We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shaker Mill Inn to your Saves list
Shaker Mill Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   7 Albany Road, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We were looking for an overnight stop as part of a week long trip to New England. Found this on the Internet as a late deal and booked based on the very good reviews. We were not disappointed. Rooms are huge and very well equipped - coffee and pastries and a welcoming glass of wine as well as a fridge and large TV. You can see the owners have gone to a lot of trouble and the attention to detail is very good. W Stockbridge is a pretty village and there are a number of restaurants nearby. Also well located to explore the nearby area - Shaker Village, Rockwell museum etc.
Really pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
128
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Nw England at the beginning of "pek season" for foliage. Not only were the trees, mountains, rippling mopuntain stream, and brilliantly blue lake quiet and cmforning, but our stay at Shaker Mill was, too. The room included two latge, confortable beds, a modern television, a cozy breakfast area, microwave oven and frig, and all the snakes and pastries we could eat. The price was extremely reasonable. I was able to stroll throught the area and exercise my amatuer photography hobby with beautifu results. It made for a wonderful experience in a quiet Berkshire town. Our host was friendly and provided for all our wishes in a timely manner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upton ma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We found Shaker Mill Inn online, were impressed by the great reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was immaculate, spacious and very comfortable. There was nothing really fancy, no real wow factor, but it was everything we were looking for at a great price. The owners were friendly and attentive. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund,Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

after our return to Germany we still happily remember the stay at the ShakerMill in Stockbridge. It was not only because of the cozy and comfortable room and the unique and delicious breakfast but especially because of the warm hospitality and personal approach to their guests that we will never forget our time at the Shaker Mill and we will for sure come back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinboro pa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Bob and Mary, the innkeepers, saw to our every need and it was an affordable and spacious place to stay in the Birkshires in the hub of everything; it is also pet friendly!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

For our family reunion of 17 individuals, we chose the Shaker Mill Inn. Our extended stay of six days occupied five units. We all were very pleased with the accommodations. Especially appropriate was the Greylock space that served as a family gathering suite. Bob and Mary have furnished each unit to satisfy every need and were wonderful hosts. They were very helpful--from providing information to facilitating a cook-out by providing a gas grill and also setting up a badminton set for family fun. Thanks for snapping our family pictures too! We could not have picked a better place in all of Berkshire County for our family reunion!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Bob and Mary were such gracious hosts to my family, which took up five of their rooms on our recent reunion trip. The rooms were spacious and stocked with everything we might need, and the kids loved the badminton and the hammock. I can't say enough about how delighted we were with the excellent service we received -- we highly recommend this inn!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Address: 7 Albany Road, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaker Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.