We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn, big rooms, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shaker Mill Inn to your Saves list
Shaker Mill Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   7 Albany Road, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Near Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely inn, big rooms, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great 2-night stay here. After the first night, we told Bob that the mattress was uncomfortably firm. That night, we arrived back at the inn to find a newly- purchased, plush mattress topper on the bed. Talk about good customer service! One thing to mention is that breakfast is eaten not in a communal dining room but in your own room, which has a kitchenette stocked with quiche, pastries, oatmeal, OJ, coffee, etc. We liked the convenience of eating whenever we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
128
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just finished our second stay at the Shaker Mill Inn. My wife and I are 'locals' (we live about 30 minutes away) and have been here a couple of times in the last few months just for a quick getaway (kids, work, etc!!). Both times, we've stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and have been thrilled with our accomodations. The room is always immaculately clean (I know they take pets here but you wouldn't know it) and well kept-up.

There is a giant jacuzzi tub in the Honeymoon Suite, plus a good sized stand-up shower. There is also a nice gas fireplace. I really like how they do breakfast here - an assortment of bagels, muffins, quiche, juice, milk, etc. will be waiting in your room, so you can eat at your own pace in the morning.

Overall, I would say the Shaker Mill Inn is an outstanding value and a great place to get away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is practically impossible to find any bed and breakfast that allows dogs. The Shaker Mill Inn not only allows dogs, they welcomed my baby Leonard and treated him just as important as any other guest. They even provided Leonard his very own "welcome basket" which included a bowl with treats, towels, a blanket and a wonderful book of places to walk with your dog in the area. There is a dog walk, although we didn't try it because Leonard prefers the "city life" and wanted to walk through the village. And, the rooms are absolutely gorgeous, clean, nicely furnished, well decorated and large! Nothing second rate about this classy bed and breakfast. There were even plenty of electrical outlets available so that I could plug in my iPhone, my iPad, and my laptop and I still had outlets available and that's something which is unheard of even at brand name hotels. If you're staying in the Stockbridge MA area, stay at the Shaker Mill Inn!!

Room Tip: The Queensboro has sliding glass doors that lead to a large patio area and is a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Bob and Mary are great hosts for this 9 room bed and breakfast. After a number of years staying upstairs in the garden room, we moved to the Clark room on the first floor, easier on our now 3 legged dog, who has been most welcomed there. Rooms are big, bright, very comfortable, and the breakfast is there for the warning. I very much enjoyed breakfast on the deck. Its a great place to get away to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

To celebrate her college graduation, we went away together for a couple of days at this cozy B&B. We decided to stay in the Honeymoon Suite. What a room! We walked in and were greeted with wonderfully calming music playing on our own little radio. Our mouths watered at the sight of pastries and slices of Quiche Lorraine that we would devour the next morning, and our king-sized bed beckoned us for an afternoon nap.
The jacuzzi tub was the highlight of our stay, especially the first night when we enjoyed our complimentary wine by candlelight. Neither of us has ever felt more relaxed, so we will have to come back and try to recreate that experience!
West Stockbridge is a great town set in the majestic Berkshires, and the Shaker Mill Inn is a wonderful way to enjoy the land and get in touch with your significant other. Thank you, Mary and Bob, for a relaxing stay! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is bright and airy during the day yet cozy and romantic at night. It's simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a standard boring hotel room, or a frou-frou B & B, with creaking canopy beds and antique doll collections, forget Shaker Mill Inn. BUT if you are looking for comfort, with enough room to spread out, thoughtful breakfasts left in your room, sparkling cleanliness lovely grounds, and a feeling of home, then this is your ideal spot. We enjoyed the Inn so much that we rearranged our plans to spend less time sightseeing and more time just chilling. A great stay, if ther wer 6 stars I'd give the Inn all 6!

We will be back and next time for even longer than 3 days.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thank you Mary and Bob for making our stay a very pleasant one. The Queensborough room was so comfortable and we just loved our little private terrace. We look forward to seeing you again and checking out one of the other fabulous rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Address: 7 Albany Road, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaker Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.