We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and save” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard

Save Saved
You added Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown-West Tisbury Road 525, P.O.Box 3158, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02575   |  
Hotel amenities
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and save”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here from July 22 to the 24, and had a great time. We rented a private room for 2, which had a fan in the window, bunk beds, and a little nightstand. The rooms were small, but we were really only there to change and sleep, so they did the trick. The beds aren't super comfortable, but they work just fine.

The staff was great, and very helpful. You can buy food or bus passes at the front desk. While far away from the beaches/tourist attractions, there is a bus stop literally across the street. We had also rented bikes for our stay in Martha's Vineyard, and it's about an hour ride to get to a beach.

We didn't use the kitchen to cook, but we did partake in the delicious pancakes they offered every morning. They also have tea and coffee available. There was a great common room with a lot of books and a free computer.

I definitely recommend this place for anyone who wants to go to Martha's Vineyard and save some money. It has everything you need for a great stay. We're already thinking of staying here next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is one of my most positive youth hostel stays. Staff were great, really want to help you enjoy your stay and visit the island. great source of information. The hostel is 7 miles out of Edgartown, accessible by a bus once an hour till 10pm. With a little planning you can really get around the island by bus and bike. I choose the breakfast option of instant oatmeal, but pancakes were available. Bathrooms clean and spacious. Beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights during the memorial weekend on 26 and 27 may. There are 12 beds to a room but you never feel crowded or suffocated because the room is super spacious! The staffs are also friendly and helpful in giving suggestions on where to go. There is a busstop right infront of the hostel. The bus system in Martha's Vineyard is excellent even though you can't find it on google map lol. The bus drivers will ask you for your destinations and radio ahead if you need to make a connection so that you don't miss the bus. There's free breakfast at the hostel and as someone mentioned, 'it's like IHOP, but better!'

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff were sooo friendly, and the breakfast pancakes were amazing. It's a youth hostel so it was never going to be anything fancy - but it was perfect for what we needed and I would happily have stayed longer. The only downside is that it's a little way removed from everywhere else of the Island - and although it can be reached by public transport, even with our car it was a little bit of a trek over there at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned with my Girl Scout troop to the MV Hostel. It was perfect for our trip. Clean rooms, wonderful hosts (Donnie and Mike), great breakfast included, and we had good weather to boot! We've been to the Nantucket hostel and this one is much better - probably since it was designed originally to be a hostel instead of conversion from another type of structure.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to come home to after a busy day sightseeing and visiting the beach, this is it. You can't beat the prices for a place to stay on Martha's Vineyard. Like all hostels, it's shared bathrooms (but immaculate). There are separate bunk rooms for both women and men, and several 'family' rooms. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure you pay attention to the bus routes and times - they are EXACTLY on time and leave to/from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our first time staying in a hostel & therefore I was a little apprehensive, however upon arriving, I was greeted with the biggest & warmest smile by the owner/operator there. I knew immediately our stay would be enjoyable. For nearly $35 a night, we got the comfort of peace, the tranquility of nature, the smell of fresh air, a FULL healthy breakfast, a nice comfortable bed, clean sheets, very clean bathrooms, and SO MUCH MORE! We needed directions in and out of town via the bus route and Donnie (the owner) went out of her way to assist us, and upon leaving, I lost my fone and Donnie stopped what she was doing to help me find it (successfully). It was SUCH an awesome stay and so worth the money! I will definitely choose this place to stay over spending hundreds of dollars to stay elsewhere. The only down side is it's not "in town" so you'll need to either have a car or know the bus route to get in/out of town--however it's still worth it! I will be returning!!!!!

Room Tip: You don't really choose your room; it's chosen for you but they are all pretty much the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked a place at this HI and it didn't disappoint. The beds were comfy, breakfast was tasty, the bathrooms clean and lounge was excellent.

Nice hammocks to lounge in and plan days, helpful staff that gave wonderful tips on places to sea.

A great hostel. The only thing that could be marked down is it's location. It is a bit far from the main towns but the buses were frequent so this wasn't a massive problem

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard

Address: Edgartown-West Tisbury Road 525, P.O.Box 3158, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02575
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > West Tisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in West Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World class beaches, biking trails, art galleries, and a variety of preservation lands are among the island's many attractions. Favorite destinations include the Aquinnah Clay Cliffs, Chappaquiddick Island, the Menemsha Fishing Village, and the Gingerbread houses of Oak Bluffs. Famous for its beauty and diverse geographical landscape, visitors to the Vineyard quickly become enchanted by "the land beyond the sea beyond the land." Centrally locate on the isle of Cape Cod, our hostel remains in the 1950's architectural style it was constructed in, as the country's first youth hostel, over four decades ago. This is in keeping with the quiet, traditional atmosphere on the island. Attractions include local crafts and galleries but the real magic of Cape Cod lies in it's relaxing ambience. The Island of Martha's Vineyard has long been a favorite destination for exploration and recreation. World class beaches, biking trails, art galleries, and a variety of preservation lands are among the island's many attractions. Favorite destinations include the Aquinnah Clay Cliffs, Chappaquiddick Island, the Menemsha Fishing Village, and the Gingerbread houses of Oak Bluffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard West Tisbury, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.