We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   216 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
weare,nh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice weekend escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice motel for the price.The room was clean and management was pleasant and speedy to handle when a situation arose in our room with the bathroom.They promptly moved us to another room.If you and your family are on a budget don't hesitate to choose this motel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    12
    3
    10
See reviews for
15
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Thunderbird Motel in September & the experience was good. Its located on Rt 28 & very close to Hyannis port & about 17 miles to Falmouth port. Place was clean. Beds were little saggy. The night person at front desk "Nick" was very knowledgable & helpful with the directions, restaurants etc. He even helped us getting the rooms on the first level. They offered Continental b'fast which no one mentioned at the check in. We found out about it as it was wriiten on the phone (Free continental b'fast). B'fast was ok... bagels, muffins, donuts, cereals, caoffe, tea, juice.
It is a good place if you just want a place to sleep at night & the price was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Our room was reasonably priced, had new carpeting, smelled clean, and was conveniently located. Management was new and the front desk person was very friendly. If you're looking for a clean basic room on a budget, then this place is good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are better places to stay on the cape. Their free wireless was just great. I went to read my emails and received 4200 emails and 3500 spam emails. I am still dealing with the emails.
The pictures are very deceiving. The place is run down and dirty. The floor boards in our room by the sink were loose and covered over with carpet so you had to be careful not to trip.
The door and the room were spray painted the masking tape was still left on the handles and around the window frames. Not good. Our room wasn't cleaned and it was 2:30 in the afternoon.Left early. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Thunderstank, man. You just can't get over that Thunderstank.

Imagine the basement of your house, condo, apartment complex, whatever. Now multiply by two. Then raise that to the exponent of two, perhaps three, depending on how sensitive your nose is. Yeah, it's that bad.

And I'd really like to know where the water that was seeping into the bathroom in my room came from. Every time we mopped the floors with towels, the grayish water came back. Note that this was before we had even run the shower once. Gross.

Thankfully, we were only in the room to sleep, and the bed was actually reasonably comfortable, but there's no way I could have spent another day or two with that smell. You really can't blame this on the cleaning crew -- they certainly did the best they could with what they're given, but management needs to tear this place down and start over.

Spend the extra money and go elsewhere, especially if you're thinking of spending any significant time in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The grounds were completely unkempt and actually seemed very dumpy and a little intimidating. Like you were in a bad part of town, which was not the case. There was no parking on the side of the building where are room was and truthfully it was not convenient, the room was clean and whatever they used to deordorize the room was extremely strong but it was better than the smoke smell, so that was good since we booked a smoking room since my husband smokes.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean and good sized. but there was nothing remarkable aobut it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is possibly the worst place I've ever stayed! Granted we did book on short notice but the positive thing I can say is the rooms are large and bed was not horrible. It is rundown both inside and out and first rooms we were given reeked strongly of mold. We moved to new rooms which were slightly better but still very musty. Windows were bolted shut so no opportunity for fresh air and likely a fire hazard. The towels were dirty and I tried not to examine the bedding too carefully. No breakfast in sight. Person at check in was rude and housekeeping was very intrusive....rushing us to leave in the am even before official check out time. Thankfully we were only there 1 night and just to sleep. Would never recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 216 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel West Yarmouth
Travelodge West Yarmouth
Thunderbird Motel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.