We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Green Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hunters Green Motel to your Saves list
Hunters Green Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   553 Main St. (Rte. 28), West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Season Special
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Probably would never stay here again. Rugs were stained and the bathroom had mold around the bathtub. The location was great, close to beaches and plenty of restaurants. We had stayed here a few years ago and found it very acceptable. The new management seems to be letting this get rundown.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
32
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during our visit to Cape Cod. This hotel is cheap and good for a bargain traveler. We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we were out and about most of the day, so it did the job for us in terms of having a place to sleep for the night. Can't rave about it as it's on the older side, but it's decent for the price. It was more or less clean. It's also in a good location right in the center of Cape Cod.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Hunters Green In July. This hotel exceeded our expectations. It was clean, quiet, staff was nice, good pool. No smell in rooms which we were afraid of. Highly recommend for any budget traveler. Location is great also, close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Husband and I just came home from a mini Cape getaway. Hunter's Green Motel is reasonable and very clean. After I booked my reservations I was a little nervous after reading some of the July reviews. We got checked in by a very friendly blond girl and went to our King room. Very clean, maids are very helpful and courteous. Room was made up every day, so when we got back from breakfast it was done. They serve coffee in the morning and afternoon which I thought was a nice touch. Muffins, but you have to be fast, lol, but we go out to breakfast so it wasn't a problem at all. The pool is well maintained and heated, very enjoyable and plenty of towels for all. This property was just bought I was told in March. I think they are doing a good job and are very personable. I will go there again.

Room Tip: We like a king room on the first level. Just our personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

At $75/night during a high season weekend in the Cape, this motel is a very good deal. As many people have said, this hotel is dated, but our room is very clean. The A/C works properly, the mini fridge is clean and cold, the lights are adequate, the TV is old CRT-style (but we didn't use it), and there is adequate closet and drawer space for all your belongings. The bed is a bit firm but my sleep was comfortable. The big gripe is that there doesn't seem to be much sound insulation. You can hear people taking shower, flushing toilet, and walking on top of you. Ear plugs are necessary for late and light sleepers. Motel is very conveniently located off Rt 28 (and thus you can hear fire and police sirens at night) and within 5 minutes of Dunkin' Donuts, CVS, fast food, etc. We live here in Massachusetts and have stayed at several inexpensive motels at the Cape, and this is one of the best ones for the money.

Room Tip: There are no elevator so choose a ground floor room away from the street if you have a lot of luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay at the Hunters Green Motel was motivated by a need to find a cheap-ish place to crash for a quick night in the high season of summer before heading on to Nantucket. If you find yourself in similar circumstances and in need of a budget motel, then this is a perfectly acceptable choice for you, but if you want any other frills, I might suggest looking elsewhere.

We recently made a trip to Nantucket and given that we'd be arriving in to Cape Cod just before midnight on a Thursday night, we decided to book one night in a hotel/motel close to where the ferry departed so we could get the first ferry in the morning. We opted for the Hunters Green Motel because it was the cheapest available option we could find in the Hyannis/West Yarmouth area with only 2-3 weeks' notice ($88 total for a Thursday night) and we knew we wouldn't be doing anything more than crashing before departing again (indeed, less than seven hours elapsed between our check in and check out).

I cannot speak to the amenities on offer by the hotel or even really say what the hotel looks like in broad daylight, but what we did see was enough for me to know that it's a very standard motel. I probably wouldn't recommend this location for a longer stay, unless you're in the situation where you're traveling with pets, as I bet your options are limited and I know this motel does have pet-friendly rooms. It was supremely easy to park and check-in. The host was quite nice and efficient, pointing out our room through the window. When my significant other went back about twenty minutes later to ask for insider tips on the morning ferry, the fellow was quite knowledgeable and helpful.

We stayed in the first floor room that was closest to the pool, which accounts for the chlorine smell, but the dampness in the room and in the carpeting was entirely due to the mini-fridge that had been dethawed and turned off, presumably to leak a bit. I kept my shoes on at all times while walking about anywhere in the room. The bed was incredibly firm and large but seemed clean, if not cozy. The bathroom was divided so the sink and mirror were tucked behind a partition but always open to the room while the shower/bath and toilet were in a separate, tiny space with a door that closed but had a strip of the faux wood paneling that had ripped away. The word "institutional" comes to mind. Not the best impression, but at least the bath, strip of plastic shower curtain, toilet, and sink appeared clean. Towels were small and scratchy but clean. Overall, these are budget motel rooms that could use updating.

Here's the thing -- we needed this room for a quick evening stop before moving on and this was easy to find, felt safe, and was relatively cheap. It's a motel and so it's what you'd expect, with slightly better hospitality. These rooms aren't meant for charming getaways; they're meant to be a place you sleep while spending your days elsewhere. It delivered on everything we needed, even if the dampness in the room was a definite negative. If we did this trip again in the exact same fashion, I'd be fine staying here again, though I'd probably check around other places to see if anything else was available for a comparable price. And we'd still make a point of checking out early for that first ferry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

you have to question negative reviews as we were just there and our room was clean and well appointed for a value rated motel. We arrived and the office guys were very courteous and helpful as I has misread the payment email. WiFi is strong in and around the office. The pool is a perfect size and very clean with plenty of towels. Coffee in the morning was strong, good and complimentary. Super value in the heart of the cape.

Room Tip: All rooms are walking distance to pool and RT 28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunters Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Green Motel

Address: 553 Main St. (Rte. 28), West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunters Green Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hunters Green Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Green Hotel West Yarmouth
Hunters Green Motel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Green Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.