We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mariner Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariner Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   573 Main Street (Route 28), West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$5 Tripadvisor discount
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in West Yarmouth
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

I signed up dockside hotel emailing list and got a discount coupon. For two-night stay (Sat-Sun), I averaged out $55 per night (including tax).

Though this hotel is old with out-of-date decoration, it is well kept and clean. Everything was very clean and in good shape. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were clean, too.

There were sliced muffins and coffee offered in the morning.

  • Liked — Indoor pool and jacuzzi.
  • Disliked — Dark decorated room.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    118
    45
    22
    10
See reviews for
136
85
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stayed at the Mariner Motor Lodge for one night in June. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we booked the Mariner for a one-night stay between a family birthday party and wedding we were attending on the Cape. Were expecting basic accommodations, and that is what we got. However, the rooms were very clean, staff friendly and helpful, and our stay was very good.

The hotel had both indoor and outdoor pools, and while we did not use either, they both looked nice. Location was great, right on 28 close to many restaurants and attractions. There is apparently a beach 1.3 miles away (we didn't go). The free mini golf course on the premises was also a nice touch, but we went to Pirates Cove down the street. (What's a trip to the cape without a little mini-golf?)

Rooms have A/C, mini-fridge, iron/ironing board...which all came in very handy. Bathroom was very small, but sink was outside the bathroom which is convenient for more than one person. Everything seemed spotless.

No complaints with the Mariner for a basic hotel in a great location.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, staff
  • Disliked — Couldn't get free WiFi to work
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Got a great two-night stay deal on Orbitz. Averaged out and including taxes, my Sat-Sun stay came to only $55 per night!
This hotel really has it all at a decent price. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were very large and clean. It is a bit cholorinated as another reviewer mentioned, so I don't recommend lounging there after you swim. If it's nice out, obviously can lounge outside like we did, even though the outdoor pool was too cool for us to go in as it was an overcast day. That outdoor pool looked very clean though. We had a ground floor room with a slider door, right across from pool so it was easy to just walk out from our room there.
There is tetherball, a playground, small arcade, grills, and picnic tables and a cute mini-golf course.
There were danishes and coffee offered in the morning-which is better than nothing, but would be nice if they had a more decent continental breakfast.
The rooms are basic--it is an older place, so don't expect some state of the art room. The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean and in good shape. Housekeeping was excellent-giving a new supply of towels and toiletries on our second day (I hate when they cheap out on those!) and never knocking to bother us.
Had a very clean mini-fridge, massage shower head, bathroom hot lamp, hairdryer, and iron. TV is on the smaller side-it got all the normal cable channels.
Plenty of restaurants and places you can walk to and it is conviently located to things. Molly's right next door isn't half bad-we ate there for lunch. And I agree with the reviewer who recommended the Pancake Man and the Lobster Boat---both very good. I have not stayed in other hotels in the Cape area so there could certainly be a better place and I cannot compare it to another-but I had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Liked — The pools.
  • Disliked — Not much for continental breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

My Mother, brother & sister-in-law and myself stayed at the Mariner Motor Lodge for a quick pre Mothers Day Get away. The rooms are basic, but clean and perfect for the short trip. The indoor pool and hot tub were a great way to relax. In back of the motel is a mini golf course and small play area. Being the mature adults we are(40ish) my brother and I couldn't resist the seesaw for old times sake. At least this time he didn't jump off and send me slamming into the ground!
Plenty of places to choose from to eat. We chose the Lobster Boat for dinner we were repeat customers from last year and they don't skimp on portions. They have the lightest batter I've ever had for fried seafood. Terrific!
There is alot to do in the area, from shopping, arcades, trampolines to several elaborate mini golf courses. We chose mini golf to work off out fried dinner. Boy did I feel bad for the couple behind us. They seemed to get a kick out of a bunch of middle aged adults trying to get the ball in the hole and laughing hysterically at our inepness.
The Pancake Man although a little pricey was a perfect choice for breakfast. As the name inplies they have many types of pancakes as well as Waffles, French Toast and the usual breakfast fare.
We are planning to go back to the Mariner for another quick weekend next year (or maybe sooner in the fall after tourist season).

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — hard beds but no worse than any other motel
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

I have stayed several times over the years at this motor lodge right on the main strip (Route 28) of Cape Cod. It had been quite a few years and very little has changed. The indoor pool is the highlight of this place, It is was nice during the cold winter days we visited. The rest of the hotel is in need of some updating. The rooms are very small and offer few amenities. The TV in the room is tiny, the bathroom is cramped, and the ceilings are very low. The staff was very friendly and helpful in providing local attraction information. The price is right anytime of year that you stay here but there are some better, more updated hotels with similar rates in the area.

  • Liked — friendly staff; indoor pool
  • Disliked — tiny rooms, outdated decor
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

I enjoyed my time at this place. The staff was real friendly and helpful. I loved their pool and how from 10 pm to 12 am no kids allowed. Breakfast was just slices of muffins and coffee. If they ran out of muffins, they had danish. The only bad thing was my bed. It was really uncomfortable. My moms was better. Even the pillows were bad, flat and hard. The location was great. It was minutes from Hyannis and route 6. The grounds and property were nicely kept. Plus, there is a tiny put put course to play.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights during the August heatwave. It was a good base for us to explore Cape Cod from. (Amazing whale watching from Barnstable.) Convenient for restaurants on 'the strip'. Plenty of parking, nice grounds. Used the indoor pool as there were a number of youngsters playing around the outdoor pool (not a problem, just not what I wanted)- no problem with chlorine. Staff fine. Rooms okay, ours smelt a little musty, but they're currently replacing the carpets which will probably eradicate it. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariner Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Lodge

Address: 573 Main Street (Route 28), West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mariner Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motor Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motor Lodge West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.