We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to do and overpriced when it rains : (” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Harbor on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Green Harbor on the Ocean to your Saves list
Green Harbor on the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   182 Baxter Avenue, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct!
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not much to do and overpriced when it rains : (”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just got back from a 2-night stay at the Green Harbor. The pluses: the property is very beautiful and well maintained. There is a playground on the beach, mini-golf, and a nice heated outdoor pool. I was impressed by the brand new quality and selection of the kitchen utensils in our kitchenette, you could tell that the owners take a lot of pride and care in maintaining the units. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.
The cons: we were there for 3 days/ 2 nights and the weather was awful. The property is not comfortable at all when it is rainy/ chilly. The room felt damp the whole entire time, and we were packed in our room like sardines with not much to do. We couldn't go boating, as they did not loan out the paddles due to high wind. We couldn't go biking, because we were freezing. We ventured on the beach a few times, and my son managed to swim in the pool for 2 hours one day before it started raining. There was supposed to be a magician visiting as part of their entertainment and my son was very excited about it, but he never showed up. It was a disappointing trip considering we paid $300 a night. Since it is so expensive and the Cape apparently can have pretty unpleasant weather, even in July, it would be nice if they had an indoor playroom for kids so you aren't holed up in a small damp little room with your kids in bad weather.

Room Tip: Cape Codder for 2 was OK, a bit small but functional for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
First, let me thank you for the positive comments that you shared concerning your visit to Green Harbor. We do have one, two and three bedroom suites and cottages for rent, which would solve that crowded feeling. We did have an unusual bout of cloudy, drizzly weather the
end of June and the first two days of July. When you stay at one Red Jacket resort, you can use the amenities at all the rest. I don't know if you stopped by the office for "rainy day options." The summer program runs from the last week in June thru the last week in August. There is a sample of activities on-line. Our three oceanfront resorts in South Yarmouth can move their kids camp activities indoors on rainy days. Green Harbor is not zoned to build an indoor facility. With this new information, we hope you'll give us another try ! Janice and the GH staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    36
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, NJ
Top Contributor
743 reviews 743 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
2,331 helpful votes 2,331 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a three day stay here. We were very impressed with the resort.

This property was one of the cleanest ones that we have ever stayed in, which is not easy to do do considering it is on the beach.

The staff are some of the friendliest and most helpful people we have seen in any hotel. I have to mention Janice who was very helpful planning a side trip we made to Provincetown. She got out a map and marked it up for us, even indicating the location of a speed trap. It was above and beyond what we expected and Janice shows that she really cares about her guests.

Here are the some other pros and cons:
Pros
We stayed in an efficiency which had a very good kitchen. Although the kitchen was small, we had no problems preparing our meals. It was very well stocked with utensils.
The property has a heated pool which came in handy, because it was cloudy on the days we were there.
The property was very quiet. We did not notice or hear any of our neighbors at night.

Cons
The Wi-Fi was spotty at best. After a while I gave up and used my cell if I needed to check anything on the web.
The tv is an older CRT, non flat screen., All though there were about 70 channels available, there were no premium channels such as HBO.

Overall this was a great stay. This was our first trip to cape cod, and staying here left a very favorable impression of the cape. We would not hesitate to recommend this and stay here again.
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
The "team" at Green Harbor appreciates your positive fedback since we all work together to
maintain the resort qualities that you enjoyed. The Cape Codder for 2 that you were in is the next and last on the list for the flat screen upgrades. The wireless server always responds to our complaint if a guest reports the slow service while they are in house. We are open until Columbus Day this year and it is still warm enough then for a ride with the top down (-: Thanks again. Janice and the Green Harbor staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice condo style efficiency. It looked very clean but smelled very musty. The property is beautiful. It would have been nice if they had a convenience store on premises with the basics bc we were only there for a weekend and could have used a couple of basic items. The beach was beautiful and lots of beach chairs and sun beds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The housekeepers do an excellent job at cleaning the houses, but sometimes, as was this spring, the abundance of damp rainy days does more than dampen everyone's spirits. We have a few items for sale at the front desk, but
town laws prohibit us from selling certain items. There are several convenience stores less than a mile away. If you are here for a longer stay, Stop&Shop PeaPod will deliver right to your door ! Thank you again for chhosong Green Harbor. Janice and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our 15th annual visit to this Cape paradise was beautiful. The place is ALWAYS clean and well manicured. Unbelievable beauty, Super friendly staff and themost pleasant view on the Cape. The Green Harbor is THE PLACE for YOU!!! We will be BACK! Thank you Dick, Eugenie and Janice for another spectacular vacation

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular, it depends on how many people in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We enjoy our seeing our long time guests as much as they enjoy coming to Green Harbor.
We appreciate your loyalty and kind comments. See you next spring, from the entire Green Harbor staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've been staying at Green Harbor for a week every summer for the last 15 years. We started going when our kids were 5 & 3 and even at 20 and 18 they still want to go back every year. The hosts are wonderful - the grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean and they are always available to help with any issues. Beach, pool, mini-golf, shuffle board, bikes, boats, BBQ's - anything you want they have (even S'mores kits!). It's a lovely spot - close to Hyannis and all that Rte. 28 has to offer, but quiet and off the main drag. If you're looking for a family destination where you all get to relax and the kids can have freedom in a safe environment, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Green Harbor - which we refer to as our "quiet cottage community" - has always prided itself in just the sort of service to its guests that you describe. Many of our guests return year after year. We thank you for your previous stays and kind remarks. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Enjoyed a girls weekend trip to the Cape recently and stayed at the Green harbor Beautiful location , awesome staff and very comfortable rooms . Front desk staff was very helpful at letting us know of must see spots on the Cape and reffering restaurants and Bars !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
A getaway with friends can be a welcome break. Our houses, with kitchens, livingrooms and separate bedrooms, is an option above staying in a crowded motel room. Give us a call the next time "the girls" need a week-end away ! Janice @ GHR front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I recently stayed here May 22-24, and had a great experience here. The cottage was perfect for our size family, plenty of room to roam about, very nice and clean rooms, perfect location to get anywhere on the Cape! Defintitely looking to coming back here again. Can't beat the location or the price. Staff was extrememly helpful and very friendly too. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
"We'll be back ! " is the most used phrase at check-out time. The variety of houses, suites and
cottages, means that there's something for everyone. Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Address: 182 Baxter Avenue, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 53 units ranging from one-room efficiencies to four bedroom single family homes accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable family adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no public restaurant facilities on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis’ popular Main Street. With its spacious cottages and Cape Cod villas, Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, fun clowns, fishing derbie and magic shows. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Harbor on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.