were engaging and available whenever needed. The simple healthy breakfast - yogurt, granola, fresh fruit and baked breads - was excellent. The shared baths were not a problem and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests from around the world. We loved the kitchen fireplace on the chilly mornings. Negatives - parking was a bit muddy. The inn is on a state highway. It's off the road enough so that noise is not a problem, but it is not as charming as, say, a country road or historic neighborhood. But on balance we heartily endorse with 5 stars!

Room Tip: We had the master bedroom which has 2 beds and is very large. A short trip down the hall to the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

My sister-in-law and I were enjoying vacation time in western MA and found River Bend Farm by chance - what a wonderful discovery! Dave and Judy were the perfect hosts, and the home is such a unique experience! We loved our time there and appreciated all the little touches and the sense of history that infuses every nook and cranny! The made-from-scratch breakfast, served by the fireplace, was delicious! I loved the creaky floors and all the 1770-style decor! In our nine days of travelling, this was my favorite place of all! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Let me just say that even our two twenty-something daughters appreciated the simple colonial-era accommodations, the warmth of the proprietors, and the congeniality of the guests. We look forward to an early return!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Dave and Judy Loomis have done an incredible job restoring River Bend Farm to its original 18th century design and detail with style, plus comfort. From the slate lined shower to the crackling fire that waits their guests in the breakfast room, the place and your stay will be unforgettable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just had another wonderful stay at River Bend and feel compelled to spread the word. As consistently described in the reviews here, this is a special place. The building and its history are truly unique; there is so much to learn, just by walking from room to room. The inn is beautifully and lovingly restored. The building itself is fascinating and the furnishings are authentic as well as comfortable. Breakfast is included and is not to be missed. Be sure to sample the muffins and granola. The accommodations are special but it is David and Judy that will really make your stay memorable. They are informative and passionate about the inn, its history and renovation, and about the area. As others have said, spending time with them feels like re-uniting with old friends.
Keep in mind that River Bend is not for everyone. If you are looking for a place where the highlight of your stay is a flat screen tv, your conversation with the hotel staff consists of "here's your key", and breakfast means a stale Danish... then look elsewhere. Otherwise, you WILL be pleased. (And yes, though Colonel Benjamin Simond might not approve, they do have wireless internet!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! You can feel how much Judy and David love this house, which they restored themselves (pictures in the library to prove it). Sleep comes easy in the comfortable, tastefully furnished room. Unique, soothing smell of pine greets you in the morning; followed by a tasty home baked breakfast by a crackling fire with the few other guests and the inspiring hosts, who not only give you tons of ideas of places to explore locally, but also have exciting tales to tell of their time in lands far away. The house is a delight to explore. A perfect place to get away from the noise of life. Don't let the idea of sharing a bathroom put you off. It presented no problem whatsoever and I am normally picky about these kinds n of b things!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

History buffs will fall in love with River Bend Farm and its charming hosts, David and Judy. Just returned from a weekend with fellow alums from Williams College, where we enjoyed warm hospitality, comfortable beds, and a delicious breakfast in the original kitchen before a roaring fire. River Bend is especially great for a group looking to take over the entire inn - especially since the one downside of this historic gem is that there are only two bathrooms, one with a shower and all shared. I especially appreciated the extra touches of nice bathrobes in the closet and a stocked cupboard in the kitchen for making tea.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, request the one room downstairs off the kitchen, which is also adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Bend Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Farm

Address: 643 Simonds Rd., Williamstown, MA 01267
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Bend Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.