We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Lambert's Cove Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lambert's Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lambert's Cove Inn to your Saves list
Lambert's Cove Inn
Off Lambert's Cove Road, 90 Manaquayak Road, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 West Tisbury B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Lambert's Cove Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Fantastic place to stay on the island with a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The main building of the inn and the gardens are immaculately presented. We stayed in the Hampton's room which was beautiful and incredibly comfortable. Having access to the nearby pristine private beach was a great perk. We also enjoyed a fantastic meal at the restaurant - one of the best meals we had during our trip including NYC, Cape Cod, MV and Boston. We found everyone to be friendly and very helpful. My partner especially valued their help in planning our visit before our arrival. Would highly recommend this inn.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jonathan & Sophie,

You are so sweet to write such a kind review. As you know, we take such pride in our little business and it makes us so happy when guests appreciate our committment. Please come back and see us on your next trip across the pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    16
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Our three-night stay at LCI turned out to be a big disappointment. We picked this place because of the overwhelmingly positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Now looking back at those reviews, we are utterly shocked at how this place can get a 4.5 rating. I rarely write reviews but this place really needs more voices on the negative side.

Just to be fair, I want to start with the positives:
- Breakfast is great. Variety of selections and generous portions. The breakfast staff and services were great too which is just the way you want to start your day.
- Grounds, restaurants, and all common areas of the inn are lovelily designed and well maintained. The Gardens are beautiful and the air is super refreshing.
- Internet/wifi connection is strong in both our room and common areas (If you are with AT&T on your cellphone, you will get no reception at all at this inn, so it's very important to have good Internet coverage to stay connected)

Now the negatives:
- The rooms are surprisingly sub par: outdated decor, tired looking furniture, visibly dirty sofa, things kept breaking, poor sound isolation, etc. The best comparable to the room would be an airport Sheraton that hasn't been updated for over 10 years (I have nothing against airport Sheraton...they usually charge $100 a night and at that rate, I don't complain about the decor).
- At an average $300+ a night per room, the inn still tries to nickel and dime its guests. There was no welcome basket or complimentary water in our room. When we went to the front desk to ask for two bottles of water, they chased after us for $3.00 for the water. We were simply shocked and speechless at such pettiness.
- Dinner at the supposedly famed restaurant was very average yet expensive. Maybe we are spoiled by all the great restaurants in big cities, but we checked out another restaurant on the island, Atria, which turned out to be miles better. Our dinner bill (for two people) at both restaurants came out to be similar ($150-200) but we left Atria feeling satisfied and left the Inn's restaurant feeling ripped off.
- We read mold complaints from some other guests on Tripadvisor. It's hard to prove it one way or the other but my fiancé's allergy became a lot worse during our stay even after he took his medicine.
- The hotel staff (with the exception of the breakfast staff) was neither warm nor accommodating. The staff never offered to help carry our luggage (our room was quite far from the reception) on our way in or out. All the additional requests we made during our stay were responded with straight NOs and the reason was always "that's just the policy set by our owners".

Last but not the least, I want to explain why we gave a 2 rating. The common areas probably deserve a 4 but the rooms are at best 2. So the average would be a 3 but we deducted another point due to the poor service. Maybe other guests had better luck than us, but at no stretch of the imagination can this place deserve a 4.5 rating or the rooms be called "luxurious". Maybe if the rooms were only $100 a night, I would have given a 4.5 rating on value. Maybe prices on MV are generally higher due to the limited access on the island, but we have been to much more exclusive/remote islands and our experience was a lot better at comparable rates. The fact that the common areas of the inn are so beautiful also means it's entirely possible to make beautiful rooms on the island but the owners just under-invested in them in our opinion.

I have seen how the owners /managers of this inn respond bitterly to other negative reviews on Tripadvisor, and sometimes even nastily (which is another disappointment in basic business ethics). Smart business owners appreciate negative reviews as areas for further improvement and quickly learn from them instead of being bitter and attacking the reviewers. In case we also get a bitter reply to our review from the inn, I would advise the owners/managers to save the time writing such a reply. Instead pack your bags and check yourself in for a night at Liberty Hill Inn (which is located just across the ferry in Cape Cod) and then tell me if our review is fair. We spent 5 nights at Liberty Hill Inn before our stay at Lambert's Cove. The quality of rooms and services were day and night different. The whole purpose of this review is for Lambert's Cove Inn to improve so more guests will enjoy it in the future!

We attached some pictures of the dirty couch in our room and the water leak from the broken toilet because pictures are always more telling than words. Judging from the water damage on the wall, this was probably not the first time the toilet broke in this room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
As owners of the Inn we strive to make everyone's stay a spectacular one. To be completely fair, these guests are absolutely right on both of their main concerns. The chain that flushes their toilet did break on the morning of their check-out and we fixed it immediately. Upon fixing the chain we noticed that there was a stream of water that ran down the wall indicating a leak from the room above (the plumbers are here as we speak correcting the problem). Secondly, I talked to housekeeping and inspected the couch cushion myself and again they are also correct. There were spots on the arm cushion of the couch, but they were not dirt spots, but spots from where housekeeping tried to "spot" clean the cushion after the previous guests soiled it.

With that said, I would like to explain to any potential guests that may read this review that at the beginning of our season all of our rooms are freshly painted and freshened up, carpets are cleaned, hardwoods are refinished and furniture is thoroughly steamed cleaned. We have had guests in our room’s non-stop since mid June and although we do the best job possible at keeping up with the wear and tear, at the end of August we do have a few issues to correct as we end the season. I would also like to remind our guests that we are on a summer island with a four month season. We run at capacity all season long, which means when someone checks out, someone is coming in right behind them. We, unlike an airport Sheraton, have 15 unique rooms and people make reservations well in advance, choosing a particular room in which to stay. In almost every case we do not have another room in which to move the guests to if they are unhappy with their room choice.

And regarding nickel & dimming our guests, we do charge for soda's and bottle water. However we offer a FREE 24 hour coffee and tea bar available to all guests. I must also say that in the beginning, we did offer complimentary soda, water, and a wine social each evening but it became costs prohibitive as we were going through a case of wine and two cases of soda and water each day. If we were able to operate 12 months a year, like Inn's on the mainland, we would have more flexibility.

For the record, I’m not being nasty or critical as the reviewer stated in their review, but only trying to show both sides of the story. In my opinion, the main reason this review was written is because we could not accommodate a request to spend the afternoon in the room on check out day, when check out time is 11:00am, to watch an important soccer game. We had other guests checking into that room at 2pm and needed to clean and prepare the room for the next guest’s arrival. We did our best to find and suggest an island sports bar where the guests could see the all important game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a truly lovely stay at this beautiful Inn , it is so relaxing . Beautiful rooms .private lake/pond with jetty,wonderful beach , fantastic setting with wonderful gardens/grounds, it is a must to stay whilst visiting Martha's Vineyard!!! Penningtons UK

Room Tip: Stayed in Bar Harbour large king bed and sofa be, upstairs room. Stayed in Savannah double bed with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you Christina for such a lovely review. You were such a pleasure to have here and thank you for saying that our rooms are beautiful. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Lambert's Cove Inn. The Inn is beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The grounds are very well kept and nice to walk around. The pool/hot tub area is a great place to relax. Scott and Kell, the innkeepers, were very warm and welcoming and clearly care about ensuring their guests have an enjoyable stay. I highly recommend the restaurant - our meals were delicious and the restaurant staff was extremely pleasant. I look forward to staying at Lambert's Cove Inn again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Kate and Danny,

So sorry this took so long, but Kell and I have been away for the winter enjoying some downtime. I haven't been to Trip Advisor for a few months, but don't know how I missed it over the summer. Anyway thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. As you know reviews like this help immensely in showing people what it is like to stay with us and your was truly heart felt. We enjoyed having your both andy look forward to your next. See you soon.
Scott & Kell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We traveled to the Vineyard from New York for a few days to plan a wedding later in the summer and stayed at this wonderful Inn. Scott and Kell could not have been more courteous or welcoming throughout our stay. I had accidentally booked the wrong day for our arrival and they went out of their way to accommodate us. They were also kind enough to offer us suggestions on some of our wedding planning which was incredibly helpful given that we were planning the event late.

The Inn itself and the surrounding property is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The full menu complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise and was served in a beautiful dining room. We were not aware the Inn had one of the finest restaurants on the Vineyard and we look forward to having dinner there on our next trip.

The Inn is located within walking distance to Lambert's Cove which is a pristine beach with amazing sunsets.

We could not have enjoyed our stay more and look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We so appreciate you saying that we go out of our way to accommodate our guests as that's exactly what we try to do. You were vfery gracious guests and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lambert's Cove Inn was wonderful. The Inn is quiet and relaxing, a great place to unwind. It is only a short ferry ride from New Bedford MA but world's away in attitude. Due to my schedule I could only stay a day, wish it could have been more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks Bob,

It was a pleasure having you here no matter how short a stay. WE look forward to seeing you again. Thanks so much for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We know the island quite well, having spent most of 14 summers there. So when we did a very non-Vineyardah thing and forgot to reserve a space on the ferry in a timely way and had to therefore stay "on-island" an extra night (a real "first world problem") but couldn't stay in our own house, there was no question but that we would select Lambert's Cove Inn for our night on the town. And they didn't disappoint. First, the inn and rooms are exquisitely decorated and landscaped. Our room, though on the small side (if you are spending time in your room doing anything that is G-rated you're wasting your time), had its own private deck, which we enjoyed a great deal.

It also comes with a delicious breakfast served in their very nicely appointed dining room. And though not included in the rate, we would recommend getting a poolside al fresco table for dinner, as poolside dining (particularly this pool and this landscaping) is rare in the US and I think unique on MV.

Most importantly, though, this Inn is located steps from two of the island's best swimming opportunities. You can walk to Ice House Pond (and a good thing because there is only parking for four cars) for the most pristine freshwater swimming on the island, and it's a short bike ride to Lambert's Cove Beach (they will provide a pass), perhaps the best white-sand calm water swimming on the island.

One thing that could be improved -- the beach towels could double as exfoliating scrubs. We ended up just patting ourselves down so as to save a few layers of skin to keep our organs inside. And remember you in an Inn -- the rooms may not conform to your height or to standard hotel architecture. I had to duck to take a shower. but get used to it -- charm has its price.

Room Tip: no bad rooms -- no street noise and very quiet generally. Look at the brochure and pick one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCIR, Owner at Lambert's Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks Al. What a lovely review. We very much enjoyed having you wonderful folks here and look forward to your next missed ferry! :)

Scott & Kell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lambert's Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambert's Cove Inn

Address: Off Lambert's Cove Road, 90 Manaquayak Road, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > West Tisbury
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambert's Cove Inn, Farm & Restaurant is known as one of the most romantic retreats on Martha's Vineyard. Situated on seven acres of spacious lawns, gardens, forest and meadowlands in the pastoral town of West Tisbury, it offers tranquility and seclusion. As you follow the winding road, shaded by towering trees, that leads to the inn, you'll know when you arrive, that you have indeed found a very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lambert's Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambert`s Cove Inn And Restaurant
Lambert`s Cove Inn & Restaurant Hotel West Tisbury
Lambert's Cove Inn West Tisbury, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lambert's Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.