We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ny yankees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in West Springfield
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“ny yankees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

i stay here often and think the hotel is great! the staff,especially catherine so very nice and helpful! catherine has gone out of her way to help me and make sure my stay was great. she deserves a raise!! no matter what room i am in it is clean and comfortable. love having kitchen in room. great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
35
17
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VERMONT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Rugs,. chairs and sofa must have just been shampooed, as they were still damp. This room probably shouldn't have been rented out for another day so everything could dry. The pull out sofa is extremely uncomfortable if you plan to sleep on it.
The air conditioning unit is it in living room and bedroom that connects the 2 rooms. This restrictions the amount of cooling in the bedroom especially if the door is closed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were supposed to stay at another hotel but my husband booked it for the wrong day. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions and places to eat that werent chains. Went to the room and wasnt expecting a full kitchen in the room. Room was clean and hotel was quiet (On the 4th floor lol). Not many places have 24hr front desk and a store in the lobby. Only downside is there is only one person on duty. We didnt need anything but every time we stopped passed the front desk the young lady was being yelled at for not moving fast enough. Some guy exploded at her about towels and it was unnecessary. Overall it was a great stay. I wouldnt suggest for short term stays because they only clean once a week etc but still a very wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I traveled to the Springfield area and this was not my first or second choice, but due to the Westover air show and Michelle Obama visiting the Basketball hall of fame at the same time put a crunch on hotel rooms available in the area.
This hotel is more geared for the extended stay travelers.
The good:
My room was clean.
The have 24 hour snacks and drinks available near the lobby at reasonable prices.
Full size refrigerator, but didn't really utilize it to keep my couple of drinks cold.
Microwave and small sink.
Free laundry facility (washer and dryers)
Free WiFi

The Bad:
The elevator and halls smelled like heavy cigarette smoke... terrible!
People leave their trash in the stairwell containers on each floor and the smell is disgusting.
The shower nozzle feels like needles trying to pierce your skin and cannot be adjusted.
They allow pets to stay in the room... WTF! Who wants to be in a room after a dog has been in it? I don't care how much they clean.
The room temperature wouldn't stay consistent... either it was too cold or too hot.
They only clean your room once a week. Which they fail to tell you when you check in.

Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a good stay at the Candlewood Suites. On the positive side: both the morning and evening desk staff were all excellent and very accommodating; the room was large with a well-equipped kitchenette; the bed was comfortable; and it was quiet (even though our room was on the 1st floor). There is a small market off the lobby which has a nice selection of provisions and is reasonably priced. But the hotel would benefit from updating the decor. The furnishings in the room were quite worn, in particular a large, leather-like chair. The arms and seat of the chair were worn down completely - indeed the chair looked like it had just been picked up at a tag sale for a few dollars! The carpeting also was worn, and the walls had scuff marks. And the shower floor (they gave us an accessible room) was stained and dark and needed to be scrubbed well. This is a good hotel which could be a great hotel with updated furnishings, a bit of paint, and better attention to cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dorset, Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed for only one night during a short trip through central Massachusetts. We were pleasantly surprised to find this excellent place in an otherwise unremarkable area. Very well appointed rooms made us wish we could stay longer to take better advantage. The front desk staff was efficient and friendly, plenty of parking and some decent restaurants nearby. We requested and got an upper floor even though the hotel was sold out for the night we arrived. A place we would go back to if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here while visiting for the 4th of July week. We checked in on Monday and there was plenty of parking and carts accessible to bring our luggage in. The check in was fast and simple. The girl at the front desk had a large amount of tattoos which my children thought was the neatest thing. She was very polite and knowledgable and suggested some great restaurants for dinner as well as a kids movie out of the dvds you can rent for free at the front desk. The room was very clean and seemed newly updated. Nice flat screens and a full kitchen with fridge. The pool was a decent size and the kids loved the hot tub. Check out was fast and the staff seemed very concerned that we had enjoyed our stay. They were all very attentive and eager to please. We will be staying here again in September!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Address: 572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Hotel-West Springfield is conveniently located in Western Massachusetts at the crossroads I-91 and I-90 (Mass Pike). We are an all suite, extended stay hotel. Whether you are relocating or undergoing a construction project, and are looking for temporary lodging, we are the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate housing apartment. We offer a completely equipped full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher, disposal and a full size refrigerator with ice maker. Room amenities include coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hairdryer, clock radio, CD/DVD player and a 32 inch flat screen TV with 5 movie channels including HBO and Showtime, over-sized executive desk with free high-speed wire and wireless Internet access and two separate phone lines with voicemail. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD hotel library. Work off some stress in our complimentary nautilus center, then take a dip in our indoor pool or Jacuzzi. Enjoy the outdoors in our Gazebo with gas grill. To curb those late night cravings, visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase food and sundry items at value prices. Take advantage of our on site complimentary laundry facility. We are a pet friendly hotel. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the West Springfield/Springfield area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Hotel West Springfield
Candlewood Suites West Springfield
Candlewood West Springfield
West Springfield Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.