We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
Thunderbird Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   216 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Brooklyn, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

i'm sure that there are many other motels in the general area that are worse, but they cost much less. i paid $100 total and this is what i got:

1) i stood in the lobby for around 8mins before someone finally came out to check me in.

2) the room smelled like mold. we had thought that maybe it was just the fan/AC, so we turned it off and opened the window. thought this would go away when we came back a few hours later. it did nothing; all night the room smelled horribly of mold.

3) the window had no screen. so either you want your room open to the outside, or you want it to be stifling inside. we had to keep all our belongings in the car because we wanted to air out the room but didn't want someone to be able to get in our room (the area is not too nice).

4) the bathroom door opened IN. the bathroom was essentially a closet. could barely close the door since there was no space to close it.

5) chipped paint on the walls. crappy painting job on the bathroom door. obviously this didn't significantly impact my stay as it is only aesthetic but it kind of shows how much effort they are putting in to this place.

6) pillow covers did not look clean - and when i woke up i had a few zits on the side of my face that was on the pillow.

7) the cover sheet and top sheet, when we got there were DAMP. i still don't know why, but slept in the bed with pants, socks and a full shirt on because i was so grossed out.

if i had paid $50 or $60 for this room i would have no complaints. the room was $90. it is not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
17
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been staying here for almost one week with my husband and 2 daughters. The staff has been very helpful and friendly. They are kind people who have been more than good to us for our entire stay. The housekeepers are friendly and good at their jobs..excellent service. The pool is nice and warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was surprised by the facilities the hotel provided...Rooms had coffee maker, iron, hair dryer....Excellent rooms, clean swimming pools, continental breakfast on weekends...it is worth it.go for it...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

It was basic, but nice and clean, near everything in Hyannis. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The kids enjoyed the pool which was very clean, and the free breakfast was a plus. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make your reservation straight from the hotel, and you can save some $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

very good rate, very clean rooms, the house keeping quality was awesome. just minutes away from hyannis and rt 6, if u have happen to pass by and need a place to stay u should definitely consider this option

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I decided to take a last minute weekend trip to Nantucket because the New England weather was nice (for once) on a weekend. It also happened to be the second to last week of August, so everyone else had the same idea because there was not much vacancy at all near Hyannis. I checked out a lot of the other places actually near downtown Hyannis and most were either booked up (understandably) or the nearby chain hotels were charging insanely high prices ($400 for a 3 star Courtyard by Marriott). I went with the Thunderbird because the rooms seemed the most modern looking out of any of the other budget hotels in the area based on the photos.

There was one in Hyannis that was another option for around the same price but the pictures of that place looked terrible, so I decided to drive a bit further in the morning. We didn't spend much time in the room because we were on the Cape and things were hopping on a Friday night. You can easily make it to the Steamship Authority or Hy-Line ferries to Marthas Vineyard or Nantucket in the morning in about 10 - 20 minutes. It's only about 3 miles away from the hotel but there are so many stoplights, it could take you that long to get there even in no traffic! It's also nice to be so close to Hyannis at night because there is quite a nightlife on main street. West Yarmouth is not a bad area to stay in because there are plenty of little t-shirt shops, a small Christmas Tree shop, mini-golf and liquor stores nearby.

The rooms are clean ... a bit dated, but they do have fresh modern paint. I've stayed at worse Holiday Inn hotels before than the rooms here. Don't expect a Courtyard by Marriott but at the same time there is really nothing wrong with the rooms. I will say that the underside of the comforter was stained with brown stuff, so we took it right off the bed. The old/worn comforters need to go. The bed was springy but comfortable and the air conditioning took a bit to work but kept the room very chilly, which was nice.

I didn't notice any horrible smells in the room like some of the other reviews mentioned. We got a smoking room because that is all that was left but I bearly noticed the smell of smoke. Perhaps the first floor rooms are more mildewy because they are on the ground floor?

Nobody told us about the free breakfast. It would have been nice to know about ... points off for that. Although at a rate of $120 per night when other similar two star motels were charging double that, I can't complain too much about them trying to save money by not advertising the breakfast.

This is not a place I would stay in unless I was stuck in terms of everywhere else being sold out. If this place was $120 and the Holiday Inn or Courtyard by Marriott were $200 ... I think I'd go with the chain hotel for the extra price. However, given the fact that the Courtyard was charging $400 per night and the Holiday Inn was $280 and I've stayed at both places and they weren't all that special ... I didn't mind the mild sketchiness and dated rooms at the Thunderbird.

One thing I have to say is that the landscaping leaves a lot to be desired. The place feels cold and depressing and looks more like a storage facility than a hotel. There is no warmth at all in the tar parking lots, gravel pathways and army barracks looking buildings. But for the price ... it's a decent enough place to stay the night before taking a ferry. One of the best restaurants to try is Baxter's Fish and Chips/Baxter's Boat House which is right next to the ferry terminals. They have an awesome outdoor seating area with great views of the harbor and free parking. If you want to eat on the water, its a good place in Hyannis and only a 10-15 minute ride from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room was basic but nice and clean. We stayed there for 2 nights for a very good price. The hotel doesn't advertise a breakfast but you can get a basic breakfast with bagel, jam tee and coffee or orange juice. The location is ok when you have a car otherwise it is too far to get to the beach of any shop. We would stay there for another trip to cape cod again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 216 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel West Yarmouth
Travelodge West Yarmouth
Thunderbird Motel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.