We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious room, pet friendly, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shaker Mill Inn to your Saves list
Shaker Mill Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   7 Albany Road, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Providence, Rhode Island, USA jdf
1 review
“Great location, spacious room, pet friendly, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night at the Inn with our dog. This is a pet-friendly property, which was the primary reason why we selected this place. The innkeeper was very friendly, and everything was very good except two things: 1) the room had a distinct pet odor (and it was not coming from our dog!). At $165/night, this is certainly not acceptable 2) No cooked breakfast. They stocked quiche, bagels, cream cheese, coffee, tea, etc. in the room. "That's OK" we thought, until we tried to use the coffee machine. It had ground coffee stains all over the water reservoir. Again, at this price range, we expect proper breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
128
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

My wife and I were visiting friends in West Stockbridge, MA and spent three nights at this delightful Inn. The room was quite large and very clean. Snacks and wine were on the table the first night and the snacks continued. The refrigerator was stocked for each morning with orange juice, milk, cream and great quiche. We loved the place. Try the Shaker Mill Tavern next door for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

West Stockbridge is a little off the beaten path, but very accessible and the perfect place for the quiet Shaker Mill Inn. The Tanglewood Room has a sitting room, small patio, and, like the other rooms, a small sink, microwave, and refrigerator. Breakfast, delivered the day before, is quiche, pastry, coffee (make your own), & OJ. The hosts were congenial. The bed comfortable. There was even a bust of Beethoven on the patio!
Noise by other guests walking overhead made our sleep less than perfect--next time I would stay on an upper floor.
We enjoyed dinner at the nearby Rouge restaurant, as recommended by Trip Advisor. We will definitely return to Shaker Mill Inn and to Rouge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is an excellent Inn. In many ways it's one of the best in the Berkshires and is an excellent value. The one difference from most Inns is that there's no public rooms. You have a coffee maker, refrigerator, toaster oven and microwave oven in your room. All the breakfast fixings are left in your refrigerator and you do your own breakfast. Every room is fully stocked with plates, utensils etc. We loved this arrangement.
Our room was very large with a sitting area and a breakfast area.
The West Stockbridge location is only 10 minutes from Lenox.
We've been going to the Berkshires for years and this is now our favorite place.
The Innkeepers are friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

On a recent trip to Tanglewood, we stayed at the Shaker Mill Inn for the first time and I highly recommend this Inn. The Inn keepers are wonderful people, breakfast and snacks were outstanding and the grounds are lovely. In addition, the Inn is within walking distance of many restaurants. We stayed in the Clark room which shared a nice deck overlooking the lawn. Perfect for a couple on a weekend get away to the Berkshires and I believe they also ave larger rooms for families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

A group of six college friends/sorority sisters stayed at the Shaker Mill Inn for two nights. Some of us have not seen each other for almost 50 years!

Bob and Mary are terrific inn keepers. They're available when needed with helpful advice and delightful attitudes. Everything one would ever want or need is provided at Shaker Mill Inn. My room had two wide steps going up to bathroom and kitchenette, which would not be good for people with vision or balance problems.

The breakfast was placed in the room's refrigerator and consisted of orange juice, quiche, which can be heated in the microwave, muffins and pastries, cofee, tea and hot chocolate. Also microwave popcorn for watching tv or movies. There is no central dining room, guests eat in their rooms or patios/balconies. Inn Keeper Bob told us that he would deduct $7 per day from our room fee if we did not want to eat the provided breakfast, but he needed advanced notice so that he did not stock the refrigerator.

We had a wonderful reunion and look forward to a repeat visit to Bob and Mary at the Shaker Mil Inn

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in July, 2010. We had the Honeymoon Suite. It was a beautiful room; spacious and furnished in a comfortable and charming fashion. The bath had a very spacious Jacuzzi tub with a skylight. The living area featured a comfortable sofa facing a rock fireplace(which we did not use as it was 90 those days.) Fortunately, the air conditioning worked to a tee.

One word of caution- the suite is multileveled-even the bathroom has steps up and down-so you have to be cautious-especially at night. There were thoughtful little touches throughout- two mini bottles of wine along with bowl of peanuts; fresh flowers in the room; many guide books and materials along with magazines;

The breakfast is placed in the room's refrigerator and consisted of orange juice, quiche(which we heated in the microwave), muffins and pastries, cofee, tea and hot chocolate. Also microwave popcorn for watching tv or movies. We had read somewhere that you could either eat the breakfast provided or would be given a voucher for breakfast at a local diner/restuarant- we were not given a voucher option and that might have been nice. But the breakfast- while not freshly cooked was more than adequate.

The location is quiet and within walking distance of restuarants and shops in West Stockbridge-very small village; nice antique store ,several excellent restuarants- we ate at Olio's -mediterranean cuisine. There was also a very nice French place that had a nice menu- but we did not eat there.

Easy driving to Stockbridge and Great Barrington and Lenox- really in the heart of the Berkshires.

We paid $220.00 for a Thursday-Friday stay in peak season and felt it was worth it. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Address: 7 Albany Road, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaker Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.