We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Thunderstank” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
Thunderbird Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   216 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Travelodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Thunderstank”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Thunderstank, man. You just can't get over that Thunderstank.

Imagine the basement of your house, condo, apartment complex, whatever. Now multiply by two. Then raise that to the exponent of two, perhaps three, depending on how sensitive your nose is. Yeah, it's that bad.

And I'd really like to know where the water that was seeping into the bathroom in my room came from. Every time we mopped the floors with towels, the grayish water came back. Note that this was before we had even run the shower once. Gross.

Thankfully, we were only in the room to sleep, and the bed was actually reasonably comfortable, but there's no way I could have spent another day or two with that smell. You really can't blame this on the cleaning crew -- they certainly did the best they could with what they're given, but management needs to tear this place down and start over.

Spend the extra money and go elsewhere, especially if you're thinking of spending any significant time in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
17
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The grounds were completely unkempt and actually seemed very dumpy and a little intimidating. Like you were in a bad part of town, which was not the case. There was no parking on the side of the building where are room was and truthfully it was not convenient, the room was clean and whatever they used to deordorize the room was extremely strong but it was better than the smoke smell, so that was good since we booked a smoking room since my husband smokes.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean and good sized. but there was nothing remarkable aobut it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is possibly the worst place I've ever stayed! Granted we did book on short notice but the positive thing I can say is the rooms are large and bed was not horrible. It is rundown both inside and out and first rooms we were given reeked strongly of mold. We moved to new rooms which were slightly better but still very musty. Windows were bolted shut so no opportunity for fresh air and likely a fire hazard. The towels were dirty and I tried not to examine the bedding too carefully. No breakfast in sight. Person at check in was rude and housekeeping was very intrusive....rushing us to leave in the am even before official check out time. Thankfully we were only there 1 night and just to sleep. Would never recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are not looking to stay in a run down dump, then you should avoid this property at all cost. Pictures of the property are very mis-leading, this place is very run down inside and out. Plus you can stay at cheaper places right around this hotel for cheaper money and better accommodations. There is no outstanding value here !!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a very nice choice for the budget traveller. The rooms are fairly large and clean; there's a nice indoor pool and a very basic breakfast provided; the wireless internet worked well. The host is helpful with local suggestions. Its location in West Yarmouth is very convenient for exploring Hyannis or the rest of the Cape. I would return here, because for $75 a night (and that included the fee for having a pet) I don't see how you could possibly do better on a Memorial Day weekend. If you're looking to go to the Cape on a budget, this is the way to do it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for July 4th Weekend and It was a great stay for us!! thank you so much. We will be back soon.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We reserved a room here with only 6 days notice.Everything around was either fully booked or 2 night minimum stay.We arrived around 5 PM and there was one couple ahead of us.We were treated very politely when we were checking in.The sign out front said newly renovated rooms.On our way into the entrance of the motel,we were shocked when we saw the main door in;a white door that had no latch or lock,and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks.We opened it with our elbows.On to the room itself.We held our breath.Surprise---new carpeting,new linens,good size room,clean bathroom.The soaps,shampoos,etc. were all minimal,but adequate with no waste.The free Wi-Fi worked very well.The TV was quite old,no flat screen,but worked ok with a good selection of channels.We had a very quiet restful night.All in all,a budget no frills hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#8 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Town 'n Country Motor Lodge
Town 'n Country Motor Lodge
#14 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 216 Main Street, West Yarmouth, MA 02673 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel West Yarmouth
Travelodge West Yarmouth
Thunderbird Motel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.