We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmosphere tho a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truc Orient Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Truc Orient Express
3 Harris St, West Stockbridge, MA 01266
(413) 232-4204
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Danbury, CT
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere tho a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We felt lucky to find anyplace to eat in the town, since some restaurants were closed and it was late in the evening. The food and service was good, but not too friendly. Thought the prices were high for the size of the servings---and their drink prices were way high.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    10
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great meal, very authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a fantastic meal at Truc and felt like we were having very authentic vietnamese cuisine in a pretty unexpected spot!

Highly recommend it if you're in the area. Their shops of imported vietnamese products are fun to browse also - though not a place where you'll find a bargain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Like Old Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant has the exact same name as one we used to love to go to in Hartford CT, so when we saw it during our recent stay in West Stockbridge we had to try it. Turns out it is the same family who run it as our old favorite which is now closed. What an pleasant surprise. And the food and trappings have not changed much. The one in Hartford was smaller but they both have the reserved Vietnamese décor of wall hangings and art. The big difference here is the large rambling gift shop of attractive Asian wares that is part of the same building and spreads into an attached tent.
Our waiter was friendly and attentive in the midst of a very busy Saturday night, and the food was great as always. We split an appetizer of the shrimp summer rolls and then my wife had the whole fish while I got the barbequed pork on rice noodles. Both were beautifully prepared and excellent. It was also fun for me, as I like trying different beers, to have a Vietnamese lager.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently visited Truc Orient Express with my sister and two nieces. The food was outstanding. The calamari salad was the best I have had. All prices were reasonable and the service was not only attentive, but done with good humor. Following dinner, we wandered through their gift shop which included some beautiful silk clothing that is hand made in Vietnam. There were also wooden serving pieces that were made of coconut wood which is very interesting. I would return to this restaurant again to share with my husband!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Deliciousness: Vietnamese Food Standard Bearer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have dined at Truc Orient Express since it opened, 34 years ago. As other reviewers said, it is owned by the same family, and Tri, the owner, takes great pride in her food and heritage. The food: fantastic. So fresh, tasty, subtle and unusual. Portions are ample, and even though the sauces are light, we left totally satisfied and full. We began with a different take on calamari; Spice Squid Salad. The squid was crispy and the tamarind sauce, refreshing. Our other appetizer, Shrimp Summer Rolls, were chock full of mint, coriander and large shrimp (plus noodles etc) and the bean sauce was rich and tasty. We split a Happy Pancake, choosing the shrimp and chicken fill, and have not found its equal anywhere else. We ended with a lemon mousse and flan, both of which were again, light and not overly sweet.
All this food, plus a glass of wine, came at a very reasonable cost-less than many of the pricey restaurants in the area.
We love Orient Express. We visit the Berkshires often-not our home- and whenever I see a Vietnamese restaurant elsewhere, I constantly compare it to this one in West Stockbridge. No other Vietnamese restaurant has ever born up! Orient Express is my standard bearer of Vietnamese food anywhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truc Orient Express also viewed

West Stockbridge, Berkshires
West Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
West Stockbridge, Berkshires
West Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Truc Orient Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truc Orient Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.