We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fantastic stay at the Tidewater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Inn

Save Saved
You added Tidewater Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“another fantastic stay at the Tidewater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

we've been coming to the Tidewater for years, and have never had a bad experience. The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food in the Diner is delicious! We travel to the Cape yearly for Figure Skating competitions, and will always stay at the Tidewater. Last year, I brought friends down for the competition, and they were so impressed with the staff that they went back to the Tidewater for their own vacation a few weeks later.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    114
    54
    27
    16
See reviews for
101
112
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband and I with our 12 y.o. stayed at Tidewater 3rd week of July. We had booked a room on the second floor overlooking the Lewis Bay. - Interior corridors and quick access to Helen's Diner, snack / pop machines, indoor pool and the microwave. Our room was large and clean, always at a perfect temperature. The bathroom, tiny but clean. The sink is outside the bathroom with marble countertop. We made use of the coffee maker provided and it was great having a mini-fridge as well as access to the microwave on the 1st floor and the chairs on our balcony to dry our beach towels. We had breakfast at Helen's Diner every morning since we got the breakfast package, let me tell you, every single dish we had was delicious! Our days started off good because of the good breakfast we had served with a smile. The front desk staffs, Voula, Lisa and Charles all are courteous and very helpful. On the rainy days we were at the indoor pool, clean and spacious just like the outdoor pool which also had good music playing. Guests had access to game boards, foosball and ping-pong in the main building - great to have for rainy day. The grounds were pretty and well maintained. I was able to see my daughter and friends children play at the outdoor swing set and play area from my balcony. There was a large field which also had grill, picnic table and loungers. One day we took dinner out ad enjoyed it and the tables placed outside the diner surrounded by flowers overlooking the bay. There's an area set up to play horseshoes. We were able to easily reach several beaches, the Mall and Hyannis from the hotel and many good restaurants and mini-golf vary close by. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Tidewater it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly. The room was pretty basic. Everything was a bit dated, but in the case of the shower, this was a good thing. The shower head was not one of those newer low-flow water saving devices typical in new construction. The water volume was huge. Helen's Diner was good for breakfast and reasonably priced except for the juice which came in something not much larger than a shot glass. The outdoor pool was clean (did not use the indoor pool.) The only blemish on the stay was the curt response we got from the front desk Sunday when my wife called and asked about local Catholic Mass. The woman seemed annoyed by the question. She gave us a number for a church in Hyannis, but it was a wrong number.
This aside, it was a pleasant stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for simple accommodations at a budget price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord nh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This place stinks! Right when we opened the door the smell was awful. As I went further into the room it got worse. I swear the shower head was the "before" head from the CLR commercial. There is ZERO light in the shower. Sand all over the bathroom floor. The carpet was covered with stains. The bed spread looked like it hadn't been washed in months. The bed was very uncomfortable. Toilet didnt flush. AC and fridge barely worked. 19" TV????? Come on! I did not see any bugs. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but left after 1 night. We paid 120 for the night. I know thats low for the cape but I still expect certain minimum standards to be met.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed here with girlfriends for a Womens weekend, and it was great! They gave us a discount for the rooms, becasue we had a large group. They were very nice when we arrived and made sure what ever we need was there. The rooms were clean, and inviting! Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I just stayed at this inn with my girlfriend and I was pleasantly surprised. I booked the "Manager's Special" right off thier website for $119 and didn't know what to expect. The rooms are fairly small with retro design, but are very clean with a strong air conditioner and mini fridge. I was really impressed with the lot. It has a well maintained outdoor pool, as well as an indoor pool. In the back there's a large field to either toss a football or frisbee around and it has a spot set up to play horseshoes. The yard includes a couple of swingsets and a small playground station for kids.
The best part of our stay was the retro 50's style dinner with great service and great breakfast food. I would stay there agian in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Ma.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Having spent many times at the Tidewater it is always nice to return. Clean rooms child safety and fun for all. Thank You again and looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools, hot tub, 50's style breakfast diner. Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with waterviews. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.