We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchards Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchards Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Adams Road, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Bronx
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Orchards has been a favorite getaway trip for my family and get together with our friends to go skiing. We have been coming to this hotel the last 3 years. All our friends and my family really enjoyed the hotel staff. They have been very accommodating and helpful with our plans, especially with our group dinner...we had over 20 people in our group. The Gala Restaurant was the best...and convienently located on the premise. We ate breakfast every morning with our friends there during our stay (because of the $10 per person voucher, we saved). The ski deal for Jiminy Peak Resort was a great savings and saved us from long lines at the ski resort. Overall we had a great time with our friends and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Call ahead for any special arrangements...such as dinner plans if you have a large group so that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so happy that the ski conditions in the Berkshires this season have been exceptional. It is also great for us to know that we were able to play a small part in making your families' ski trip enjoyable. It is always very rewarding for our staff to see guests who return to stay with us year after year. Your family is always a welcome arrival for all of the Orchard's staff. Now that our guests can buy actual discounted lift tickets at the hotel, it has proven to be a great way to avoid lines at the mountain

Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon on your next trip to "Ski the Berkshires"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    92
    40
    20
    11
See reviews for
87
133
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, wonderful staff provided excellent service. Our room was wonderfully spacious and looked out on a beautiful courtyard. The staff was attentive and courteous, dropping off cookies and lip balm in the evening was a fun surprise! A delightful new years eve getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Happy New Year to you! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the new year at Orchards. We have had many comments on how lovely the dinner experience was in Gala. I'm pleased that you enjoyed everything as well! I hope that you that you will have the opportunity to bring in the year 2014 with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent two nights in December here and loved the ambience. Coffee available early in the morning, tea and cookies in the afternoon added to our pleasure. The room was spacious and simply decorated but very quiet and comfortable. The snow and the neighborhood farm were also a treat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Happy New Year to you! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the new year at Orchards. We have had many comments on how lovely the dinner experience was in Gala. I'm pleased that you enjoyed everything as well! I hope that you that you will have the opportunity to bring in the year 2014 with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here during a snow filled weekend in late December. The small things are what set this hotel truly apart. The town is nothing amazing, but its closeness to MassMoca is nice. However, we only left our hotel for a few hours...yes, it was this enjoyable. We got a king room facing the courtyard which was a winter wonderful with twinkle lights in the trees. The robes. marbled bath, luxurious pillows and ample room where wonderful. The afternoon tea and local pastries in the lounge and our afternoon cookie delivery were welcome surprises. The staff were great as well. I would recommend this for a weekend a way where you just need to relax. We loved it and made some amazing memories here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It is always a great day when we receive such high praise. More importantly, however ,is the knowledge that we were able to meet your expectations, because that ultimately, is our goal. Thank you taking a moment to let us know how you felt about your visit to the Orchards. It will be our challenge to continue to earn the accolades that you so kindly provided for us. I hope that you soon have an opportunity to visit with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend stay at the Orchards Hotel on a snowy, cold weekend. All of the accomodations were excellent, and the staff was most helpful in helping us coordinate our weekend in the area. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. My husband enjoyed playing the grand piano in the common room. The highlight was the exquisitely prepared, delicious and beautifully presented meal of Sous-chef, Bill Sheridan. We very much enjoyed his visit to our table. Barbara and Teddy

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not below a family with toddlers. Their stomping feet can be heard as they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Bill wanted me to let you know how much he appreciates the fact that he was able to make your time in Gala special. He is one of our key culinary people and always gives 110% to pleasing our guests. Thank you for staying at the Orchards. We are very happy that we were able to provide pleasant experience for you. I hope you will come back soon. Please be sure to let us know when so that bill can say "Hello'". Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Great value. Went there to ski at Jiminy Peak. Great ski deal. Other than staying at the ski lodge itself this was our best option. We are certainly glad we took it. Ride only about 20 min to Jiminy. Kids are already asking if we can do again next year! Already recommending to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
The skiing at Jiminy has been great! I'm glad to hear that had a chance to enjoy it. I'm pleased to know that our ski package worked out well for you. Many others have found the package to be a nice value. I hope that you will have the opportunity to get some more skiing in during the remainder of the winter months. Hope to see you again soon. We'll keep the fireplace lit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is lovely inside. There is a big, welcoming living room, with a fire in the fireplace in winter. Complimentary coffee is set out in the morning; tea and pastries are set out in the afternoon; and cookies arrive at your room in the evening. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. And the rooms are amazing. We treated ourselves to a "Courtyard Room" (we paid the rack rate of $139) - and boy, did we get our money's worth.The same room in Boston or New York would go for at least $500/night. We didn't have a single complaint. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
There is nothing better for me to hear than to have a guest say that there were no complaints. Our staff takes great pride in meeting the needs of our guests, so they feel especially rewarded when they know that they attained 100% of their objectives. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to express your thoughts regarding your experience at the Orchards and Gala. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Williamstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Address: 222 Adams Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.