We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double beds, not queens, as promised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge to your Saves list
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   42 Stockbridge Road, West Stockbridge, MA 01266   |  
Hotel amenities
Danbury, CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“double beds, not queens, as promised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

the motel is decent value for the money: has many amenities like fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, TV, hair dyer, but no clock. The mgr. said we would have 2 queen beds, but when we arrived we discovered they were two double beds only. Asked for advice on restaurants for dinner and got no help other than to go into town and look around. Lotsa luck: some were closed on a Wed. and another was hidden off the main drag---kinda frustrating when you are tired and hungry and it's late. It's an okay place if one is not too fussy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
18
31
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I will definitely return! I booked the motel using Hotwire and got a rate of $42.00 including taxes. I was suspicious at the low price but booked anyway based on the generally good reviews on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. Yes, it is not new but it was clean. No, there isn't a HD wide screen TV but the TV that was there worked just fine. The room I had came with two double beds and they were very comfortable. The bathroom had been totally renovated with a new shower stall bath tub combo, a new tile, toilet and vanity that was done very well. Obviously the owner has read the reviews of his motel and taken steps to correct them. It was very quiet and the location of the motel is superb if you want to explore The Berkshires as it would serve as an excellent base station to return to every night. As a bonus the room came with two very comfortable chairs for sitting in, a microwave, good size refrigerator if you were staying multiple days. If I was the owner I would replace some of the outdated lights, put in a HD wide screen TV and raise the rates by $10.00 or so a night. I will go back even if the owner doesn't make these changes as it is such great value, clean, quite, and comfortable. Everything a motel must be to be successful. A cold breakfast was also included of coffee, orange juice, and cereal. A very nice touch. I plan on returning to tour The Berkshires and this is where I will stay but I think I will book well in advance as there are only a limited number of rooms.

Room Tip: I was in a middle unit but didn't hear any noise which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed here for the past 3 years when we go to Tanglewood. While I was never keen on the place, it was adequate for our needs, the price was right, and each time we only stayed one night. We just returned from our latest overnight there and we will definitely not be going back. The owner is nice enough, and even told us that some of the rooms were renovated and that the mattresses were new last year. Well, getting in from the concert after midnight, my husband, as is his custom, yanked the covers off the bed prior to laying down. At that point, I couldn't help but notice that the sheets were flat sheets rather than fitted and did not cover the sides of the mattress. The mattress itself was stained (and we were in a renovated room). The pillow almost smelled dank. Since I was tired and had no place else to sleep, I slept in my clothes and when I awoke I lifted the sheets to see a decrepit and filthy mattress cover. I can overlook many things, but a filthy bed is not one of them. My advice: if you stay here, check the bed first!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Stockbridge hotels

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

To put it simply, this is exactly how I imagine motels were in the 60s - a roadside place where you pull your car right up to the door for the night. It has basic amenities, plus strong wifi (multiple routers), a small breakfast, and a pool (which we didn't use). Most noticeably, the owner seemed very warm and interested in us enjoying our stay, and the price is unbelievable for being in a resort/tourist area like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Stockbridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found the accommodation comfortable, clean and spacious, and very good value for money. We were travelling as a family of four and it was perfect for our needs. We appreciate the attention to caring for the garden, but perhaps don't run the hedge trimmers while guests are eating breakfast outside?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

So we decided to take a trip up to the Berkshires and had problems finding a hotel that wasn't booked up. Then, I stumbled upon an ad for Pleasant Valley Motel in W. Stockbridge. The outside of the motel is really cute with lots of pretty hanging baskets of flowers across the entire front and a white picket fence around the covered breakfast area.

Once we were given the room and stepped inside, the disappointment began. Seems all of the rooms haven't been renovated, and we got one that wasn't. The room was clean enough. However, that was about it. The tiles on the bathroom floor were coming up, the bathtub had rust all over it because the finish was all worn off. The grout needed cleaning, and the pipe in the wall of the shower was loose. If you put on the AC, whenever the compressor turns on, the AC slows down and the lights dim really low. You can only use the microwave or fridge as there wasn't enough outlets. Mostly we were worried there would be an electrical fire.

So we thought we would take a short nap before heading out to Great Barrington to dinner. Well, the springs from the mattress attacked my back. I jumped off the bed and tried the other bed which was a tiny bit better.

Needless to say, I didn't sleep at all that night, since I was literally in pain from the mattress.

Then came continental breakfast the next morning. There was only some cornflakes, O.J. and coffee. If you don't care for that breakfast, bring your own as I did. Since I don't drink coffee, I brought my tea and I also brought my oatmeal.

We planned on using the pool, which was spotlessly clean, but the weather had other plans for us. It was pouring rain, so we headed to the Rockwell Museum early.

So my suggestion is if you plan on staying at this motel, ask for a renovated room. The place is well worth the money, and the family running it are very nice.

Phyllis from Florida

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room. Motel is a few hundred feet from the highway so there's nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Pleasant Valley Motel in West Stockbridge MA is a wonderful roadside country motel. The setting is so calming and comfortable. The rooms are clean, most with newly renovated bathrooms. Beds are comfortable, great working free wifi and good assortment of channels on the TV. You will also find a crystal clear outdoor pool and a continental breakfast. The motel is close to all that the Berkshires have to offer. For $36.00 &tax for midweek this property is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge

Address: 42 Stockbridge Road, West Stockbridge, MA 01266
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge Hotel West Stockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.