We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Inn

Save Saved
You added Tidewater Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quick night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

As always great staff We arrived early and they where able to find us a clean.ready room .Wonderful breakfast at Helen's. Great staff, reasonable prices for food. Definitely have the breakfast potatoes Comfortable beds, Rooms are basic but great location for other Cape fun times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad to have you back. While our property is older and a bit dated, we do strive to offer comfortable clean rooms at reasonable prices that people can afford. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    114
    54
    27
    16
See reviews for
101
112
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been going to the Cape for 30 years and have stayed at the Tidewater several times. This year you can see they no longer take care for the grounds or interior and how run down the place has become. The hallways were not vaccumed the whole week we where there, the weeds growing were horrible. We had to clean our balcony of cob webs just so we can sit outside.
Bottles left outside never picked up. All flower boxed emply-empty flower pots on balcony.

I understand the economy has taken a hit but clean is clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. While the Tidewater is an older property, we do strive to offer clean comfortable rooms at an affordable price. Being a gardener, I make sure our gardens are well taken care of and weeded. I have hired someone whose main job is to maintain the gardens and clean the exterior. We chose not fill the hanging flower boxes in the front this year since with the heat the plants don't last past July. The pots on the balconies and patios are filled with sand and used as an ashtray not for flowers. Also the carpets in the lobby and hallways in the back building were replace this year and we are trying hard to upgrade as possible.

I do apologize for the debris on your balcony. These should be cleaned daily and at check out. We do clean the lights and cobwebs frequently, but being in nature a cobweb can form in one day. We appreciate it when our customers call us with any problems so that we can resolve the issue before they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I spent the last 3 nights at this hotel with my daughter and I want to say that it was a great trip. The staff at this hotel could not be any friendlier or accomodating during our stay. The establishment was very clean although the decor was a little dated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you Ingrid for your review. We'd love to have you and your daughter back at the Tidewater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went for a couple get away back in May 2012 and loved every minute of it. I had never been to the cape before so this was my first time and loved everything about it. The hotel was in a great location and th room was very clean. The only thing is that in the hallway, we knew some one was smoking and it was a bothersome to us. My husband had just quit smoking and we had to deal with that in a nonsmoking hotel. There is an area for you to smoke, just wish some people would follow the rules. But everything else was great. Loved the 50's diner they had, just didnt have time to go eat in there. we overslept. great place for kids also since they have a playground for them. the price is awesome also. don't over look this place when visiting the cape.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week, great location, literally minutes to walk to several nice beaches and good places to eat. Yes, decor is not the latest, but the place is clean and staff is very accommodating, which made the experience trouble free. We crashed for the night and didn't experience all the conveniences, from what we did, pool is very clean, nice family playground and like I said, the staff has been most helpful. If you are looking for a bargain in West Yarmouth, it would be hard to beat this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope you can come back and have time to enjoy our picnic area and pools.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here last week (Monday-Friday) with my husband, and was overall very pleased with our experience. We had informed them when we made the booking that we had just gotten married, and when we arrived, they had upgraded us to a nicer room in the back building overlooking the water, as a 'gift'! Yes, the rooms and facilities are a bit dated, but we found our room and bed to be perfectly comfortable, the balcony very nice to sit and relax on at the end of the day, and everything was in working order; absolutely perfect for what we needed: a place to sleep. Besides, how much time does one spend in their room anyway?! We had breakfast each morning downstairs at Helen's, which had a range of standard diner options, averaging around $10-$15/day for the two of us (without tax/tip). The location is fantastic right on Rte. 28, very close to Hyannis Main Street (5 minute drive), and easy access to get everywhere else.

Only reason I deducted points here was because although the place seemed very clean for the most part, there was a previously used half drunk cup on our balcony (along with a ton of cigarette butts and beer caps in the 'bucket' on the table out there), none of which was ever cleaned up. Also, there was someone else's hairs still on the shower curtain/wall which I wasn't too pleased with. To be fair, we never complained about these things, but we kept thinking it would be taken care of whenever the cleaners came each day.

On the whole great value for the money, and would definitely recommend it, and would stay here again if ever on the Cape. Positives far outweigh any minor negatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building, you won't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The inn is very dated. We were in the back building that was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, I was surprised that the room had a refrigerator. I was disappointed as the hot tub was not working. The staff was pleasant. The inn is convenient to beaches, restaurants, and attractions. I wasn't overly thrilled with the bathroom. Our room had a table and two chairs,that was a plus. The furniture on the patio was really dirty. I wasn't overly impressed with the outside or indoor pool. For the price it was OK for a weekend. Disappointed that we had to use a regular key to get into the room, and we were only given one key. Inn is like staying somewhere back in the sixties or seventies. First time I used bookings.com pictures are very deceiving.

Room Tip: Stay in the back building less noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. While our property is older we do offer a clean affordable option for those traveling to the Cape and a old fashioned Cape Cod experience. We have updated quite a few things such as new carpeting and bedding in the back building. While we do have real keys, we will give the guest two sets if they ask. The patio plastic chairs are cleaned regularly but do become stained with frequent use. I do apologize if yours were not cleaned. If a guest notifies us of a problem, we do try to resolve it immediately so that they don't leave dissatisfied. Thank you again for your review. We hope you can give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools, hot tub, 50's style breakfast diner. Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with waterviews. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.