We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in West Springfield
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Just a Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived in the lobby to be greeted by a very friendly lady in Reception. I wondered why at the time there were a few women with children standing around the lobby, and I can only assume that some people actually live there. Rooms appeared clean and tidy, but I was a bit put off when I saw that the people next door had a dog with them. No breakfast supplied, but there are some items of food in a room where it is self serve and an honor payment system. Close to iHop which we found a great place to eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
34
17
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is by no means an attempt to seriously downgrade the Candlewood Suites but rather an effort to help other travelers put this hotel in proper perspective. When we first went looking to reserve a room in West Springfield I believe this hotel was rated second (now it appears to be fifth) and after our first night there I couldn't understand why. I ended up concluding it must be because of the differing needs of those who had reviewed the hotel. And in that regard, the most pertinent factor may be that this hotel tends to cater to those staying longer periods of time. We were only there a total of five nights and as a result the hotel's procedure of cleaning the rooms just once a week didn't bode well with us. Nor did our having to each night carry our old towels down to the front desk to exchange them for clean one. You see, we got back to the hotel rather late each day after a hard day's work. And their not more regularly maintaining the room also led to our coming back one night only to find an obnoxious smell emanating from the bathroom, likely through the vents, and after we told them about it they did indeed take steps to alleviate the situation but again their not regularly visiting the room resulted in our finding the room in similar condition (if not as serious) on subsequent nights. And getting back each night so late led us to end up simply enduring the situation rather than trying to correct it. Similarly, none of the clocks in the room had the correct time. We could have readily changed them (instead of ignoring them) but would have felt a little odd also correcting the one in the lobby near the elevator. And while it's likely our own fault we didn't know they don't offer breakfast each morning there's probably no way we could have known how irregularly they appear to stock the food in their store. So for those staying shorter periods of time and appreciating more attentive oversight of accommodations, this hotel doesn't appear the most appropriate selection.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

In West Springfield for a dog show. Stayed here with a friend and our two small dogs. Great value for the price for this all-suite property. Full kitchen and large rooms. Rooms were very clean. Great, safe location, close to many restaurants, shopping, etc! I do wish they would provide maid service as requested, but only provide it on certain days. If your stay doesn't happen to be on one of those days, you'll have to ask for fresh towels at the front desk - not a big deal - but a little inconvenient. No breakfast is provided, so be sure to stock the fridge with your own food. Would have been nice if they at least offered a continental breakfast on site. I guess they don't because there is an IHOP within walking distance - but still. I do recommend this hotel to others and would, definitely stay here again despite those minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were here in 2010, 2011 and had a great experience. This time not so much, except for the lovely lady at the front desk. Conditions are filthy and sub par. Our room was dirty, food left in refrigerator and hair in the toilette from the guest before. Plus the toliette barely worked properly. Lots and lots of familes "living" there, and a bunch of guys hanging out in front smoking and drinking right outside the front entrance, every night. Did not feel safe at all. Too bad, for it had been wonderful. I saw one poor woman who had traveled from Africa to visit her daughter, who had reservations, arrived exhausted to find out there were no rooms left! How dare they! I cannot recommend nor ever visit again. The lovely young lady at the front desk has too much class to work there. Any up-scale hotel would be happy to have her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First time staying at this hotel, and very pleased with the experience, overall.
Staff at the desk was very pleasant and efficient. I loved the room.
It was nicely furnished and VERY CLEAN. The large desk area and the
high-speed internet connection were great for working on the computer.
Bed was very comfortable. Even though there was a lot of activity in the lobby and hallways, the room was still very quiet. I was at the point in my trip where I needed to do laundry in order to have clean clothes to wear to work the next day. It was very convenient that they provide self-service laundry facilities for guests. Unfortunately, most of the washers and dryers had "out of order" signs on them so that made it harder to get the wash done when other guests were trying to use the laundry at the same time and there were only 2 working sets of machines. Also, the laundry area was dark at night, as there didn't seem to be any switch to turn on the ceiling lights.
I had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay of only 1 night this time, but I will be back!
On future visits, I hope to make use of the very well-equiped kitchenette in the room.
I highly recommend this hotel for excellent service & amenities at a resonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

i stay here often and think the hotel is great! the staff,especially catherine so very nice and helpful! catherine has gone out of her way to help me and make sure my stay was great. she deserves a raise!! no matter what room i am in it is clean and comfortable. love having kitchen in room. great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERMONT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Rugs,. chairs and sofa must have just been shampooed, as they were still damp. This room probably shouldn't have been rented out for another day so everything could dry. The pull out sofa is extremely uncomfortable if you plan to sleep on it.
The air conditioning unit is it in living room and bedroom that connects the 2 rooms. This restrictions the amount of cooling in the bedroom especially if the door is closed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Address: 572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in West Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Hotel-West Springfield is conveniently located in Western Massachusetts at the crossroads I-91 and I-90 (Mass Pike). We are an all suite, extended stay hotel. Whether you are relocating or undergoing a construction project, and are looking for temporary lodging, we are the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate housing apartment. We offer a completely equipped full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher, disposal and a full size refrigerator with ice maker. Room amenities include coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hairdryer, clock radio, CD/DVD player and a 32 inch flat screen TV with 5 movie channels including HBO and Showtime, over-sized executive desk with free high-speed wire and wireless Internet access and two separate phone lines with voicemail. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD hotel library. Work off some stress in our complimentary nautilus center, then take a dip in our indoor pool or Jacuzzi. Enjoy the outdoors in our Gazebo with gas grill. To curb those late night cravings, visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase food and sundry items at value prices. Take advantage of our on site complimentary laundry facility. We are a pet friendly hotel. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the West Springfield/Springfield area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Hotel West Springfield
Candlewood Suites West Springfield
Candlewood West Springfield
West Springfield Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.