We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but good food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giardino's Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giardino's Family Restaurant
242 Main St, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4659
(508) 775-0333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 33 Restaurants in West Yarmouth
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Yarmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have passed Giardino's restaurant a million times and decided to try it. The hostess, who was lovely and from the Czech Republic, knew we didn't want to sit in the noisy bar area so she seated us in the backroom where it was nice and quiet. The waitress came right over brought us water and took our order. We had the prime rib, I was pleasantly surprised..it was tender, hot and delicious. The green beans were cooked perfectly. So you never know what a restaurant is like until you try it. We are glad we did!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    20
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Might be a good place for a drink, but not dinner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stopped in for dinner while on vacation. The place was right out of the 70's. Not sure when the last time they updated the decor was, but it couldn't have been anytime recently. The seating was squishy - the booths were not that comfortable because the table is large - just be aware that if you have issues around feeling closed in, ask for a table.

The service was good, no complaints.

The food was ok. I ordered the stuffed sole and it came with mashed and broccoli. There was an odd after taste to the broccoli and the sauce that was on the fish. The mashed potatoes were also very dry.

My daughter wanted noodles and butter. She asked for penne and because the penne is not on the kids menu, were were charged $9.00 for a small plate of plain pasta. Give me a break,.

Pretty sure next time we are on the cape we will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Tasting Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Despite the slightly delapataded regulars and the somewhat socially challenged waitresses, the food was delicious! Had a Mexican pizza and a Caesar Salad, and they were both delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My fish and chips were good. But my husband had baked fish, was only ok, vegetables were overcooked and not looking so good. Kid had raviolis, portion was way too small, only four pieces. Place is noisy, Was ok, could return, could not..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springield
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have eaten here every year for the past 20 years. Over the past few years you could see a difference in food and service. This year was the worst. The server seemed disinterested in us but we observed her talking it up with the locals. The food was blah. My wife loves the stuffed quahog here and would always have me do takeout during our trip to get some. This year they were blah. No taste like it was missing something. I had the steak tips and they tasted like they were marinated in a ketchup? The kids had the burgers which they said happily "tastes like McDoanlds. Too many other places to eat. Let the locals have this one.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giardino's Family Restaurant also viewed

West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Giardino's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giardino's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.