We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Southampton Road, Westfield, MA 01085   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Westfield
Mendon, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having left Bar Harbor early due to weather, we needed a place to stay for the night. I called several places while on interstate 90 (Mass Pike) and they were booked. I was getting concerned when I finally found this Holiday Inn Express in Westfield that had a room. What a great find. The room was clean and quiet and up-to-date with up-to-date room locks. Large bathroom. There was a desk with office chair. The desk had numerous, convenient outlets for charging and using electronic devices. Good internet connection. Room also had a stuffed chair and plenty of space for your luggage and clothes. I wish that it would have had a microwave and refrigerator because we had some great soup with us from Maine and it would have been great to have some because we were hungry or at least been able to keep it cold instead of having to keep it packed in ice. I did notice that there is ice and laundry facilities on each floor. Breakfast was ample. Normal Holiday Inn hot scramble eggs, hot egg patty, sausage, bacon, breads, pastries, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee, tea etc. I would also like to see more hotels have room safes in the rooms because we all travel with expensive electronic devices and photo gear today.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. It was a wonderful to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the comfort of your room ammenities as well as our Express Start Breakfast. We take a great deal pride in our overall product and services. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
22
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed two nights and was very happy with the facility as a whole. The staff at check in was very friendly and helpful. Getting in to my room I was just as happy nothing special but it was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was just right not too hot and not too cold and indoors which I am sure is nice in the winter. The fitness room was one of the first that I have been to in a long time that EVERYTHING worked. Breakfast was good, nothing spectacular but it did the job. The location is good for travelers and maybe ok for somebody on vacation, right off the Mass Pike.

Room Tip: Call for the best rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with your feedback. It was truly a pleasure to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and some of the ammenities that our hotel has to offer. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. He room was super clean and the bed very comfortable. The hotel is very easy to find as it is right off the Mass Pike. However, there isn't much around it only Friendly's restaurant. The only thing that I would change at this hotel would be to add refrigerators to the rooms, otherwise it is an A+ hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for providing us with some feedback from your recent stay. It was great to hear that you had enjoyed our staff services and your room ammenities as well. We hope to have you visit us again whenever you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just here for the night, after vacationing in Lake George and looking for a place to stay close to activities in Western Massachusetts the next morning. We are also IHG members, and they greeted us with a cold bottle of water at check-in which was appreciated.

Coming from the west (Mass Pike), there are no exits for 30 miles so the Westfield exit is quite welcome, as is this hotel. It is somewhat isolated, but for our purposes this did not matter as we left the next morning.

The room was clean and nice sized (2 queens and a comfy sofa bed) with 2 TVs. Our kids used the pool and had a good time, although they reported that the water was warm. My wife used the exercise room. While the hotel is next to the Mass Pike, we heard no highway noise and slept well in the very comfortable beds.

Breakfast selection was ample enough for our limited purposes. Internet connection was excellent.

It's tough to justify spending more than a night or two here, as there's not all that much to do. But it worked well for our purposes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your most recent stay. It was wonderful to hear that your family had enjoyed our overall services as well as some of the other ammenities that our hotel offers such as our indoor heated pool. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our 2 nd stay at this hotel and we had just an amazing room. Very spacious and good furniture and accoutrements. A little disappointed with the selection at breakfast but that certainly didn't cause any issue with our stay. Very convenient to large shopping centre which is also a big plus.

Room Tip: We had 2 queen beds and a couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Welcome back to our property and thank you so much for taking time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to see that you had enjoyed the room ammenities offered in your suite. We take a great deal of pride in our overall services, to provide great hotels that guests love! We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm actually still in the hotel as I write this, so I suppose things could go downhill from here, but so far this hotel was a great place to spend the night. Smells clean and definitely not smoky, a huge plus when travelling with asthmatics. I'm travelling with my 4 kids, ages 4-17 and we have one of the double bed "suites" . Which is code for room that has slightly separated desk /couch area and also a chair, and some padded benches to sit on/set stuff on, microwave bar fridge etc. It has enough room for all of us to sleep, and to actually be in the room for more than a few minutes, which is refreshing, and a relief, because nothing with two bedrooms, (which we normally book) was available. Room is clean, sheets smell clean and fresh without overwhelming bleach aroma, bathroom clean and shiny, front desk had chilled water to give out, overall very pleased. The only downside, and why the review is a 4 not a 5, is that the pool's ph or something is a little off, making it a bit murky, but hey, it happens, and the water was so warm, the kids didn't really care. Pool area had two large bathrooms in it, which is something some hotels don't have. Haven't tried the breakfast yet, as my kids are still sleeping. YAY! We do a lot of road trips with the kids, and I would definitely stay at this location again, I'm a really light sleeper and even I managed to get some rest!

Room Tip: We are facing the front of hotel, and I could hear the highway, but distantly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with some feedback regarding your most recent stay. It was fantastic to hear that you and your family had enjoyed the room ammenities as well as a swim in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to having you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

2 most important things we look for in a hotel...CLEAN and DOES NOT SMELL. If you want a good nights sleep then pack your bags and stay at this Holiday Inn Express. We are more than willing to drive out of the way for a clean hotel but luckily it's right off the Ma. Pike! We even used the shower (most times I wait until I get home because hotel showers scare me). No leftover hair in the corners, no mold, the bed was comfortable, the sheets smelled clean and the breakfast was just right. We were also welcomed by a very friendly and funny employee at check in. Don't be scared....just book your room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay. It was wonderful to hear that you had enjoyed your room as well as the hotel's ammenities! We take a great deal of pride in the product and services we offer our guests so it is a pleasure to hear that we had met or even exceeded your expectations. We hope to have you visit us again when you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield

Address: 39 Southampton Road, Westfield, MA 01085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Westfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Westfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westfield, Massachusetts Hotel Convenient to the Mass Turnpike The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Westfield, MA nestled in the foothills of the Berkshires, offers easy access to I-90 and is just a short drive from the city of Springfield and Bradley International Airport (BDL). The 100% non smoking Holiday Inn Express & Suites is just minutes from the Basketball Hall of Fame, Six Flags New England and Blandford Ski Area, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Westfieldis perfect for families or individuals who are looking for lodging in Westfield. A short drive will bring you to the Quadrangle in Springfield, home to a variety of museums. For those who love to shop, we are also close to Holyoke Mall. Conveniently located near Atlas Copco, Mestek and General Dynamics as well as Noble Hospital, Amelia Park and Westfield State College. Our Westfield, MA hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in Westfield. We can host your next event in our meeting room and help you stay connected with our free high-speed Internet access. While lodging in Westfield, MA take the time to enjoy a swim in the heated indoor pool or work out in the fitness center. You can eat well every morning at our free Express Start hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Westfield hotel deals and book your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Westfield
Holiday Inn Express Westfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Westfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.