We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money or time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of White's Of Westport Restaurant

White's Of Westport Restaurant
66 State Rd, PO Box 248, Westport, MA 02790-3507
508-675-7185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 29 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch
Whitman, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money or time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have never written a restaurant review before, but this was by far the worst experience I have ever had in a restaurant. We chose the place because we were seeing a show at White's. There were 5 of us, and no one enjoyed their meal. After we ordered, we heard someone behind us complaining about their burger, and the meal was comped. Unfortunately, one of us had ordered the burger. After waiting at least 5 minutes for the side of mayo requested, she tried the burger, and said it had no taste, an odd texture, and the lettuce and tomato were old. I had the shrimp stir fry, and the shrimp were so dry and overcooked, I didn't want the bother wit the rice and veggies in the strange, brown sauce...I'd go on, but I see that someone comes in and says, "Sorry for your bad experience" to everyone who reviews...how about fixing it, and serving better food? There are far too many lousy reviews for this place. It's sad that they don't fire the chef(s) and find someone who can cook.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at White's Of Westport Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello,
I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for not providing you with the positive experience you should have received during your visit. It is our goal and expectation that every guest is 100% satisfied when leaving our restaurants. We take responsibility for your disappointing visit and will make every effort to avoid situations like this in the future. As I am sure you can guess by driving by; business has been very steady and we have been privileged enough to have been able to serve a great number of guests for the past 57 years. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment and hope that we have the chance to make it up to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“poor taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

food did not taste or appear fresh. fish came out first frozen than when came back it had a strong old fish smell

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Manager at White's Of Westport Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review White's. Your thoughts on the fish have been addressed with the kitchen, as the presentation described is unacceptable. We apologize for your disappointing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just OK conference food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went here for a conference. The food was what you would expect from a function hall- overcooked and boring. I wouldn't bother returning to the restaurant unless you like bland, uninteresting fare. Might be good for people over 80.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at White's Of Westport Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello BuddyPR,

We apologize for your disappointment in our conference food, but would like to encourage you to try the Grille at another time. We have a completely different menu with a variety of options. Thank you for taking the time to review White's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“14 years of banquets. Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just to say we have worked with White's for 14 years hosting our annual banquet. Over all of those years, very few complaints. The food has always been excellent. The staff most accomodating and efficient. As for seeing the highway as one of these comments suggested they did not like. Wonder if they like the great NYC establishments on some of the busiest streets in the world. The great thing also about White's is that the Ramada Inn is next door. Great when you are hosting out of town guests. I give both a solid A+. Keep up the good work
Jeanne - Barnabas Ministries

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at White's Of Westport Restaurant, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, Jeanne! We enjoy working with your group. The Hampton Inn next door is great when hosting events with guests from out of town. Looking forward to many more years of hosting your annual banquet. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Closest Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ate there twice,once for a quick lunch (had the clam chowder & clam cakes),very good. Dinner menu was a little overpriced considering what we had on a very rainy night & didn't want to drive anywhere.Turkey dinner @ $16.95 was just so-so.Others in our party expressed the same thoughts on prices & waitresses weren't very attentive to diners requests. Not the best choice for us that night.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at White's Of Westport Restaurant, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi rags123, thank you for your review. We have shared this with the chefs and waitstaff and hope that your next visit will be a better experience. If there is anything we can do to improve your time with us, please let us know. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White's Of Westport Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to White's Of Westport Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White's Of Westport Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.