We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Point Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Point Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   476 Main Street, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Yarmouth
CT
1 review
“BAD experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

I am not one to complain but I had such a bad experience at the cape point that I feel compelled to tell others about it. I grew up in Yarmouth and my family and I always recommended the cape point to visiting family members and friends over the years b/c it is convenient, affordable, clean and has a pool. Since moving to CT 8 years ago, I stayed there several times/year. Up until this past weekend, I had not stayed there in 3 years and I was very disappointed with the entire experience. The sheets on the beds had not been changed (they were covered in HAIR, gross!) so I called the front desk and someone did come to change the sheets. I called TWICE for more towels and they never arrived. The ceiling in the bathroom had a large amount of MOLD on it. Finally, I could not sleep b/c the air conditioning/heating unit in the room was making a horrible noise ALL night. It also had a block on it so that we couldn't change the temperature. I will not stay there again and I will be sure to tell all of my friends and family members to stay somewhere else in the future. It's a shame, the cape point is really going down hill.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    113
    48
    47
    25
See reviews for
137
97
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We are not a picky family. We are seasoned budget travellers (wife and 2 very small children). I suppose this facility is exactly what you pay for, but there were a few things that really bothered me about the place:
1. Security doors totally unlocked 24/7
2. Surly unhelpful teenage front desk staff. The surliness is part of being a teen, but unhelpful?
3. The noxious septic aroma in the parking lot
4. The fact that our key card expired every day and we had to bring it to the front desk to get recharged, which was such a huge inconvenience to them! (see 2. above...)

The rooms were okay, not unclean or anything, just time-worn and extremely outdated. Our kids loved the pool, but they like anything that holds water. I'd look around on the cape for other lodging, but honestly, the general quality of hotels for budget travellers is all pretty much the same. They all get 1 star!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

At first glance the hotel looked good but soon realized it's in need of repair and updating. The pros: easy access to pool, good sized rooms and of course the location and excellent breakfast. The cons: Bathrooms have no sink in them, peeling kick boards, poor flushing toilets, (clogged every day), very loud fans in the ac/heater units, thin walls, and the front desk greeting was cold, not that it was a big deal but you want to feel welcomed, the pool area was dirty, tables not wiped clean and the saunas are falling apart, nails coming through boards ect, I would only stay there again if I had no other choice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroon and loud heater
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after Thanksgiving. The staff was not very friendly...I didn't see anyone smile when we checked in. There was a strict policy about towels for the pool. The DVD player didn't work, the light/fan in the bathroom roared, the bathroom needed some repairs, the sink counter was falling apart, there were chips on the floor so I know that the room wasn't vacuumed really well after the people who stayed before us. The beds were comfortable and it was very quiet so it wasn't a terrrible experience, but I think I'd look for another place next time.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick , Ma.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

Hotel was great neat and Clean the pool and whrilpool were great. The servers was excellent and friendly. The cafe food was excellent and the help was great too. The rooms were very good clean and well maintained. Will have been stay there again and again for the past 12 yesrs we just love the Cape Point Hotel.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Stayed four nights at this hotel during a trip to Cape Cod. We've booked it through Orbitz, so got a pretty good price deal. The hotel is conveniently located on route 28, so driving to other towns across the Cape was easy. The hotel itself is fine for the price, with clean linens and clean bathrooms. There is a safe in the room for valuables. The hotel staff is courteous and helpful in general. We had no complaint at all, and it was a comfortable stay. At the Cape, you really are looking for safe and comfortable lodging after a long day of the great outdoors. From that point of view, this hotel met our expectation. However, if you are "Hilton and Mariott hotel people", then nothing much around there will be good enough for you unless you can afford it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

I just came back from a weekend at this hotel and needless to say , I was not impressed.The hotel was just dirty. The room was ok, but the bathroom was just dirty and moldy. The hallways smelled like mold and something that just didn't seem pleasant. The mattress seemed to be very old and worn and we could hear the people next to us yelling at each other at night. For the money we spent on the room, it could have been a little bit cleaner and updated. I'd prefer to stay at the Bayside or Holiday Inn in Hyannis. Ok to stay if you don't plan on hanging out in the room alot....
Parking there wasn't good either... if you left the place, you had to fight with others to try to get a space to park upon your return!!

  • Liked — location was good
  • Disliked — dirty and not updated
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Address: 476 Main Street, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.