We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VOILA! VINEYARD AFFORDABILITY AND HOSPITALITY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard

Save Saved
You added Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown-West Tisbury Road 525, P.O.Box 3158, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02575   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“VOILA! VINEYARD AFFORDABILITY AND HOSPITALITY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am flexible when I travel, and I am not to the point of needing 5 Star accomodations. Never in the places I stay, usually, for long, anyway. Love this place! Yummy pancakes in A.M., brewed coffee, served with love by the charming Danielle, comfy and clean beds and showers, the downstairs women's baths sporting Impressionist paintings (sorta) made by local children. Who needs the Ritz?
Innkeeper Donny and hubby provide a welcoming reception bar none and are fonts of info about the Island. Bus stop right across the street to take you wherever you wish, more or less.
Feel immediately at home here, although I have only a night or two before my fishing boat returns to Montauk. Still, I feel as if I have family on this lovely Island once I walk in the door of this woodsy outpost. Always something to read at the voluminous lending library in the lounge area; fireplace, also, though I don't know if it works...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I loved the hostel and my time on Martha's Vineyard. It is beautiful. However, I contracted Lyme Disease from a tick bite that I got while biking between the hostel and Edgartown during my stay there. At the time I didn't think anything of the bite, and only realized when I got severe symptons (headaches, neck stiffness, paralysis on the left side of my face) several weeks later. There is a warning sign in one of the bathroom that I overlooked, but please make sure to listen and take it seriously. In retrospect, I would have covered myself with insect spray, inspected my body every day for any sort of bite, and gone to the hospital and the first sign of any symptoms. Please be careful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here from July 22 to the 24, and had a great time. We rented a private room for 2, which had a fan in the window, bunk beds, and a little nightstand. The rooms were small, but we were really only there to change and sleep, so they did the trick. The beds aren't super comfortable, but they work just fine.

The staff was great, and very helpful. You can buy food or bus passes at the front desk. While far away from the beaches/tourist attractions, there is a bus stop literally across the street. We had also rented bikes for our stay in Martha's Vineyard, and it's about an hour ride to get to a beach.

We didn't use the kitchen to cook, but we did partake in the delicious pancakes they offered every morning. They also have tea and coffee available. There was a great common room with a lot of books and a free computer.

I definitely recommend this place for anyone who wants to go to Martha's Vineyard and save some money. It has everything you need for a great stay. We're already thinking of staying here next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is one of my most positive youth hostel stays. Staff were great, really want to help you enjoy your stay and visit the island. great source of information. The hostel is 7 miles out of Edgartown, accessible by a bus once an hour till 10pm. With a little planning you can really get around the island by bus and bike. I choose the breakfast option of instant oatmeal, but pancakes were available. Bathrooms clean and spacious. Beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights during the memorial weekend on 26 and 27 may. There are 12 beds to a room but you never feel crowded or suffocated because the room is super spacious! The staffs are also friendly and helpful in giving suggestions on where to go. There is a busstop right infront of the hostel. The bus system in Martha's Vineyard is excellent even though you can't find it on google map lol. The bus drivers will ask you for your destinations and radio ahead if you need to make a connection so that you don't miss the bus. There's free breakfast at the hostel and as someone mentioned, 'it's like IHOP, but better!'

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff were sooo friendly, and the breakfast pancakes were amazing. It's a youth hostel so it was never going to be anything fancy - but it was perfect for what we needed and I would happily have stayed longer. The only downside is that it's a little way removed from everywhere else of the Island - and although it can be reached by public transport, even with our car it was a little bit of a trek over there at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned with my Girl Scout troop to the MV Hostel. It was perfect for our trip. Clean rooms, wonderful hosts (Donnie and Mike), great breakfast included, and we had good weather to boot! We've been to the Nantucket hostel and this one is much better - probably since it was designed originally to be a hostel instead of conversion from another type of structure.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to come home to after a busy day sightseeing and visiting the beach, this is it. You can't beat the prices for a place to stay on Martha's Vineyard. Like all hostels, it's shared bathrooms (but immaculate). There are separate bunk rooms for both women and men, and several 'family' rooms. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure you pay attention to the bus routes and times - they are EXACTLY on time and leave to/from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard

Address: Edgartown-West Tisbury Road 525, P.O.Box 3158, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02575
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > West Tisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in West Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World class beaches, biking trails, art galleries, and a variety of preservation lands are among the island's many attractions. Favorite destinations include the Aquinnah Clay Cliffs, Chappaquiddick Island, the Menemsha Fishing Village, and the Gingerbread houses of Oak Bluffs. Famous for its beauty and diverse geographical landscape, visitors to the Vineyard quickly become enchanted by "the land beyond the sea beyond the land." Centrally locate on the isle of Cape Cod, our hostel remains in the 1950's architectural style it was constructed in, as the country's first youth hostel, over four decades ago. This is in keeping with the quiet, traditional atmosphere on the island. Attractions include local crafts and galleries but the real magic of Cape Cod lies in it's relaxing ambience. The Island of Martha's Vineyard has long been a favorite destination for exploration and recreation. World class beaches, biking trails, art galleries, and a variety of preservation lands are among the island's many attractions. Favorite destinations include the Aquinnah Clay Cliffs, Chappaquiddick Island, the Menemsha Fishing Village, and the Gingerbread houses of Oak Bluffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard West Tisbury, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.