We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bittersweet Farm Restaurant

Bittersweet Farm Restaurant
438 Main Rd, Westport, MA 02790-4309
508-636-0085
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated on a 29-acre farm dating back to the 1920's, the restaurant provides an elegant country atmosphere and perfect setting for that special occasion celebration. The Main Floor is open for dining on Friday and Saturday evenings, subject to availability. Our cozy Fireside Tavern provides a more casual atmosphere Tuesday through Sunday, with superb monthly features and weekly specials. Join us for live musical entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, as we bring you the area's best talent. Every first Sunday of the month, relax and enjoy the Grand Brunch Buffet from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. with live acoustic music. Choose from made-to-order omelets and waffles, salads, pasta and saute stations to poached salmon, carved meats, fresh fruit, assorted pastries and more.
Cape Cod, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A group went out to dinner last weekend following a business meeting at Hampton Inn (owned by the same management) and we brought the National President's representative with us to entertain him. Several of our party had been there previously, I hadn't. It was wonderful. Very pretty atmosphere with lots of tiny white lights illuminating a very rustic building (a remodeled old barn), food was great, service efficient and attentive, but not over-bearing - everything that everyone had was very well-received and earned raves. The National Rep specifically asked to be invited back next year just so he can eat there again. Luckily, I live a lot closer, so I will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are thrilled you had such a lovely experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you for taking the time to review Bittersweet Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful, rustic atmosphere~Polite & attentive service~Delicious & hot food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Celebrated a 70th birthday here. We made reservations in the beautiful rustic barn on the main floor. It is gorgeous. It is just such a pretty place to dine. The patrons vary from dressed for an nice dinner out to a casual evening in jeans. Our service team was excellent (Jessica K & assistant). We were greeted promptly & offered specials and information about the menu & selections available. The water was filled frequently without asking. The chili nachos appetizer was fantastic & the fried calamari was lightly breaded and plentiful. Our dinners were served hot & with huge portions. The lobster linguini, baked seafood platter, Emma's chicken, & Maggie's chicken were delicious. The special chocolate torte dessert was a perfect ending to a great night. Our dinner was leisurely & we enjoyed this very special celebration here at Bittersweet Farm. The prices vary from $10 sandwiches to $20+ meals, so you can even make a nice night out on a budget. We would recommend this place for any occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We take such pride in helping to make every celebration and meal special and are thrilled to know you enjoyed Bittersweet Farm. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a short -notice decision to dine on a Sat. night ,called for a reservation and got a charming voice on the other end who assured us a good table at the time we requested. When we arrived, Jenny seated us with a smile. Had a wonderful and friendly waitress, Tara and a delicious and generous meal. Try the mussels app! Nice decor. Pub downstairs had entertainment and an awesome hostess Katie!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Robert K,

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience dining with us! I will be sure to pass your compliments along to everyone who was mentioned. Thank you for choosing Bittersweet and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Eating in a converted barn. Food good. A little dark --I prefer outside views and none here. Handicap access.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our main floor is open most Friday and Saturday evenings and offers window views that look out onto the patio and field. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We ate at Bittersweet last week. We had the Sunday brunch buffet. The restaurant is very charming and quaint and there were eight of us. We all had the buffet. It looked good and was fairly crowded. We were hungry and looking forward to eating. Until we had the food. It was most tasteless and unattractve buffet I have ever eaten at or seen. Not only was the food unattractively displayed, but it was almost completely tasteless. In addition, the waitress dropped a bloody mary all over one of our table mates.

I am not sure whether it is just the buffet which is so tasteless or the food generally but, from other reviews, it sounds like the buffet is where they get rid of all their leftover food for the week. It was just awful. Food was cold, dry, had no taste and, at several times, the person cutting the prime rib at the cutting station was missing in action, and it took him almost ten minutes to find a knife to carve the beef, which was cold and unseasoned anyway.

One thing that really irks me is when you thank someone for serving you and they say "no problem." I could not, in good conscience, recommend Bittersweet to anyone, at least not for the buffet. It was a huge disappointment and the food and buffet dining experience were completely incongruent with the exterior and first impression of the interior.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, General Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at Bittersweet Farm. As in most businesses, if we do not receive feedback, be it good or bad, we will never know where our faults or attributes lie.

Our chefs and I take pride in everything we prepare and serve. We use only the freshest foods & ingredients available. We try our best to hire and train only the most qualified and attentive service staff and strive to accomplish only the best of experiences for our guests. We clearly fell far short of that with you during your visit here, and for that I cannot apologize enough. I have spoken with both the Head Chef and our wait staff team about your disappointing meal experience and you may rest assured that the problems are being rectified.

Again, thank you for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss the matter further, or if there is anything I can do for you now or in the future.

Best Regards,

Corrie Martin
General Manager | Bittersweet Farm Restaurant & Tavern
p. 508-636-0085 | f. 508-636-2163
e. bsf@lafrancehospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bittersweet Farm Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bittersweet Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.