We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarey location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089 (Formerly Days Inn West Springfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in West Springfield
Ayer, Massachusetts
1 review
“Scarey location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had to stay this far out from Amherst although we booked months before. There was a graduation and alumnae reunion at the local colleges. All the local motels were booked up or way over priced for the same type of hotel but at least better area. As a result there are were not a lot of options. As we were out that way for my son's camp at UMASS we just needed something to spend 2 nights. I should have only booked one an got up with the whole family at the crack of dawn to drive out to Western MASS. There was some very late night check in the room next door and there was an awful man swearing & yelling. This person sounded like a Ghansta from Pulp Fiction.
They literally sounded like they were working a drug deal and my husband and I were awaiting some gun fire next. I was considering calling the cops but I've probably seen too many movies and envisioned ourselves in the cross fire. We called the front desk and it did get quiet after, although I heard they moved their room and that is why I did hear him later at a lower level.
We asked to get moved and they moved us downstairs near the exit. I spent as much time away from this place as possible the 2nd day. Compensating for the lack of sleep we all had the prior night would have been good business. The breakfast could defnitely use to be spruced up but we didn't expect much for this type of place. We just want to feel safe when travelling with our family. They should seriously consider implenting security and be on speed dial with the SWAT team.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    25
    13
    19
See reviews for
33
13
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and friendly, although it could use a little upgrading and a better continental breakfast and space to eat it in, otherwise good for the price. I would stay there again and location is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

hotel was clean and room was adequate and quiet except for the soap and coffee left from prior occupants which was not cleaned up

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Overall the hotel was ok. Most importantly, it was clean. However - some of the lights in the room wouldn't turn on. When I notifed the front desk of this, their answer was "we rented the room recently, they have to work". The bathroom smelled really heavily of smoke too even though it was a non smoking room.

The AC/Heat is a really outdated, clunky unit that you have to fight with to be the right temperature. I wouldn't stay here in the summer because it would be unbearable - at this time of year we just opened the window and kept the room comfortable. We basically stayed here because it was close to Six Flags and other points of interest but now that we've been to the area we would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my first trip to US and a stay at the Days Inn made it more wonderful. You get free internet and a well mannered and helpful people at the reception. The cleaning guys were wonderful and helpful too. I was very pleased with their hospitality. The rooms were clean and tidy and the beds were really comfortable and they had most of the entertainment channels and news channels which made stay more pleasurable. You have McD nearby and the bus stop is also pretty near which makes commute easier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn

Address: 429 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089 (Formerly Days Inn West Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn is located on the Connecticut River just two miles from downtown Springfield. The location makes it easy to get to local destinations since we're located near the intersection of I-91 and I-90, less than 30 minutes from Bradley International Airport. The hotel's setting in West Springfield, MA is perfect for business travelers. Guests staying at the hotel have access to multiple large businesses like MassMutual Life Insurance Company, Smith & Wesson(R) and Baystate Health. If leisure is the reason for your stay, the hotel's location near Six Flags(R) New England, one of the largest theme parks in the region, is just five miles away. The Basketball Hall of Fame also calls Springfield, MA home. The hotel's property is three miles radius to the MassMutual Center, which hosts many concerts and events. Eastern States Exposition is nearby which features horse shows, trade shows like EASTEC(R), and "The Big E." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Springfield Hotel West Springfield
Days Inn West Springfield Ma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.