We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the Cape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Inn

Save Saved
You added Tidewater Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on the Cape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Tidewater Inn on March 9-12, 2013 and just returned home. The facilities were immaculate and the room seemed to be recently renovated. It had a large king size bed with a waterview and balcony and is on the second floor. There was a brand new bathroom and sink with granite top, cable TV and free WiFi. The bed had brand new soft white comfortor so is much better than pictured on website. We enjoyed the seating area for a quick breakfast in the room. We used the hot tub/jacuzzi that was in the pool area and it was one of the best with strong jets that hit you in all areas of your body..........warm and wonderfuol. The pool was large and had stairs for the 3 ft area and moved up to 9 feet. Safe for the kids as there is a rope separtating the 3 foot area from the rest of the pool. I love to swim but like my water on the warmer side and this was perfect. As far as location, it was set in West Yarmouth which is a quick ride to Chatham lighthouse and not a bad ride to Provincetown. We went all over cape cod with our bikes and found many bike paths there. I highly recommend this motel as it is priced well, the staff was great and the room very inviting. It also offers free tea or coffee in the lobby which was nice. We were not able to go to Helen's Diner that is right on site as it is only open on the weekend, but it had great breakfast/lunch prices listed and the atmosphere looked great. We also suggest that you go to O'Sheas which is near by for dinner with music on a Sunday and Wednesday. We had breakfast at the Keltic Kitchen which provided an amazing assortment of breakfast dishes at a reasonable price, with some exotic choices and big quantities. We will go back!

Room Tip: for couples room 090 since it has a waterview.......also rooms 86/88/92 etc. Nice picnic table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Tidewater. My favorite rooms are also the waterview rooms. While they do cost a little more, they are most recently renovated and offer a beautiful and peaceful view of Mill Pond. If you're an early riser, you can also see some amazing sunsets. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you at the Tidewater again when you're visiting the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    115
    54
    28
    16
See reviews for
102
113
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Motel was clean as a whistle, including rooms and common areas. Beds were comfy. Room was quiet. Very convenient location. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to you becoming one of our "regulars".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed at Tidewater Inn numerous times while taking care of family business over the past few years and I have been consistently pleased with the quality of this hotel. Voula and other staff members are always extremely welcoming and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the rates are reasonable. “Helen’s,” decorated as a 50’s diner, is open for breakfast on weekends only during the winter months (everyday in season), and offers a good and reasonably priced breakfast, with friendly service. Tidewater Inn is conveniently located near Hyannis and is a short drive from route 6. There are some excellent restaurants nearby, as well as some pretty beaches within minutes of the hotel. Tidewater Inn seems to be quite poplular with families. There is an attractive indoor swimming pool and a nice playground in a grassy area behind the hotel, and away from the parking lot.

Room Tip: I especially like the rooms on the second floor of the “back” building with a balcony and a pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We love our "regulars" and have many families who come year after year. Evien though the Tidewater is an older property, we strive to keep it immaculate and to provide our guests with customer service so that their stay will be comfortable while they enjoy Cape Cod. Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was surprisingly well maintained for a primarily seasonal spot. I am from the cape and am always looking to support the local businesses. Voula was very sweet and even considered our reason for visiting (running the Hyannis marathon) when assigning us a room farther away from a family with youngsters. AND she offered a late checkout without extra cost or even my prompting. I'd say that is true customer service! Will return on a less rainy weekend :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We truly value our customers' opinions and comments and use them to make improvements. The marathon weekend was truly miserable weather wise. Hope to see you when we have more sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

In a nut shell, the hotel is good for the price. It was totally adequate for my needs. I was traveling alone and just needed one night stay. My room was clean and quiet which was all I was after. Everything in the room worked (the TV, frig, shower, etc) and I had no issues with anything. I did not spend time out on the balcony because the weather was bad so I can't comment on that, but it looked okay. The hot tub was very enjoyable, clean, and all of that. No issues there. Same goes for the indoor pool. I had breakfast in the morning, and again, the service was fine and the meal--for the price---was good.

The people running the front office were nice and helpful too.

Looking at some of the other recent posts, maybe I got lucky with my room, not sure, but I was fine with everything and I am picky traveler. Maybe some people are used to the Four Seasons and were disappointed. These people are clearly not familiar with the Cape and the "economic tides", shall we say. The place is older, yes, but the owners still make the Inn a good place to stay--for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and understanding the Cape Cod experience. The Tidewater is an older hotel but are constantly making improvements and strive to offer clean comfortable rooms at an affordable price for families. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 days/2 nights and found this hotel through this website! Check-in was easy and quick. There was plenty of (free) parking, and you could park right outside of your room.

The room itself was bigger than expected, but it was your typical hotel room. We stayed on a first-floor room which had a sliding door to the parking lot, which was convenient, but sketchy because it was open when we arrived. A plus was the mini-fridge/freezer in the room!

The bathroom was relatively nice, but blue, which made it seem dirty and old. It was your typical hotel bathroom, except the sink was separate from the toilet and shower, which was nice!

The property was alright, but seemed old and in-need of an update. There were two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor, but we stayed away because they weren't that clean. There was a playground, which seemed newer. There was also a diner, which seemed alright, but again, old.

The best part about our stay was the location! It was close to all of the stores in Barnstable (the next town over), close the ferries in Hyannis, and down the street from the beaches.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, unless you want to sleep on some rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sorry you weren't very happy with your accommodations. While we do have two pools, only the indoor was open during the winter of course. The outdoor pool was dirty because it was not open. Our indoor pool is spotless, however and gets cleaned and tested 4 times per day. We also offer a variety of pillows and have both soft and hard pillows depending on our guests needs. A guest only needs to call the office to request pillows or notify us of any problems. Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an unexpected, extended stay at Tidewater over the holidays into the New Year. Voula and Mike, the husband and wife owners and the staff (Charles and Lisa on the desk and Marlene in housekeeping) were more accommodating, helpful and concerned for our comfort, than other more upscale hotels we've stayed at during our most recent travels. The rooms are spotless, the diner is fun, the view of the marsh is uplifting and ever changing. Voula told us of a great beach walk to take! These are real people who care about service. This is more important to us than most anything else. We were deeply Appreciative of all the kindness and attention to detail we received at the Tidewater. (Would Love to return in the warmer months!) This is a Great Value! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a marshside view - if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Christine. It was a pleasure getting to know you during your stay at the Tidewater. Our guests are great! Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools, hot tub, 50's style breakfast diner. Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with waterviews. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.