We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkshire Hills Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Berkshire Hills Country Inn to your Saves list
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
1146 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Charming with Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm giving this establishment 4 Stars in MOTEL world (not hotel or resort world). Overall, my stay was very pleasant and I would stay here again. Following are some specifics:

First the not so good (why I'm giving it 4 and not 5 stars). The room was a little worse for wear with peeling wallpaper and a toilet that wiggled when you sat on it. Not a dealbreaker but it should be noted. The TV was on the older side and could use some upgrading and the room only came with two bath towels (plus washcloths and hand towels). Personally, I think a motel/hotel should always provide a minimum of 4 bath towels. The towel situation was quickly rectified. Remember, this is a motel and the amenities are basic MOTEL amenities . . .smallish towels, nondescript toiletries, basic room. Also, the light fell off the wall that was above one of the beds and I had to screw it back in. No big deal but again this is why I'm giving it 4 stars. Lastly, one must drive to find a restaurant. There are none that are walking distance.

Now for the good. I found this establishment to be quite charming. The decor was a bit older and I liked this. It felt "homey." The pool was large and is accessed over a wooden footbridge. What surprised me was the little covered wooden swing they had placed by the pool (along with the requisite chairs, lounges and tables). The swing was very cute and is not a "kid" swing. There is a small wooden staircase that leads down to the brook behind the pool and my son enjoyed exploring the little brook.

There is also a gazebo set by the brook (across from the rooms in the back) that had rocking Adirondack chairs in it and there was a table set in the middle of the gazebo. It was very private and tranquil feeling. There is another staircase leading to the brook behind the gazebo. Additionally, there were chairs and benches (plastic) perched in various strategic spots, all overlooking the brook and it was very relaxing. Additionally, each room has a little area directly outside that you can sit at. The rooms in the back have plastic chairs. The rooms in the front on the lower level have wooden benches and the rooms in the front on the second floor have wicker chairs with cushions. Noise was not an issue for us despite the close location to Route 7.

Another thing I liked were all the little flower baskets that were placed about the property. You can tell that the owners try very hard to make this a nice place to stay and that they care about this property.

The continental breakfast is really quite nice. Keep in mind it is a continental breakfast so it's not going to have any hot selections. What they did offer, however, was plentiful and beautifully set up. There were china plates, silverware, glass carafes containing juice, milk, water, etc. The organic bread was very good. The only thing I didn't see at the breakfast that would make for a nice addition would be some yogurt and granola but, really, it was a very good continental breakfast and both my son and I were pleased with the selection.

There is a quirky charm to the main room and the little eating area. This motel is really a cross between a motel and a bed and breakfast and if you are looking for a place that has some of the charm of a bed and breakfast but none of the cost, you really can't go wrong.

The prices are reasonable and the room seemed clean. I think the owner does a fine job of making this an enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in back have quicker access to the gazebo and seating areas along the brook so one can sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    44
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
72
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thank you for the delightful experience, the eclectic rooms, the travel advice and overall helpfulness. Such an attitude makes staying in your gorgeous motel extra special. Beautiful grounds, fabulous deck to eat the ample breakfast in the sun and close to the delightful university town with lots to do. Mass MoCa is close by and is a world class contemporary gallery. Don't miss the Art Gallery on the Williams campus and if possible, go to the Sunday Fair. Purple Pig pub has a great atmosphere too. Love the purple and gold school colours.

Room Tip: Rooms out the back are lovely and quiet and near the bubbling stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently spent several days at the Berkshire Hills Motel where we have vacationed for years. It deserves the highest rating because of its cleanliness, beautiful setting and the charm of the innkeeper, Jill, who is welcoming. We look forward to visiting again next year- by now it feels like home.

Eileen and Ray Valinoti

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at the Berkshire Hills Motel for the first time this month and found everything just right. The rooms are old fashioned in the best possible way -- you feel instantly that you are welcome and in a caring place. Breakfast was superb, with amazing baked goods. The breakfast room, living room, and deck are great places to sit , and the pool is secluded and relaxing. Jill is the best hostess. We'll definitely return the next time we are in that part of the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was great, but the second floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family before dropping my daughter off at camp. The owner Jill was awesome. Very knowledgable about the area, accommodating, and friendly. Hotel was clean, breakfast was amazing with fresh baked organic bread! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Berkshire Hills Motel many times while visiting the Berkshires for our wedding anniversary, and we're always made to feel at home by Jill and the staff. The atmosphere is extremely pleasant and Jill is always available to provided recommendations for restaurants and attractions. She has made it a point to visit and learn about all destinations in the area and is forthright about the pluses and minuses of each one. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, the surroundings are pastoral and peaceful and all guests are made to feel comfortable. It's very reasonably priced also. I would not hesitate to recommend the Berkshire Hills Motel to anyone and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the woods and brook have instant access to the swimming pool and outdoor picnic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked almost the entire motel for a three day wedding weekend. Jill was very accommodating to our needs and provided excellent hospitality. The setting provided a peaceful get away before and after the festivities. We spent time poolside and streamside eating, drinking and catching up with family and friends. The location is very convenient to the Williamstown area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkshire Hills Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Hills Country Inn

Address: 1146 Cold Spring Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the Scenic Side of Beautiful Williamstown. Cozy accommodations, bountiful breakfast buffet included, family friendly, secluded outdoor pool bordering brooks. Near: 3 World Class Museums, Williams College, skiing, hiking, shopping,so much to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Berkshire Hills Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hills Hotel Williamstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkshire Hills Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.