We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 decor & service; last place for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lambert's Cove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Tisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lambert's Cove Inn
Off Lambert's Cove Road, 90 Manaquayak Road, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 West Tisbury B&B and Inns
Greenwich, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“#1 decor & service; last place for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

This place is the most beautiful inn on the island. This is based on traveling here every summer for 15 years. My husband and I eloped this week and wanted something romantic. LCI is ranked #1 for weddings and #1 for romance on the island for good reason. If we were not eloping and planning a wedding, this is THE perfect place.

PROS:
- This place IS the definition of attention to detail. We stayed in the Mystic and moved to the Charlotte due to room availability. There was plenty of places to store all the crap you bring and crap you buy on the island in both rooms. They have mini toiletries in bathrooms and full size available for sale for longer stays.
- The staff is the friendliest, non-pretentious group who will bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant (except the chef who cooks great but is a total unbending foodie). The owners should give the rest of the innkeepers on the island a lesson on grace, manner and style. The general manager, Andy, is a hero; he can solve any dillema or at least is willing to try. No one here is some foreign exchange student working the summer or some local teenager whose only there to collect a paycheck like in the bigger hotels. Now I worked as an attorney at two large law firms in NYC so I have a high threshold... let's just say LCI met and beat my expectations on service.
- The grounds are manicured to perfection. My husband works on golf courses and he was actually impressed (which is not an easy feat).
- There is a public computer and printer with access to the internet if you need to do work.
- There is plenty of parking.
- You do not need to lock your doors here, except if you see other guests you don't think you can trust.
- All rooms have a TV/DVD combo (though small) and they allow you to borrow DVD's at the front desk.

CONS:
- This place is in the middle of no where. The driveway itself is a mile long. Then there's another 200 yds from the end of the driveway to the semi-private beach. The closest food source (restaurant or market) is a good 2 miles away, so bring some snacks back if you tend to get the munchies.
- The pool and jacuzzi close at 5:30pm, so if you have a sore back from a long day of biking, parasailing or jetskiing, make sure you have a tub in your room (note, the tubs are low and small).

TIPS:
- Rent/arrive with a car or moped or you will starve or go broke. Closest food spot is 2 miles away and the restaurant books fast. One steak dinner and one scallop dinner (no appetizers), two diet cokes and two iced teas (no dessert) with tip cost about $105.
- The chef does not accomodate changes to his menu, so if you don't like what you see don't bother eating here. My husband is diabetic and the chef would not take butterscotch sauce off the poundcake dessert we wanted for our wedding cake. To me, that's a real *sshole move. Apparently if you don't have the sauce, the poundcake tastes dry and stale. He's diabetic for goodness sake! and why are they serving stale poundcake in the first place?
- Invest in a foam cooler if you can find one - the front desk provides unlimited ice but closes around 10 or 11pm (depending on the night). A cooler is better than storing drinks with ice in your sink. Also buy six packs of soda at the store since the inn charges $1 each which can add-up....
- The best room, in my opinion, is the Winchester. It has a full bath tub as well as a private deck. It's also huge.
- Go to Cronig's market down the street rather than going to the Stop & Shop in Edgartown for groceries. Prices are better and their shelves are not wiped out by tourists with kids on an hourly basis. Also, the S&S is miles away and there's always 10 minutes of traffic at the enterance.
- It gets dark at 8pm, so plan ahead and try to have dinner before then so you don't have to drive the dark and winding roads.
- Nearby quick eats that are edible include the minigolf's grill (FANTASTIC hot dogs) and Black Dog bakery/cafe. Louie's Italian is overpriced ketchup on noodles.
- Get to know the bus lines. Saves money and there's a stop right at the Lambert's beach enterance.

Hope this helps!

  • Liked — The owners, general manager, staff and service.
  • Disliked — The chef's unwillingness to accomodate a diabetic on his wedding night.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Proprietor at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2008
Our estate is romantic and secluded and about a a twelve minute drive from Vineyard Haven. Our restaurant is a fine dining establishment and we pride ourselves in impeccable customer service. Our Executive and Sous Chefs' make every possible attempt to please our dinner guests. Being the proprietor, I see changes to dinner selections frequently, as I have to add them to our restaurant software system, add this, drop that, substitute this, no sauce, etc. Our restaurant is appropriately priced and our dinner selections are priced well below other comparible restaurants on the island.

We are indeed about two miles from a grocery store, but the Inn provides very reasonably priced snacks, $.75 each and we do charge $1.00 for soda, which is less than a vending machine charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
98
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Lambert's Cove Inn and we could not have had a better experience. Scott and Kell (the owners) were so welcoming (as was Mavis- their Shetland Sheep Dog) and made us feel like family. The grounds were truly spectacular and tucked away in an off-the-beaten-path location; away from the tourist spots. Our room was quite small (I believe it was the smallest of all rooms at the inn), but very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious. I would recommend this inn to anyone and everyone. We home to return very soon.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed at the Inn for three nights during our honeymoon. The innskeepers were welcoming and very accomodating upon our arrival. Arranging dinner reservations at the restaraunt on short notice.

The breakfast was fabulous and filling. Each morning the breakfast servers were attentive and willing to accomodate specialized requests.

The inn in general was very well maintained and offered many amenties that could not be found elsewhere.

  • Liked — The attentiveness of the innskeepers
  • Disliked — The proximity to other areas of interest
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lambert's Cove Inn. Everything about this Inn says high class and excellence. The Inn is located in a perfectly secluded spot in Vineyard Haven. The grounds are beautifully kept, with a variety of flowers and detailed landscaping. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable, while the staff was helpful and attentive. The owners - Scott and Kell - are a lot of fun and truly care about their guests. We also dined at the restaurant and were very pleased with the dining experience. The staff were knowledgeable and well trained, while the food was very good - absolutely the best fine dining we experienced on the island.

Overall, we would recommend the Lambert's Cove Inn to anyone looking for a quiet and romantic gettaway on MV.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We recently spent 4 days at the Lambert's Cove Inn and Restaurant. We had not been there for over 15 years so it was great to see the magnificant renovations the owners did on the grounds and inside the buildings. The Inn is located at the end of a long winding driveway that opens up on a magnificant setting. We lucked out on the wheather so we were able to enjoy the pool and all its amenities. Like all other guests at the Inn we had access to Lambert's Cove Beach which has remained unblemished throughout the years. Our accomodations were very comfortable and clean and all staff were helpful and attending. Because we were a bit early in the season we were only able to have dinner once at the Inn Restaurant but enjoyed the food and hospitality. Above all else we found the Innkeepers Scott, Andy and Kell to be extremely welcoming and ready to answer all our questions and respond to our needs. A great place to stay on the Vineyard (and also very romantic). We will be back.

  • Liked — Setting and Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

They were probably the last place I researched prior to our trip to MV and I couldn't believe the special they had going. $125/night M-Thursday before the busy season. Between the high praise they received on tripadvisor and the beautiful pictures on their website we decided to stay with them for 3 days, 2 nights.

First, the location was great. Not too far from any one point on the island and it was secluded at the end of a long private road.

The Inn Keepers are extremely nice and helpful. Even though there is self service coffee available at all times of the day (which was a big winner for us), when we would step foot into the lobby area in the mornings, Kell would make it a point to prepare it and bring it to us which was very nice.

The grounds of the Inn are very beautiful. When we stepped out of our room (St. Simons Room) there was plush green grass, flowers, fountains, and black glossy statues.

The lobby area was also extremely beautifuly decorated. Jazz was playing in one of the rooms and in the upstairs there was a study where you could use their computer for work or just to surf the net.

Comfy Bed, GREAT shower, and a quaint little reading room extends off of our room.

We didn't really spend all that much time at the Inn because we were running all around the island, but it was an amazing place to come back to after a long day.

If there was one thing I'd change it would be a little big bigger TV. That's it!

This place was everything we were looking for in our stay in MV.

  • Liked — The Inn Grounds and Lobby
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed here 12 years ago and loved it..which is why we returned this year..(kids are FINALLY grown) to celebrate our marriage and love for each other. But, I have to say, without a doubt this Inn is perfection. Beautifully kept grounds, glorious gardens, (perfect for a wedding), 5 star fine dining, attentive staff, exceptional decor throughout. Besides the inn, they also have a separate "cottage" and "guest-house". Which we stayed at, had a separate living room with full windows, and also a patio deck area over-looking the woodlands. Beach access 5 min away. Kell, co-owner, was extremely kind and helpful. We hated to leave, so we booked another week in Sept.!!
We love, love, love this gem of a retreat. You'll become a regular as we have:)

Sam & Nancy Davis

  • Liked — the ambiance inside and out
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lambert's Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambert's Cove Inn

Address: Off Lambert's Cove Road, 90 Manaquayak Road, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > West Tisbury
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambert's Cove Inn, Farm & Restaurant is known as one of the most romantic retreats on Martha's Vineyard. Situated on seven acres of spacious lawns, gardens, forest and meadowlands in the pastoral town of West Tisbury, it offers tranquility and seclusion. As you follow the winding road, shaded by towering trees, that leads to the inn, you'll know when you arrive, that you have indeed found a very special place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lambert`s Cove Inn & Restaurant Hotel West Tisbury
Lambert`s Cove Inn And Restaurant
Lambert's Cove Inn West Tisbury, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lambert's Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lambert's Cove Inn to your Saves list