We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price and location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Dawn Motel

Castle Dawn Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castle Dawn Motel to your Saves list
Castle Dawn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   226 Main St, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK for the price and location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our room was OK, room and beds were clean ( except I had to advise them to vaccuum behind the bathroom door). There was a microwave and fridge in the room and I always like it when a bathroom has an exhaust fan which it did. Bathroom door lock and fixtures need replacing as they were broken. Complimentary breakfast was nothing exciting (white bread bagels :() at all. Motel was far enough from the main road so it was quiet. We didn't try the pool but we saw it being cleaned in the morning and a few people were already taking a dip. Many people who wrote reviews often talk about the rooms smelling of smoke. Ours didn't, but I don't understand why hotels and motels in the US still give this "smoking option" to travellers. ALL HOTEL/MOTEL ROOMS SHOULD BE NON-SMOKING as all buildings in any North American city already are. Smoke smell is so insidious it hangs around and wafts to other rooms, even non-smoking rooms, no one is spared. I will immediately insist on another room if I were put in a room that smells of cigarettes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    9
    9
See reviews for
9
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My fwife and I ran down to the cape for a last minute Sat night stay/pool/cocktails/dinner/early beach getaway. We typically would expect to spend 199 for a decent resort room with no reservation during very high season Saturday night...but decided to save a buck and try one of the no frills 119/night motels along route 28 in Yarmouth...hellooo Castle Dawn!

The lady behind the counter was very courteous. The room was clean but dated. There was some rust - not mold - in the ceiling frame above the tub. The room was fine and the A/C was quite and cold.

The pool was great! The free coffee was fine! The location was super! The towels were rough. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and neat. The microwave and fridge were clean and did not smell.

I would stay here again and would recommend to my mother.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This motel was fine to stay in - reasonable priced clean room.

Service was friendly and there was a limited breakfast included.

Happy to recommend.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The room was dark, so can't really see the detail of cleanness, guess that's there strategy.
The guests are very ghetto.
With this price $89/night (+tax), I guess this is what should be expected.
But the surprise is bed bugs!
All of us waking up with new bites overnight. We always have sun screen and bug repellent on, until after shower which is right before bed. I have about 20 bites!
I went to the front and told the lady, and she claimed that she never had any complains about bed bugs. NOW YOU DO!
That's the only thing that we didn't expect and the only thing that we really don't like about this place. But this is a BIG issue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, MA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We checked in and of course we didn’t see the room before hand and they had a no refund policy. They charged us 139/per night and the room smelled of mold and the bathtub was about to fall into the floor the wall paper was peeling off the walls and under it was putrid mold!!!! We complained and they wouldn’t give us another room because they were booked and wouldn’t refund our money! TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE WE DECIDED TO SLEEP THERE AND WENT TO PUT OUR OWN SHEETS ON THE BED AND FOUND AN OPEN CONDOM WRAPPER UNDER THE SHEETS! THIS IS AN AWFUL PLACE TO STAY AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO MY WORST ENEMY!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay there you will get sick from the mold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

Quick check-in. Beware though, they don't take American Express, you'll need another card or cash. Room was typical of this kind of motel. Two full sized beds, microwave, cube fridge, hair dryer, iron & board. Bed was OK. Cleanliness was pretty good until the last morning (stayed 3 nights). I was brushing my teeth and this beetle fell from above somewhere and went behind the ice bucket. I finished brushing & went to retrieve the bug and found a big dangly feather earring. Not mine. That means the counter wasn't completely wiped down for who knows how long??? They also have locals who live here. Not the most savory bunch but I didn't have any problems with them. Nice pool area. Would be better with more pool furniture that isn't broken.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

The owners r very rude.we had to buy our own toilet paper and they never changed our towels so we just got our own.the rroms r disgusting,the toilet didnt flush and ants were everywhere and when i went to work one day my neighbor had told me the owner was in my room snoopin.no hospitality what so ever.ive never stayd at a place this bad

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Dawn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dawn Motel

Address: 226 Main St, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Dawn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle Dawn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dawn Hotel West Yarmouth
Castle Dawn Motel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Dawn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.