We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Top Shelf in Cape Cod---Housekeeping without the "keeping"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Harbor on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Green Harbor on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Green Harbor on the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   182 Baxter Avenue, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top of the Top Shelf in Cape Cod---Housekeeping without the "keeping"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Not too much to add from the other great reviews. Great location...minutes from Yarmouth restaurants and Hyannis Main St and the ferry dock (skip Nantucket though, unless you're in the mood to be punished!!!). Beautiful location right on Lewis Bay....you can see the ocean from the pool and beach. Beautiful units with full kitchens and all amenities...INCLUDING DAILY HOUSEKEEPING IF YOU WANT IT!!!!! Wow!!!! We were in one of the 1 BR waterfront units (Admiralty Suites). Living room, kitchen, and BR/full bath upstairs...1/2 bath downstairs. Our unit had 2 chairs and a Murphy Bed in the living room....no couch. I don't know about the others. Beautiful deck with table and chairs and loungers and steps down to the grass and the Weber Kettle grill. Furnished nicely. BR and full bath are large. Big enough to put an air mattress on the floor if you needed it. Right next to the free miniature golf, and the pool, and steps from the manicured beach. Beach has free chairs and umbrellas and picnic tables. also has free games and free bike use and plenty of ice. We went mid-September....weather was acceptable, but the price was sure right. The grounds were beautifully manicured and exceptionally clean. (There was actually an outdoor reception there the day before we arrived). If you want to be on the water and have a full kitchen unit, there is no better place to stay in this area. A bonus is you get use of all the other Red Jacket Resorts properties. We're heading to Wellfleet/Provincetown the next time we come....but if we ever go back to Yarmouth, we'll stay at Green Harbor exclusively.

Room Tip: Unit 50 is next to the edge of the property....a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am sorry for the delayed response. We closed for the season on October 8th. I just dropped by the office to pick up some paperwork and saw your "glowing" review pending on the computer. On a cold-Cape Cod -almost-winter-day, it was nice to be brought back to what the warm days are like here at Green Harbor. Thank you for your picture perfect description. If anyone asks you what you want for Christmas.... we do offer gift certificates ( hint-hint ). Merry Christmas and hope to see you in 2013. Janice and the staff at Green Harbor. 11-30-2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was a really sweet place. The staff was kind, the pool was warm and it was conveniently located next to a small sandy beach with a little playground. The grounds were nicely maintained and we appreciated the ability to bring all our meals and relax in our townhouse. We went with a young child and liked being able to put him to bed and then sit down in the living room area (it was a bit drizzly) and play games. We'll definitely return, and maybe next time we'll bring our friends! Also, although the (free) bikes weren't in the best shape they were perfectly fine for a quick jaunt out. I wish we planned to stay longer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Happy to read that the drizzly weather did not dampen your vacation experience. The "horse-shoe" shape of the property makes the beach and pool and other amenities just a short walk. The equipped kitchens allow you to enjoy a home cooked or a take-home meal, rather than waiting in long lines at restaurants. The bikes have been well ridden and repaired all season, but a new fleet will be in place for the start of the 2013 season. We hope to see you then! Janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just made our first trip to the Cape and had no idea where to stay. I needed a place to accomodate my family and my mother-in-law. Two seperate hotel rooms were just not an option. After searching the internet for lodging options and reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we selected Green Harbor. From the time we arrived, we were thrilled! We had a two bedroom suite (number 73) that overlooks the beach and water with great views. Two balconies, full kitchen, sitting area, two full baths. We could watch the kids on the play area and beach from our room or balcony. The resort is spotless and the staff is always around keeping the areas organized and clean. Staff was very friendly and a great source of information about the area. Each morning we were on the beach combing for sea shells and finding crabs to show the kids. The resort has canoes, rowboats, bikes, beach chairs..all for the guest's complimentary use. They even have a kids camp in the morning and a miniature golf course. You can't go wrong with this place. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for unit 73 if you want the best water front view. You can see the sunrise and sunset, panoramic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Don't you love it when your doubt turns into a pleasant surprise ? Our goal at Green Harbor is to create a relaxing atmosphere so that you return home feeling like you had a restful vacation. Thank you for your positive feedback, and we look forward to seeing you in 2013. Janice and the staff at Green Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I just returned from a weekend stay at Green Harbor. A few friends and I had a relaxing getaway there in one of the 3-bedroom cottages. The view from our deck was spectacular and we could have sat out there for hours.

The best things about the resort are the staff, the accomodations, and the "extras". The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful - from booking, to check-in, to check-out. The cottage was clean and well-appointed. I had thought we were supposed to have a dishwasher, but alas, our cottage did not have one. Not a big deal really. The "extras" in the way of beach chairs, lots of towels, bikes for borrowing, etc. were a plus. They are not stingy here with stuff like that. Plenty of soap, plenty of clean towels, etc. It was nice to not have to request those things like you often have to do at many hotels.

It was a bit pricey, but for what you get, I understand why. I typically prefer the outer cape over this mid-cape location, but I would definitely return to Green Harbor and may also consider bringing my family next year as it is very family-friendly as well.

Room Tip: Cottage 21 is very nice. A little farther from the beach/pool, but very quiet and a great view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Our variety of accommodations offer "something for everyone." Multi-bedrooms for groups to share the house and the price, or attached cottages for multi-generational families to be close, yet be able to sleep in their "own place." Efficiency studios are also available for those who want a "get away from it all" stay. We appreciate feedback from our guests so that we can continue to improve our amenities. Thank you for sharing. Janice @ GH front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband's folks began coming here before he was born, nearly 57 years ago and they came almost every year. We have come every year that we could , due to living far away. A lot has changed in the property buildings in the years but one thing has not, the beauty, the quiet, the clean and quaint accommodations and the wonderful staff! When we stay here we are amazed that we could just sit out all day and just enjoy the fabulous view. When we venture away to explore our other favorite places to eat and visit we are always anxious to get back to this resort. Everyone that comes here seems so family orientated. There are lots of family reunions held here as we have done for years. It is a fun and safe place for people of all ages. Everything you need is here and more. Prices are very reasonable off season. It may seem pricey during the in season, but you are right on the ocean and the property is maintained I think better than any resort I have been to. Just about the same staff is there to great you every year and they get to know you and your family. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else except for one Inn on King's Highway maybe for a night or two. Nothing in my opinion compares to Green Harbor. The only problem is that once you stay here you don't want to leave. Some of my best memories with my family are here. Hope not much will ever change here. Love you Green Harbor!

Room Tip: Townhouses closest to the beach are my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Generations of families have vacationed here at Green Harbor. The managers have been here for forty-one years, and 100% of the staff returns every Spring. The number of repeat guests makes each check-in feel like a family reunion. Thank you for your loyalty and your positive comments, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cape Cod. Janice and the GH staff !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to Green Harbor in 2 years. We loved it last year and really enjoyed our stay again this summer. The resort is perfect for our family with elementary-aged children. The private beach is small and located in a bay which keeps the waters calm (no big waves here). There is a playground on the beach and a 9-hole mini-golf course on property. The pool was clean, warm, and never overly crowded. My kids enjoyed the free bicycles and the kids camp program. We especially liked the full kitchen in our well-kept, clean suite, in which we cooked all our meals. Supermarkets and fish stores are conveniently located. The resort is also near to several Cape Cod tourist sites and family-fun attractions.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Our Green Harbor family is happy to hear that your family enjoyed your recent vacation ! See you again in 2013 (-: Janice and the Green Harbor staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What can I say, other than as first timers to GH, we will return! We used trip advisor for the first time to reserve our family vacation to the Cape, and wasn't sure how we should interpret some of the reviews. Especially when terms like "Cape Cod luxury" are used. We didn't know what to actually expect. Even some of the site pictures do not do justice to the manicured well maintained site and buildings. So we arrived with guarded expectations and was pleasantly surprise! Most all the recent positive reviews are accurate, and even some of the nit-picking negatives are spot on. As a frequent traveler there are many items that can ruin a trip, especially a family vacation, and this property isn't one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am happy to hear that your vacation at Green Harbor exceeded your expectaions. Pictures and words are a good guideline, but nothing beats the actual Green Harbor experience! Thank you for taking time to share. Janice @ GHR front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA
Address: 182 Baxter Avenue, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 53 units ranging from one-room efficiencies to four bedroom single family homes accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable family adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no public restaurant facilities on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis’ popular Main Street. With its spacious cottages and Cape Cod villas, Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, fun clowns, fishing derbie and magic shows. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Harbor on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.