We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price and location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Dawn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Dawn Motel to your Saves list
Castle Dawn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   226 Main St, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK for the price and location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our room was OK, room and beds were clean ( except I had to advise them to vaccuum behind the bathroom door). There was a microwave and fridge in the room and I always like it when a bathroom has an exhaust fan which it did. Bathroom door lock and fixtures need replacing as they were broken. Complimentary breakfast was nothing exciting (white bread bagels :() at all. Motel was far enough from the main road so it was quiet. We didn't try the pool but we saw it being cleaned in the morning and a few people were already taking a dip. Many people who wrote reviews often talk about the rooms smelling of smoke. Ours didn't, but I don't understand why hotels and motels in the US still give this "smoking option" to travellers. ALL HOTEL/MOTEL ROOMS SHOULD BE NON-SMOKING as all buildings in any North American city already are. Smoke smell is so insidious it hangs around and wafts to other rooms, even non-smoking rooms, no one is spared. I will immediately insist on another room if I were put in a room that smells of cigarettes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My fwife and I ran down to the cape for a last minute Sat night stay/pool/cocktails/dinner/early beach getaway. We typically would expect to spend 199 for a decent resort room with no reservation during very high season Saturday night...but decided to save a buck and try one of the no frills 119/night motels along route 28 in Yarmouth...hellooo Castle Dawn!

The lady behind the counter was very courteous. The room was clean but dated. There was some rust - not mold - in the ceiling frame above the tub. The room was fine and the A/C was quite and cold.

The pool was great! The free coffee was fine! The location was super! The towels were rough. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and neat. The microwave and fridge were clean and did not smell.

I would stay here again and would recommend to my mother.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wixomhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This motel was fine to stay in - reasonable priced clean room.

Service was friendly and there was a limited breakfast included.

Happy to recommend.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The room was dark, so can't really see the detail of cleanness, guess that's there strategy.
The guests are very ghetto.
With this price $89/night (+tax), I guess this is what should be expected.
But the surprise is bed bugs!
All of us waking up with new bites overnight. We always have sun screen and bug repellent on, until after shower which is right before bed. I have about 20 bites!
I went to the front and told the lady, and she claimed that she never had any complains about bed bugs. NOW YOU DO!
That's the only thing that we didn't expect and the only thing that we really don't like about this place. But this is a BIG issue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dull M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Marlborough, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We checked in and of course we didn’t see the room before hand and they had a no refund policy. They charged us 139/per night and the room smelled of mold and the bathtub was about to fall into the floor the wall paper was peeling off the walls and under it was putrid mold!!!! We complained and they wouldn’t give us another room because they were booked and wouldn’t refund our money! TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE WE DECIDED TO SLEEP THERE AND WENT TO PUT OUR OWN SHEETS ON THE BED AND FOUND AN OPEN CONDOM WRAPPER UNDER THE SHEETS! THIS IS AN AWFUL PLACE TO STAY AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO MY WORST ENEMY!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay there you will get sick from the mold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenifer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Quick check-in. Beware though, they don't take American Express, you'll need another card or cash. Room was typical of this kind of motel. Two full sized beds, microwave, cube fridge, hair dryer, iron & board. Bed was OK. Cleanliness was pretty good until the last morning (stayed 3 nights). I was brushing my teeth and this beetle fell from above somewhere and went behind the ice bucket. I finished brushing & went to retrieve the bug and found a big dangly feather earring. Not mine. That means the counter wasn't completely wiped down for who knows how long??? They also have locals who live here. Not the most savory bunch but I didn't have any problems with them. Nice pool area. Would be better with more pool furniture that isn't broken.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The owners r very rude.we had to buy our own toilet paper and they never changed our towels so we just got our own.the rroms r disgusting,the toilet didnt flush and ants were everywhere and when i went to work one day my neighbor had told me the owner was in my room snoopin.no hospitality what so ever.ive never stayd at a place this bad

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikinik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yarmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cove at Yarmouth
The Cove at Yarmouth
#4 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cape Cod Family Resort
Cape Cod Family Resort
#5 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#6 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod
Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Co...
#11 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dawn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dawn Motel

Address: 226 Main St, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Dawn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Dawn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dawn Hotel West Yarmouth
Castle Dawn Motel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing